We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time- bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beach Dunes Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Modesto, United States
1 review
“1st time- bad experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for over 30 years and this is the first year I've been disappointed. The room was dirty and when I asked for a ground floor room which it technically was I still had to walk up a flight of stairs to reach it from the parking area. I am very obviously pregnant (6 months) and it's not easy walking up stairs several times with luggage. I don't think I will be staying there anymore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    223
    147
    78
    47
See reviews for
302
163
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location. We have stayed her various times to visit the beach, aquarium, CSUMB, and to visit the wharf and walk the beach. Always friendly staff and a great price. Walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rosx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a very nice stay here. I wasn't expecting much, as it was the cheapest rate I could find in Marina. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was good sized (there were 4 of us in the room) and clean, the beds were very comfortable, the shower was good and hot and had good water pressure. There was a decent sized refrigerator in the room, the staff was very friendly and helpful, they were quick with the extra towels and blanket we requested, and the cleaning lady was eager to please - remembering every day to keep us supplied with extra towels. The breakfast, (standard free hotel brekkie - yogurt, fruit, make your own waffles, bagels and muffins, sausage, eggs and biscuits etc.) was decent and clean, and while the room was often crowded, they were in no hurry to get you out, so they were generally open an hour later then their posted hours. There is a hot tub in the courtyard, which was nice in the cool evenings.
The beach is either a decent walk on a path over the dunes, or a short drive to the parking lot. Either way - this in NOT a kiddie swimming beach - the waves are big, the current strong. But its nice for a cooling dip or wading, and the beach itself is lovely for walking, and the dunes huge and the sunsets are fabulous. And because you are right off the beach, it doesn't get so hot back at the hotel.
There is a Denny's just down the road,which has good food (for a Denny's), and a Walmart - good for picking up the whatever-you-needs. This hotel is about a 15-20 minute drive from the attractions of Monterey: The Wharf, the Aquarium, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, and not a bad drive for Big Sur.
My best tip? if you like Indian food, go to Ambrosia in Monterey. YUM!

Sure, you don't get any of the fancy stuff, but then you weren't paying for that were you?

Room Tip: If you get a room in the courtyard, you might have mor kid noise in the morning, but you are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SackvilleBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We did not have the best western experience at this hotel. The cleaning staff were yelling across the courtyard at each other, only one of the beds was remade for our second night. The shower dripped, the sand outside our room was never cleaned up. It is close to the state beach which is nice, and the breakfast lady was great. The dining area is small and cramped.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marina hotels

Friant, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a view of the ocean you will not find it here. You can walk down to the beach but it is easier to drive and park in the free parking lot. It is posted to not swim in the ocean due to strong currents. The town if Marina is about a 45 minute drive to Santa Cruz or a 20 minute drive to Monterey. Hotel staff was friendly. They have a hot tub but fairly small if there are already others in it. Only shampoo, lotion and soap in the room. No conditioner. Small coffee maker and fridge in the room. Breakfast is the normal buffet type with scrambled eggs, link sausage, make your own waffle, cold cereal and yogurt. Breakfast and wi- fi is included for free.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaKayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is staffed by genuine, friendly personnel. All was clean and in working order and made our stay seamless. It was steps away from a state beach, and the sound of the ocean was soothing at night. In the morning, the breakfast was plentiful, fresh and well-organized. I will definitely consider coming here for a family weekend, that is a bit off the beaten path from the more expensive amenities in Monterey and Carmel proper, yet within very easy reach of tourist destinations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleton, wi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights through april 11. Across from marina beach state park. While this is an older hotel, my room was clean and up to date. Very nice daily breakfast free. It actually sremrd like the staff was pleased to have me stay. What a nice surprise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fatuncle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia f, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Beach Dunes Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Staff met your expectations. We take pride in our excellent customer service skills and feedback such as yours lets us know that our efforts are recognized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beach Dunes Inn

Property: Best Western Beach Dunes Inn
Address: 3290 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Beach Dunes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Best Western Marina
Marina Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing