We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Holiday Inn Express
For context purposes I need to indicate that I spent a week (Nov 2-10) in California travelling around the San Francisco area. During this week I stayed in 4 different hotels/chains. As a result, some of my comment will be in comparison to the other three hotels (which I have not named in this review).
I arrived late afternoon so check-in went as expected: fast and friendly. Of the four hotels I stayed at this one and one other during this trip had reception desk staff that were more than willing to make sure my stay was the best that they could make it.
Like the other three hotels, I stayed in a room with a king bed. This one was facing the highway but I could not here the traffic. My room was tranquil. The room was also clean and spacious. I had no problems what so ever with the room. There were lots of amenities (towels etc.). The bed was firm, but soft enough to be relaxing.
The continental breakfast was what I was expecting, simple but ok. There were both hot and cold items. However, I was disappointed in the fact that the staff member working the breakfast could not keep the item stocked. As a result, most people we waiting for food.
All in all, it is a nice hotel and I’d stay there again. For the price and the quality, it was a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobys_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was not impressed with the late night front desk service I received. I booked a room for 2 on Hotwire for 108.00. Not a fabulous rate, yet OK. When my buddy and I made it to the hotel, they had us booked with a King bed. Hmmmm....not great. We asked to be moved to a Double Queen which was available since the hotel was no sold out. I was told us she was sorry, yet we would have to pay and "upgrade" of 50.00 to get 2 beds since we had a contract with Hotwire for the room they sold us. Wow! Since she was adamant and we were ready to get to a room, I paid it. She discounted to 40.00. Nice..kind of. I called the Mgr. Anna on Monday and she gladly returned the 40.00 to my card and apologized for the lack of customer courtesy from the night clerk. Anna made it right and I am thankful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much! What a great place to stay. Close to the beach and freeway access is easy. Family-friendly and kid-tolerable which we really appreciate! Our kids aren't very quiet but no one heard them and the staff was nice and charming and full of character! Love this place. :)

Room Tip: Near the whirlpool was sooooooooo nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kupcake44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We made our reservations on Expedia, and arrived (from Southern California) at approx. 6pm. The Front Desk Agent was very pleasant and found our reservation with no problem. He asked how our trip was and letting us know about some popular sites to see while in the area. This Hotel is conveniently located near Pacific Coastal Highway--and just far enough and north from the Monterey crowds (it was between Christmas and New Year's Day, so there was a big influx of people from the Bay Area visiting the Monterey Peninsula). We enjoyed our stay; and the fact that our room was able to be upgraded was a very nice touch!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family was attending a wedding that had events in Monterey and Marina. We reserved the two room executive suite for our family of 5 and we were very happy with the room. the two beds were comfortable and the living area had a sofa bed that was just fine. The room also has a kitchen area with a large fridge. The front desk person was very nice and helpful although he told us that he had given us a free upgrade to the executive suite which we had already paid for but we didn't correct him. We also asked for a late check out of 1:00 and he said he would put it in the system right away. We got a call the next day at 12:45 reminding us of the check out time and that there wasn't anything in the system saying we had a late check out. I stopped by the front desk as I was taking luggage to the car and cleared up the issue quickly but it was annoying to get the call. The only area this hotel lacked was with the breakfast. The staff was nice but was behind on everything. They had to be told that they had run out of plates, forks, knives, milk, and that the food needed to be replenished. There was also not enough places to sit for families. Finally, the hotel should make it clear that it is not appropriate for staff to smoke just outside the front door of the hotel...no one should as we don't want to breathe it, but for staff it is very unprofessional. With these things said, the rooms were clean and the area is safe and convenient. It is also right next to a Wal-Mart so if you have forgotten anything, you can walk to the store. It is any easy drive to central Monterey and Cannery Road and there are a lot of stores on Del Monte Ave as well. This was a very nice place for our family but they need to work on the breakfast. Because the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, we will give them another try.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear David M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's such a great pleasure to hear your positive feedback on our hotel location and comfortable rooms. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marina is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the breakfast services. Also, please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings and negative impression you may have with some of our hotel staff. Kindly be assured that we treat these comments very seriously. Your candid feedback is important to us and we are confident that the hotel management will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We did not know that this hotel is not a kid friendly hotel. How can you prevent a 1 year old and a 3 year old in making noises? The receptionist knows how, and he suggested to put the kids in separate rooms. Maybe he wants us to put one child in the bathroom... I definitely don't recommend this hotel to anyone who has kids...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidelljf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dev P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued HIE Guest,

I would like to start by thanking you for choosing Holidy Inn Express Marina.

I'm sorry that you experience was less than satisfactory with us. This is not a complaint that we typically receive and I apologize the miss communication proved to be an issue.

Our goal here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina is to make every guest feel at home and welcomed while extending excellent customer service to all guest, corporate and family travelers. I do assue you I have followed up with my staff providing additional training on service recovery and communication skills.

Hopefully you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel including the recent upgrades that have been made. I would love the opportunity to have you with us again so that we may endeavor to give you a better vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel on this vacation as we travelled south and then back north along the Pacific Coastal Highway. Our first stay received an excellent review.

We were unable to have the same suite on our second stay and had the unfortunate experience of not only having the room next to the elevator but also the drinks and vending machines and ice machine. Consequently there was a loud and constant rumble from the air con unit necessary to cool the heat from refrigeration units. Had our stay been longer than just the two nights we would have asked for an alternative or shortened our stay. I would never stay in room 314 again - ever. Such a shame as the room itself was very comfortable.

If I was rating the room only it would certainly be at least good but as it is combined with comfort the noise level brings the overall score down.

The hotel itself is conveniently located with easy access to Route 1 at exit 410. I would certainly stay at this hotel again but ensure that it was not in this room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 314 next to elevator and noisy air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenaspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
530 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
7.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Ave, Marina, CA 93933-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: £93 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing