We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$153
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Marina)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
545
274
78
73
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
274
78
73
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontgolf cartdeluxe roomgas fireplacewet barpartial viewonsite restaurantcomplimentary bottle of winetwo sinkssound of the wavesnightly bonfirebon fireprivate beachturn down servicekeurig coffee makersand dunesthe pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great staff, very friendly, prompt with your requests. Great pool/playground. Close to the beach. Really nice. Very quiet and secluded atmosphere. We were here 7 days, enjoy every minute. Lots of things to do close by. Here are some pics of some of the places we enjoyed for less than $150.00 collectively and we had 4 grandchildren with us.....ENjOY!!!

Room Tip: Suites in the middle give you equal access to everything. Ocean, Conceirge, Pools, Playgrounds
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for leaving us a great review! Looks like you and the family had a fantastic time in Monterey and I thank you for making Sanctuary your home away from home. We'll hope to see you again next summer vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I recently honeymooned in the Monterey Bay area, and having never been to California before, we decided to make the Sanctuary Beach resort our hub for our week long stay based on online reviews.

We certainly were not disappointed. The resort is remote enough to keep you away from the hustle and bustle of nearby areas, but close enough to get you to:

Downtown Monterey: 10 Minutes
Carmel: 20 Minutes
Santa Cruz: 45 Minutes
Pinnacles: 1 Hour

We greatly enjoyed planning our daytime expeditions and coming home to our golf cart, beautiful sunsets, and the sounds of waves crashing onto the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and the amenities were fantastic.

Our only complaint about the resort was that if you had noisy neighbors, you would hear them in the passageway between the two rooms, but that's not the resorts fault.

Room Tip: If you want a beach view, make sure you ask for one that directly looks over the ocean. We stayed in Room 610 and woke up to a perfect panoramic view of the Pacific every morning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Wow, thanks a lot for writing us a fantastic review! More importantly, thank you for deciding on Sanctuary for such a momentous occasion in your lives. We are glad we hold a special place in your heart and would be happy to have you both again and again until you grow old together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Waves crashing and a Beautiful view of the beach from my patio created the most secluded and relaxing vacation! Very comfortable set up it can become home away from home. Best family vacation ever I hope to make it an annual trip every summer and spend 4 days instead of 2!
If you are looking to enjoy comfort and luxury with a beautiful view of the ocean this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Must splurge and get a suite with the beach in your backyard!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Wonderful! I'm so glad you and the family got to try us out. My favorite part of your review was "Best family vacation ever...". That's very nice of you to say! Come on back and do it all again sometime, we'll keep the fireplace on for ya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Smack in the middle on the fantastic Monterey Bay beach. Situated in a sanctuary where nature and all wild life is protected, lies this very cosy property. Nothing between the hotel and the beach, except for a sand dune or two. Watch dolphines, birds, whales, take a stroll on the beach or a swim in the cold ocean. This is a truly relaxing place and focused on connecting with the nature surronding it. The location is obviously great for beach activities but its also very close to monterey and carmel so its also a great place for day trips (btw dont miss spending a day in the quaint town of Carmel - its a fantastic place).

Here is my summary of the hotel:

- Standards: the property is divided up into a number of different buildings holding lobby, apartments, rooms and suites, restaurant and pool area. Golf buggys are included in the price and are used for transportation around the area. Generally I would say the standards throughout are a good 3 star.

- Location: can't be better

- lobby: nice open space in a separate building where they sell picnic stuff, wine etc

- rooms: we had the ocean front junior suite and it was pretty spacious, had a small kitchenette with a fridge. Nice big bed from where we could see the ocean, big fireplace and an outdoor terrace. Good sized bathroom. Standards was a good three star and everything worked very well.

- pool area: pretty big pool area with lots of chairs. Big and nice heated pool and a very big jaccuzzi also heated. No bar service at the pool.

- restaurant: an absolutely fine restaurant serving a mix of food with hawaiian influences. Good prices and def worth a visit if staying at the hotel. More upscale restaurants are found in monterey, carmel etc

All in all a nice, cosy property with a sensational location on the beach where we saw hundreds of dolphines playing close to the shoreline during our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a great review for us and adding Sanctuary to one of the many places you're visited. It's means a lot to us when well-traveled avid reviewers like yourself leave their mark on our page. You are always welcome back, and we hope we see you again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Don't be deceived by the images online. The rooms are nice but the grounds and pool are nothing special. Not worth $400 per night. Turndown service was a joke. They didn't take our trash or dirty towels. Food a to site restaurant was only mediocre. Pool area is just ok, grounds are bland and nothing special. Don't be deceived by breakfast included. It is a continental breakfast and is not good. Coffee is bad and yogurt is not tasty. Also this part of he the peninsula seems to get fog and clouds more than monterey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atwadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Constructive criticism is always appreciated... when its constructive. Positive or negative, I like to receive feedback on how we are doing and I thank every guests for leaving theirs. In regards to your feedback, I'm just going to disseminate a few points I think our reader's should know.

The images the resort publishes online are true-to-life and as such, have not been fundamentally doctored or enhanced. All of the shots were taken here, and all taken with albeit a nice camera but a camera all the same.

You commented several times on the grounds being bland. It's worth noting that building/maintaining a resort on the beachfront in California in a protected zone is a real challenge. So much of what the resort does is dictated by state and local regulations that we often can't plant a vibrant colored plant in the ground without first clearing some hurdles with the appropriate agencies.

Though it is hearty, fulfilling, and delicious, the resort is currently about 75% through the process for improving our breakfast selection. We are working out the aesthetics of the presentation and will have new options in the fall.

Thanks for allowing me the opportunity to set the record straight. I think we turned this review into a positive after-all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews