We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room but Service OK”
Review of Ramada Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Marina
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Room but Service OK”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Booked this hotel through Hotwire for a weekend catchup with friends. Room was large and clean. Small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. Two TVs and a DVD player. One King bed and a sofa bed. King bed as comfortable; sofa bed was average. There were mirrors above the desk and a nice almost-full length mirror outside the bathroom. We stayed on the road side of the hotel, but there wasn't much road noise. Shower/tub combo with one of those shower curtain rods that sweep out a little so you don't feel so cramped. Basic toiletries and adequate towels.

Staff were friendly and helpful, but not always at the desk. Twice when we came in from our activities there were people waiting at the front desk and no staff could be found.

Parking is free, but if you have multiple cars they ask you to park one on the street if the hotel is mostly booked. If you're coming from Highway 1, you'll need to drive past the hotel and then make a U-turn to come back to the hotel.

Business center has a fax machine and one computer next to the front desk, and a very small store for incidentals. Vending machine in the lobby for sodas.

Free breakfast in the morning included cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels/pastries/toast, and a waffles (batter dispenser and one waffle iron - you have to flip the waffle and cook both sides if you want it semi-crisp). The waffles weren't bad, but there was a constant line. Microwave available. Some fresh fruit, coffee/tea, juices. The seating area had approximately 10 tables and it was generally very crowded. Hotel staff did come by periodically to refill the cereals/milk/cofee, but there were times when it was pretty slim pickings.

We stayed here trying to find a cheaper place than in Monterey. There's not much really to do in Marina and an adequate, though not extensive selection of restaurants. Essentially its a small bedroom/residential community. There's a timeshare/resort on the sand dunes, but not much else. The sand dunes were fun to hike, but it is a short hike to reach the actual beach.

Monterey was about 20-30 minutes away depending on traffic and how fast you want to drive. Since you have to pay for parking in Monterey (at Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf), depending on the room rate you may not be saving much money. I'll probably try to stay closer to Monterey next time just for convenience. If this hotel was closer, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatMagnet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    192
    112
    38
    30
See reviews for
242
125
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed here as an alternative to Monterey. Booked on Hotwire at a good rate for the area. Everything was very clean and rooms were larger than most hotel rooms. Nice stop for our trip driving from Yosemite to San Francisco. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this Ramada. The hotel was so clean, looks like it's been built this year. The room was very wuiet we slept like babies!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinlifeQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Unfortunately we were not familiar with the area and found this hotel when we were looking for a place near the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The places in Monterey were booked for the holiday weeked. While the Ramada Inn appears fairly new, the hairdryer in our bathroom was covered in grime and hair. More disconcerting is the area around the hotel is not particularly nice. It is definitely something I would want to know as a guest coming to this area. Also, the room is stark white with low grade hotel furnishings. It is certainly not worth the money we paid but we couldn't find a room in Moneterey

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marina hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We had reserved 3 rooms there for 1 night in January 1st week. Probably it was low season for them, so we got a free upgrade. The rooms we got could accommodate 4 people with sofa-bed and were quite large.
The next morning, we wanted to print our boarding passes. The office in there didn't have a printer - so we asked the front guy, and he gladly agreed to get them printed at no charge.
The breakfast was also had decent fare - toast, fruit juice, waffles. No eggs though.
Overall a very good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bing0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2008

My bf and I paid over $240 for the two nights we stayed there back in June of this year. We picked this hotel because it was one of the cheaper ones in the Monterey area, but the cost of this stay was much greater than the dollar amount.

When we realized the second morning that we had been attacked by bed bugs, my bf checked the mattress and found signs of bed bug residence (brown blood stains). When we checked out, we showed the person at the counter our bites and told her about the mattress, but she didn't offer us any compensation. Added to the physical pain and itchiness from the bites, I was completely freaked out about bringing those bugs into my home so we had to wash everything. We emailed the hotel as soon as we got back and received no response. So I called them, only to have the person who picked up claiming to be the manager telling me that she cannot address my complaint because she's suddenly no longer the manager. She said she'll have "the manager" call me back. I never got that call. We also contacted the Ramada corporation only to be told that they are not responsible for their chains.

I would not recommend staying here. The bed bug is terrible, but their complete lack of regard for us is unacceptable (and hopefully, they had gotten rid of the bed bugs in that room that we had told them about!!).

  • Liked — They had internet access.
  • Disliked — Complete disregard for customers' safety and well-being.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGALIA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Why pay a ridiculous amount of money for a hotel room in Monterey if you can have a large clean room in a decent and fairly inexpensive hotel like this one only a few miles away? Marina is a former military town and doesn't have a lot to offer. There is a beach close by and you'll find a supermarket and drugstore in walking distance of the Ramada. No restaurants to write home about.

The hotel itself sits on a busy street: Ask for a room to the back! It is easy to reach from Hwy.1, the main thoroughfare. Rooms are giant, much larger than I have seen in any chain hotel. Furnishings are motel style, a little disappointing. But everything you need for a few nights is there. Since the Ramada is fairly new everything is very clean and in good working order. Our room had a king size bed with a firm but comfortable mattress, a fold-out sofa, a desk with ergonomic chair, a breakfast table with two chairs, a fridge and a microwave. There were two TVs and a DVD player (a Blockbuster store is close by). Don't expect a view or a pool. It is not that kind of hotel. In the lobby is a computer for guest use.

Maid service was fine, but any other service is hard to find. We had to wait at the front desk (together with another guest who arrived before us) for several minutes and rang the bell twice until finally somebody showed up to check us in. The complimentary breakfast is terrible. One day it looked like leftovers from the day before. If you're late they run out of everything. And nobody is around to take care of it.

A warning for light sleepers: The walls are thin and you can easily be subjected to your neighbor's TV program. The A/C unit has to work hard to cover the giant room - and you hear it!

  • Liked — Giant rooms, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
6.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
7.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Marina

Property: Ramada Marina
Address: 323 Reservation Road, Hwy 1 Exit, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Monterey, California in the quiet coastal town of Marina, the Ramada Marina is your ideal hotel in the heart of the Monterey Peninsula. Renovated in 2011, the 100% smoke free hotel is only a short drive from some of the Peninsulas finest attractions including Monterey’s Fisherman’s Wharf and Cannery Row, as well as Carmel’s Shopping Center and famous 17 Mile Drive and is just a scenic drive from the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Within walking distance from the hotel you will find downtown Marina and the stunning Marina State Beach. The hotel is highly regarded to be one of Marina’s best value hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Marina Hotel Marina
Marina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing