We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I just got back from Monterey Bay today for my birthday. My husband and I stayed at this resort, which turned out we both loved it. It was close to the Marina State beach and the Partial Jr. Suite that I booked was a single resort . The location is very quiet with nice views. Although, maybe next year I will probably try for an ocean view since our suite didn't have any ocean view. Our patio was facing another room...but nevertheless it was a good hotel with good locations. Close by gas stations, local restaurants i.e. McDonalds, Mountain Mike's, etc...Inside our suite we have drinks in a mini fridge provided by the hotel, but please note there is a charge for that. I absolutely can not say how much I loved my suite, but it was too short . Oh, yes the room that we stayed in was 614suite and the downfall to that room was the toilet. the bathroom did not flush very well. I did inform the receptionist when I checked out and she was certain to have someone check it out. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel, but I will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myson04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Happy Birthday! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the resort. You provided some helpful advice for future travelers. The “partial view” room class is a great way to experience the spoils offered throughout the property and in our guest rooms (e.g. gas-burning fireplaces, L'Occitane bath amenities, fluffy bathrobes, and luxurious linens to name a few). For a more spectacular view, we recommend the “ocean view” or “ocean front” room class.

Also if ever experiencing a problem of any kind we encourage all guests to immediately bring it to the attention of our front desk staff. We will dispatch maintenance immediately and get the issue resolved. It is our intention to have every room in optimal working condition so every guests gets the experience of a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    262
    69
    66
    43
See reviews for
204
501
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atwater, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Oh yes we did! My husband, our 8 yr-old daughter and I stayed for 2 nights. It will be longer next summer!

The room was fantastic with a wonderful view of the ocean, we stayed in the Ocean Front Jr. Suite. It was quiet and the sound of the surf upon awaking is so soothing! We had the pleasure of watching dolphins playing and hunting in the surf on both mornings of our stay, even managed a photo of them!

The nightly bonfire was wonderful... we brought the ingredients to make s'mores and had a delicious time! Too bad the fog kept us from watching the sunset, but now we have incentive to come back if only to catch the elusive setting of the sun!

We have told all our friends about Sanctuary Beach Resort and are looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn_Devins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
I couldn't be happier that you and your family had an amazing time with us. The “ocean front” class of rooms are the absolute best for taking advantage of the views that make our resort so special. From the looks of your pictures, you had an upstairs ocean front unit which provided a great panoramic view of the scenery. The next time you feel like roasting marshmallows next to the nightly bonfire, give us a call directly and we'll make sure your family has a great stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a great place this is! Our suites were really luxurious, with a shower each and everything you could possibly want, while waking up to a view of the sea was utter magic. A delicious breakfast comes delivered in a basket. The staff are really charming and helpful and the girl who handled our booking really exceeded all our expectations. Having to park at the main building and then travel by beach buggy just added to the fun. If I have a quibble, it's that the Hawaiian-style restaurant is large and noisy and I could have done without the ukelele playing at our table (but maybe that's just me!). I'd go back there in a heartbeat if it wasn't quite so far away.

Room Tip: Try to phone the resort directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
It sounds like you had a great time with us! It pleases me to hear that our staff proved to be everything you were hoping for and more. The next time you visit, ask our staff about some of their favorite places to dine in the Marina/Monterey area and I'm sure we'll find something a little more up your alley for next time. Looking forward to seeing you back someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We absolutely LOVED the Sanctuary Beach Resort. It was just what we were looking for. If you are a fan of a Sandals-style or similar vacation, this might not be for you. This place was quiet, not over-crowded, peaceful, and beautiful. The rooms were excellent, comfortable and romantic with the fireplace. We left the window open a crack every night to hear the ocean. They put a pair of binoculars in the room to use on your balcony, and we saw dolphins multiple times a day as well as seals and otters. So awesome! We opted for breakfast in the room which was brought to us in a picnic basket. There is an evening turn down service, and every room gets there own golf cart. We also enjoyed the restaurant that is on the property...great sushi and drinks!

Room Tip: we asked for a top floor because a previous review recommended it, and we got the best room at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriednReady2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Your comments about the resort are greatly appreciated. You provided some insight that will no doubt be helpful to future guests. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are in the Monterey Bay area, please call us directly and we'll make sure you are given a beautiful room once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovelly, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A very quiet resort situated right by the Pacific which allowed us to see a pod of dolphins being active near to shore.

If you stay here get used to leaving your car in the car park and driving your allocated golf buggy.

The room that we had was very large and well equipped. Had a small kitchenette and free Wi-Fi.

Monterey and Carmel are close by so there is no end to the amount of sightseeing available. The 17 Mile drive round Pebble Beach contrasts beautifully with Steinbeck's Cannery Row, although there isn't too much of the original as he would have known it.

The drive to Big Sur and Hearst Castle (an amazing folie de grandeur) is a must, easiestly achieved by driving from Santa Barbara to Monterey. Unfortunately for us the highway had been struck by landslips and was impassable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
The heading for your review caught my eye immediately. While it was not the first time I had heard of guests being able to see wildlife from the rooms, it certainly was the first time I had heard of an entire pod of dolphins being visible. What a treat! Additionally, I'm happy to report that as of early July, Highway 1 (the Pacific Coast Highway) is completely reopened to the public and is as beautiful a drive as ever. Call us directly when you are ready to return and we will be happy to make sure you have another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

During our trip to Monterey, we decided to stay in Marina to get away from the 'action'. We were excited to find a really nice place directly on the water only 5-10 minutes away from Monterey. The rate we got was excellent and we had a room with a partial ocean view, which really had lovely views from every window.

We were greeted warmly by the front desk staff and the checkin was very quick. the Bellman drove us up to our unit in a golf cart, which the kids loved. The room had a king bed, a really comfortable pull out, and we got a cot for our other child. This worked out great.

The weather didn't cooperate, but had the weather been nice the beach would have been even more enjoyable. We didn't use the pool at all because it was foggy & 60 degrees when we were there. Funny enough, we went into Monterey and it was sunny and 80 degrees !! The fog lingers over Marina fairly often I was told.

If you like excellent service, quiet atmosphere, and a beautiful beach location, regardless of foggy/cool weather then you will really enjoy the Sanctuary Beach Resort. I would stay here again !

We went to Kula for drinks & appetizers and although the drinks were excellent and the food was decent, it was fairly pricy and we probably wouldn't return. It sure is convenient if you want a drink and don't feel like driving !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
The staff here at the resort really appreciated your comments about the property. The Partial View Jr. Suite (as your room is called) is a great choice for those who want to spend some time with us, while avoiding paying the highest rates. As far as the weather goes, summers here on the Monterey Peninsula are absolutely gorgeous. The fact that the marine layer (fog) sticks around throughout much of the morning and sometimes even the afternoons is a result of the unique terrain surrounding the area and the proximity to the sea. We are so thrilled that you were able to make the best of your stay with us despite uncooperative weather. When you are ready to return, please call us directly so that we can find the right room for you and perhaps even give you little weather report. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We had a very relaxing time at this laid-back resort. Unpretentious and fun - in a MAGICAL location. You've got to enjoy a little fog and some cool breezes - very reminiscent of New England. The staff is very helpful and the accommodations are very comfortable if not quite truly luxurious.

If you have kids, they will love the beach, and the fact that you will be tooling around in a cool little golf cart to maneuver around the resort. It is really amazing to be in an environment that remains this unspoiled, but still convenient to everything.

Some of the slightly negative reviews we've seen on here made us a bit wary, but the room, and especially the location, far exceeded our expectations. If we are ever fortunate enough to be in the area again, we will certainly be spending more time at the Sanctuary.

Room Tip: The staff is friendly - and open to free upgrades when available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for your review of the Sanctuary. From the looks of your review, it appears that you had a great time with us. Even with a little fog you were able to make the best of your trip and we always love that! When you are prepared to return, give us a call directly and our staff will ensure you find the right room for your getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
7.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
8.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
329 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Property: Sanctuary Beach Resort
Address: 3295 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing