We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all experience was very good to excellent. Staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno
2 reviews
“Over all experience was very good to excellent. Staff...”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Over all experience was very good to excellent. Staff friendly and accommodating. All problems were address, and taken care of, quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Trini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our motel. As you have noted we have a competent and friendly staff. We try to offer true value to our guests. From our location it is easy to get to all of the sights on the Monterey Peninsula. Hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    180
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
196
174
50
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Large rooms with a comfortable bed. The room was clean and the bathroom even had a window for ventilation. The staff was very nice and helpful. I asked one of the men working there where the ice machine was. He told me it was in the lobby. Before I had a chance to put my shoes on, they were knocking on my door with a bucket full of ice. Areli checked us in and she was very helpful and pleasant. They even had fresh baked chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. We would definitely stay again. It's the best value in the Monterey area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our Howard Johnson Marina. We are glad you enjoyed our property with its large, clean rooms and service from our team. Areli is new to our team so thank you for telling us she does a great job, it is good to hear. Thank you from everyone at our property for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very clean, spacious rooms. Quiet. Friendly and helpful staff and owner. Reasonable price, especially for this area. Breakfast area small but clean. Good coffee....... about the best we have found in a motel breakfast.
Would definitely return to this nice motel in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank You for writing a very gracious review. You have captured the essence, great location to see all the Monterey sights but with a good value. Sarah puts out an excellent breakfast as you have noted. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
This is what results when websites require a 200 word minimum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonCCRdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Well I must admit that sometimes the "rules" are a bit much. But then again its nice to hear , "Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk." a few times. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We did a little research to see what the most reasonably priced room would be in the Monterey Bay area and settled on this, still overpriced, but that's the only problem we had here. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Super sweet front desk girl.(Yes the front office is in same building as the gas station, off to the left of the main entrance of the station) Balcony off the back of the room was a nice bonus. Not the best of area's, as some of the other reviews stated, Marina has a substantial homeless problem. As do a lot of the wonderful coastal towns of California, I don't blame them, that's where I would live if I were homeless, but if your not used to seeing people picking through the trash, you might be upset.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Indeed Monterey Bay is beautiful and our location provides clean comfortable rooms with a good continental breakfast so you can go enjoy our area. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Came for Monterey Auto Week and our room was booked by a Corvette group sight unseen. Found owners to be extremely pleasant and accommodating. Property also has gas station and convenience store. At the coastal end of Reservation Road with quick access to the beach and dunes. Rooms were spacious, clean and had a comfy bed with lots of pillows. The owners are REALLY nice people and did everything to ensure a pleasant stay. Fresh cookies and bottled water were always available. The room had a roomy fridge and nice microwave. There were LOTS of outlets for chargers, etc. Wi-fi was free and speedy. I can't say enough good things about this place. It was quiet and the location is convenient. You won't be disappointed in the property or the value. We look forward to going back next year!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jacksondlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Wow thanks for the great review. Go Corvettes! It was a pleasure having your group stay with us during auto week. We were more than happy to have you stay with us with your fantastic machines.
You more than covered the high points of our property so all I can say is thank you for staying at our Howard Johnson Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Marina
153 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-3320 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing