We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the bed was okay”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“At least the bed was okay”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My problems with this hotel started before I arrived. The GPS took me to a closed road (Reservation Road on which the hotel is located). After looking for alternatives for 20 minutes, I called the hotel and the ladies at the front desk were very helpful in providing directions. I wish this were mentioned on the hotel website. Room was a little small. Beach view is non-existent, you have to drive down to the State park. I was shocked when I inquired about a water fountain after a workout. The front desk person said the hotel has no water fountains and you must purchase bottled water from the vending machine. Finally, on our last morning, the elevator was out and of course we had many bags to carry down 3 floors. Again, front desk personnel really didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2SkiTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    62
    30
    20
    16
See reviews for
51
45
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The outside of this hotel was very promising, but the inside was a wreck. Carpets throughout were absolutely disgusting and the wallpaper and paint was peeling everywhere, too. Our room was not very clean....there was some unidentifiable brown marks on the top of the toilet tank (which the washcloths were sitting on top of) so we avoided that area and used the handtowels instead. The mini fridge was a great feature, except is smelled strongly of bleach and so everything that was placed inside of it came out tasting and smelling of bleach so it ended up being useless. The floors creaked LOUDLY and the folks above us were apparently training a circus elephant because the noise was unbelievable. Luckily, we brought a loud fan to drown out noise and it helped.

Staff were young and not great at customer service, but they tried to be helpful and were never rude.

Except for the fact that my reservation was non-refundable, we would have turned and walked right out. We will NOT stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnoble76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a fine hotel. Nothing great, but not as bad as many are making it out to be. We stayed 2 nights. The girl who checked us in was very nice, friendly and helpful when we asked about a restaurant we were thinking of going to for dinner. We were on the first floor, in the first room in the hall right next to the breakfast area, and I didn't hear any noise from the people who were out there eating. The beds were comfy, the pillows were very nice and our room had new carpet. It was very clean. The room next door, where my inlaws were staying was exactly the same, but it had old, stained carpet.
My only complaint was about the breakfast area. I think the breakfast they offered - waffles, sausage, eggs, yogurt, sweet rolls and a few other items - was fine and filling. The coffee was a little bitter, but also fine. My problem was that it was very crowded and they only had one waffle iron, so there was a line to make waffles. Also the area where the waffle iron was located was near a back corner, and there was a juice machine in the corner, and other stuff closer to the front. Anyone who wanted to get to the juice or food near the waffle iron had to squeeze through the line. There were people making 3 or 4 waffles in a row, so the wait could get pretty long. Even if they invested in one more waffle iron, it would cut down on the crowding in that area. We were there to spend the weekend in Monterey, and it was just about 10 miles away. We really didn't spend much time in our room, except to sleep and shower, and it fit the bill.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Old bedding, noisy little fridge, with wet carpet in front of it. Room smelled like cigarets even though its non smoking. I couldn't sleep due to too many noises and light at night. Location not too bad, 9 miles drive to Cannery row. Asked about sauna, staff said "upon guest request and no kids under 18". When we returned in the evening, cold and looking forward to sauna, we've been told that "it cant be turned on after 10 pm". If you must stay here, be prepared for so so hotel! Disapointed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana5g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Old bedding, noisy little fridge, with wet carpet in front of it. Room smelled like cigarets even though its non smoking. I couldn't sleep due to too many noises and light at night. Location not too bad, 9 miles drive to Cannery row. Asked about sauna, staff said "upon guest request and no kids under 18". When we returned in the evening, cold and looking forward to sauna, we've been told that "it cant be turned on after 10 pm". If you must stay here, be prepared for so so hotel! Disapointed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana5g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Check-in was good, the room was clean and we slept on reasonably comfortable beds. The breakfast was horrible. Out of fruits, international visitors kept on turning off the waffle maker, yielding a goo-ball of a waffle, eggs were hard, meats were absent (empty pan), we had mediocre coffee, choked down some cold cereal and stopped for breakfast in Santa Cruz. Personally, I would have spent another $30 to get a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent one uneventful night here which was quite pleasant. Room was large and everything worked well. There was an exercise room and sauna which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good, service was friendly. The hotel is conviently located off highway #1 however if you stay here you will find that there are few decent places to eat which might be a good reason to visit nearby Cannery Row or Fishermans Wharf.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkirkatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
0.4 mi away
Monterey Beach Dunes Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
0.6 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#4 of 9 in Marina
497 reviews
7.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 140 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marina
Comfort Inn Marina
Marina Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing