We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Beautiful location location next to state beach and main
Highway to Monterey, but not much else around it. Room was clean and well maintained but small. One had to travel 10 minutes to Monterey for activities other then the beach,
but that is what keeps the price reasonable. Complimentary
breakfast was sparse, but not a lot of guests in December
may account for that.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2006

Stayed here because it was the only thing available for less than $300 ... can't compare to any other Monterey-area motels, but at $150/night this was the worst value of any place I've ever stayed. This is a large and noisy motel with small rooms, furnished in a verrrry basic manner. It is close to the beach, which is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mc510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

This hotel really gave me nothing to complain about. It was cheaper than the Motel 6 down the road, and much better in every respect.

It is now a Quality Inn, not a Super8.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Orthonormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We spent two nights from July 28th to 29th. We had a Queen size bed and two thin pillows. It was not possible to get more pillows. Breakfast is self serve from a corner of the small lobby, mainly donuts, and cereal that you need to line up for.
The room was freezing. We were awoken at 7:00 AM by two people yelling in the pool three floors below ours. We could also hear the highway from our room.
When the maid made up the room, she left opened sachets of sugar, and did not supply anymore.
The carpet was dirty and the sheets smelled like chlorine. The bedspread looked worn.
The only good thing was the proximity to Carmel. I recommend people stay there.
Our stay was very unpleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabriele_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
322
Reviewed 19 April 2005

family of 3, we stayed for two nights over the sea otter classic week end in april 2005.
our room was clean.
we know that super 8's are not luxery hotels, but we expected more for the price we paid. being in the area that it is.... you will pay too much for even the budget hotels.
we were kept up both nights by lots of partying going on in the rooms on both sides of us. we didn't complain the first night, because we didn't have to get up early. the 2nd night i went out and asked the people to please be quiet. that didn't work. i called the front desk and complained of the noise. (which i hated doing!) nothing appeared to be done about the noise. we requested a wake up call for sunday morning. we had to be at the race track early in the morning. we never got the wake up call. since none of us really got any sleep we were already awake and didn't need the call.
they have donuts and coffee in the lobby in the mornings. nice size jaccuzzi, but most of the time they have no towels.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florent01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bverdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia S, Guest Relations Manager at Monterey Beach Dunes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Beach Dunes Inn

Address: 3280 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005 (Formerly Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes)
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: £62 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Beach Dunes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Quality Inn Marina
Marina Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing