We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

For my anniversary, my husband surprised me with a trip to Carmel, and he booked our stay at this motel. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us. I was worried at first because our door was wide open, but they explained it was due to steam cleaning. Nothing beats a super clean motel, and it really helped me relax during our romantic getaway.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for writing a great review. Yes you are right our team works hard to keep every room clean and fresh. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great getaway. Thank you again for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    160
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
174
157
47
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was actually very impressed with this hotel. The staff was friendly, the grounds nicely done (looks like new landscaping). The room was spacious (single double room) and although sparsely furnished, everything was very clean...I was even surprised at how clean the bathroom was. And speaking of the bathroom....they even had SOFT toilet paper! Haha! That was definitely a bonus! The bed was a bit on the hard side, and I did end up waking up throughout the night from being uncomfortable...that would be the only drawback. However, the price was good and if the need arises again, I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank cookie_lady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice grounds and soft toilet paper. I hope that you enjoyed our excellent breakfast as well. We are a travelers hotel with excellent access to all of the Monterey peninsula's venues. We hope to see you again at our Howard Johnson Marina. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

When we arrived, we found the room we were given had the door wide open and had not been cleaned. We were given another room right away. There was a lot of noise from people outside in the middle of the night, but this could be from the gaps in the door allowing noise through more than solid seal around the door would have allowed. The next day we left a doorhanger out asking for privacy. When we returned at the end of the day, the doorhanger was gone, the keys did not work,and when we finally got in the room, someone had gone in and cleaned it. The manager had said something about having to go in and check something in the room, which did not explain why the keys did not work and the room had been cleaned.
The property was clean and the breakfast was fine, however they seemed overwhelmed in general. If I were to stay there again, I would not count on privacy and would not expect the same level of service and professionalism that I expect at other properties.
I wouldn't discourage people from staying here, however don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties with your room on the Presidents day weekend. Yes we had two of our front desk personnel not show up and my wife and I came up to help out Sarah. My apologies, we always try to provide you our customers great service at a value price but sometimes circumstance causes us to miss the target. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The first room we were given hadn't been cleaned yet, but the front desk guy quickly provided another room and brought us the key. The exterior seemed well kept with fresh paint, landscaping, and lights. Free parking, and CLOSE to a gas station. Free continental breakfast was impressive, included: cereals, toast,bagels, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, cheese, fruit, little smokey sausages and waffles. The owner had a slideshow going of photos he had taken of local attractions on a flat screen tv by the breakfast area. He and 'Sara' at the front desk were very friendly and excitedly told us about local attractions and a special deal on aquarium tickets. The room was a reasonable size, with average furnishings, and bright light fixtures. We watched cable on the flat screen tv provided, about forty channels. The shower/tub combo had an updated fiberglass enclosure, with new shower fixture and toilet. Good water pressure and lots of hot water. This was our first visit to this hotel. Even though, it started out bad with the room not being clean yet, it got better with the new room, generous breakfast , friendly staff, and reasonable price. Would recommend for travelers on a budget. Nice restaurants just down the street, and an easy drive to Cannery Row. Checking in and out was easy, and there's cookies on the counter!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sealhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for writing a very favorable and complete review. We love to talk to our customers and tell them about all of the enjoyable things to do in our area. I just added the "Giant Octopus" to the slide show as that is the new attraction at the aquarium. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina and we hope to see you again soon to visit the next sight in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I really liked this place. It is near Monterey Aquarium. Clean and spacious room. Quite and peaceful outside. Friendly and kind staffs. This hotel has market and gas station so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeoM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review and Thank you for staying with us. As you have noted large clean rooms located close to all of the Monterey Peninsula points of interest with a Gas station and Mini Mart for travelers. Hospitality is our business and we are very happy to have served you at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
7.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Property: Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing