We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good find in Marina!”
Review of Dishes Bistro & Grill - CLOSED

Dishes Bistro & Grill
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Gloucester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good find in Marina!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

When we saw this restaurant we thought ok, the usual boring pizza pasta stuff but couldn't have been more wrong. I had an amazing swordfish steak which was perfectly cooked and really lovely. My partner had the tuna which was just as good. Local wines on the menu also and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    6
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
la
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Find In Marina”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great restaurant! Try the French Onion Soup. I had the Seafood pasta ...a lot of clams and mussels and wonderful !

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“SAVE YOUR MONEY. OPEN A CAN.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spike Jones put out an album years ago entitled "Dinner Music for People Who Aren't Very Hungry." This "Mediterranean restaurant" should be called "Mediterranean Restaurant for People Who Don't Know What Mediterranean Food Is." From the ravioli to the other pastas, everything tasted like it was fresh from a can. The service was maddeningly slow. The ambiance is what I would call "contempo factory." It's really sad, as well as a bit pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fresh, fresh, fresh”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were here years ago and had a nice experience. very excellent this time as well. I had onion soup, pasta primera and a nice red wine. my partner had pork tenderloin and he liked it too. the pasta sauce and vegetables were very fresh. service is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good quality food”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

fish was superbly cooked. it just melted in the mouth. wow! service was great, portion size was good too.

Visited May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dishes Bistro & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing