We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Canoga Park
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Howard Johnson August 2013”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is the best Howard Johnson we've ever stayed in. In fact, it is among the best motels The owners are enthusiastic and sincerely interested in their customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review and its high compliments. Sarah and her team really appreciate a happy customer. You hit the nail on the head they are sincerely interested in you and your stay. Large clean rooms and a continental breakfast with variety. Thank you again for staying with us and writing such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    164
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
177
163
49
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We drove up and down PCH1 between Seaside to Carmel looking for an affordable and decent hotel. Anywhere near Monterey was expensive so we stopped at Marina and found a cluster of hotels near Marina's municipal airport. Although not visible from the PCH1 it is still close. The rooms are brand new, clean and spacious. Everything updated and modern. Not a full house tonight so it's quiet. Gas station right next to hotel which made it easy for us to walk a few meters for supplies. Our room has a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, flat screen tv, blow dryer and iron. All this for under $100!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you ever so much for a great review. It seems that you covered all of the points. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to have been of service to you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed when we attended the Sea Otter Bicycle Classic in Monterey with our son and his cycling teammates. The rooms are immaculate and very large. I noticed the furniture, curtains and bed linens are all new. The hotel rates in Monterey are too expensive, so if you want to save money stay here! The continental breakfast was great and because we were running late to my son's bicycle race, the manager insisted that we take whatever we wanted to eat while on the road. Excellent customer service. We will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for the review. We have many events in are area and it is always enjoyable to have Sea Otter bicycle classic racers stay at our Howard Johnson Marina location. As you mentioned large clean rooms with continental breakfast. Easy drive to the venue.

Thank You again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This establishment is very clean and fairly priced. The breakfast is simple but good nevertheless. Besides, the staff does an excellent job in keeping it well stocked.

I definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkytofoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
As always Thank You for writing a review and Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina. As you have noted clean rooms good continental breakfast. As the new owners we have been working on all of the details to make our customers stay pleasant and enjoyable. For points of interest in our area take a look at our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/HowardJohnsonMarinaAtMontereyBay

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.7 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing