We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big and Clean Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big and Clean Rooms”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed when we attended the Sea Otter Bicycle Classic in Monterey with our son and his cycling teammates. The rooms are immaculate and very large. I noticed the furniture, curtains and bed linens are all new. The hotel rates in Monterey are too expensive, so if you want to save money stay here! The continental breakfast was great and because we were running late to my son's bicycle race, the manager insisted that we take whatever we wanted to eat while on the road. Excellent customer service. We will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for the review. We have many events in are area and it is always enjoyable to have Sea Otter bicycle classic racers stay at our Howard Johnson Marina location. As you mentioned large clean rooms with continental breakfast. Easy drive to the venue.

Thank You again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    164
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
177
163
49
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This establishment is very clean and fairly priced. The breakfast is simple but good nevertheless. Besides, the staff does an excellent job in keeping it well stocked.

I definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkytofoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
As always Thank You for writing a review and Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina. As you have noted clean rooms good continental breakfast. As the new owners we have been working on all of the details to make our customers stay pleasant and enjoyable. For points of interest in our area take a look at our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/HowardJohnsonMarinaAtMontereyBay

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Quiet, comfortable room. Amenities were fine. Variety of food at breakfast was excellent! Hotel is off the freeway and roads are under construction. No fault of the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank You very much for the great review. As you have noted Sarah has put together a continental breakfast with a lot of variety and she is always coming up with new ideas. Our staff keep our rooms clean. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you. You might enjoy some information on our Facebook page Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
link https://www.facebook.com/HowardJohnsonMarinaAtMontereyBay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was a little concerned because the motel is basically in the back of a gas station. However, I did not need to be concerned at all; the front desk manager was an absolutely friendly and personable woman that struck up a conversation with me and let us know everything we needed to know, even though we were only there for a few hours.

The motel room was basic but clean, and we had everything we needed. The location is very quiet, so we got a good night's sleep. My only complaint is that in the morning, we were running late for breakfast but got in right before the end of the self-service breakfast time, and whoever was the young lady at the front desk almost sneered at me when she came from the back closet area to see me grabbing some food. Then later on she stood impatiently waiting to clean up the trash. My goodness, have some manners...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowman_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you very much for your gracious review. I have talked to the front desk person to not hurry the guests who are having breakfast. Sometimes our personnel forget why they are cleaning up, of course it is to provide better service to our customers. My apologies. As the new owners it is not only upgrading the property but working on the details of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The breakfast was great except the coffee. The room was big and very clean. The Motel is on a nice, clean location. Perfect for exploring Monterey Bay, because of the good price. The Hosts are very friendly and like to talk to the guests and give some good advises

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvanFaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
SilvanFaeh
Thank You for the almost perfect review. Our coffee is a custom roast but for general consumption. Our rooms are as you have mentioned big and our staff keep them very clean. Reservation road is has excellent access to the Monterey peninsula and into Salinas and the River Road wineries. Hopefully we did not chat too much. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The lady in charge was the sweetest, nicest hotel worker I have EVER met. She even loaded us up with extras for breakfast since she knew we'd be working in the sun all day. CLEAN rooms and nice landscaping. I WILL ALWAYS stay at this Ho Jo in Monterey. Changed my mind about Ho Jo's in general! The one in LA wasn't bad either. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We are very happy to have served you. It was a great Laguna Seca Grand Prix race weekend with travelers from many states. Lots of Great Bikes and Sarah was happy to have helped with a goodie bag, as I know when you are working there is little time to get a bite. Check out some photos at
facebook Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.7 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing