We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Roger Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jolly Roger Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Price was alright. But Was disgusting! we had to check out an hour later. The sheets were disgusting, we asked three times for clean sheets and every time they were dirty and had stains all over them.Do not stay here its disgusting!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I am sorry for the situation with the stained sheets. Upon further investigation I found that the front desk rep who gave you the sheets had taken the sheets from a stack that were to be given to the local shelter. All of our linen are washed in 190 degree water and detergent and the housekeepers are trained to inspect all linen before placing in guests room. We actually have reviews commenting on the cleanliness of our towels and bed linen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    81
    72
    16
    19
See reviews for
60
81
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Initial lobby appearance was unpleasant (except for the cute little waterfall out front). Greeted by staff that was very un-personable, and the manager was on only lobby computer when we needed to get on to try to cancel our stay. Hall and elevator wreaked of smoke, and rooms smelled of mildew. Rooms were also very dingy and in major need of a makeover/upgrade. Turned on a/c to cool down the sauna-like rooms while we were out and about only to return to an even warmer room. A/C was REALLY loud and woke us up every time it kicked in... then a/c finally started working aroung 3:00 a.m...brrr. For a few bucks more there are much nicer hotels nearby.
Happy tralves! :)

Room Tip: I suggest you choose a different hotel all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience. But first of all I don't use the computer in the lobby and the last time I did was two weeks ago to install much needed updates which took approximately 30 minutes. I don't recall anyone asking to use the computer or inquiring if I were the manager. Furthermore if you had requested one of my helpful staff they would have been happy to assist you in the cancellation of your reservation. As for the A/C we obviously can't run the A/C in empty rooms. I am 100% anti-smoking and would not allow the hallways to "wreak" of smoke. We are actually in the process to make the hotel a non-smoking hotel.

David Devlin
General manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marina del Rey hotels

Northridge, Ca
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My sister was in town for a visit and we wanted to be close to the beach while she was here so my hubby found this place three miles from the beach within walking distance of a few restaurants and a grocery store Reasonably priced spacious rooms with refrigerator's free wifi and parking a super friendly staff and a decent continental breakfast (fruit waffles cereal coffee tea and juice). The room we were in was in the back and was very quiet. They have a jucuzzi area and all in all I enjoyed our stay. I would be back it's not a five star hotel by any means but it was a nice comfortable place at a good price

Room Tip: the rooms in the back are against a very quiet residential street makes for a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin_and_Christi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. I actually couldn't agree with you more regarding the cereal. I have offered different cereals in the past but it seems that the ones the general public seems to prefer the ones with the sugar. We do of course offer the low sugar Cheerios, and Rice Crispies . Stay healthy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Anywhere around Marina del Rey & Santa Monica is expensive. Jolly Roger is a lower cost than most, and have availability where other hotels don't.

Positives: fast enough wifi internet connection to have skype chats from your room.
Washing machines for your clothes provided on site, affordable too.
Quiet fridge that's empty in your room (as opposed to crammed with overpriced sugary rubbish).
Clean and spacious proportioned rooms.
Helpful staff at reception.
Regular #1 bus route to the beach nearby.

Negatives: In most other parts of the world, this hotel would be considered overpriced when compared to what they deliver.
Internet connection is programmed to drop out every 5 hours, highly annoying to have to continuously login on all devices.
While they claim that breakfast is provided, this is a joke, breakfast is NOT provided. Sugary cereals does NOT constitute breakfast.

We hired a scooter motorbike from Route 66 on Lincoln for under $50 per day, which made getting around a breeze, and getting to Whole Foods also on Lincoln a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

In a few words : bed bugs and drunk people in our room !
We stayed 5 days, the last one returning in the afternoon we found a drunk man sleeping in our bed!
The staff did not call the police and did nothing except changing our room, fortunately the drunk man was not aggressive and did not steal anything.
The staff could only say : " I'm alone I cannot check every door "
That night we slept in another room and we had to leave early in the morning ( we had a plane to take to new york ), but we found bites on our bodies, painful and itchy.
We went at an hospital in new york: the doctor said that these were bed bugs bites, and asked us if we had slept in a park or under a bridge, no we slept at the jolly roger hotel near venice.
So , the hotel is dirty, with bed bugs, the staff is poor and rude, and it is really unsafe!
No one checks who enters in the hotel and in the rooms.
If you go to Venice better go sleeping on the beach, so if you meet drunk people or are bitten by bugs, you have also seen a beautiful sunset and saved a lot of money!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paolokosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank for your comments. I am very sorry for the situation with the intruder in your room. We do everything to insure the security of our guest including surveillance cameras and 24 hour armed security. And we do not allow drunks to run run around the hotel Regarding the front desk rep that you mentioned, she risked her own safety to enter the room and asked the the intruder to leave to which he complied. As to who is at fault for leaving the door ajar I can't say if it might have been a staff member or guest error. Regarding statements that there were bedbugs in the room that you were transferred to, both rooms that you were moved to were inspected by a professional exterminator and absolutely nothing was found. His inspection report is on file.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I spent two days at the Jolly Roger, in room 314. It was a quiet room facing a side street. The room was clean but had few amenities. No coffee maker, for example, and no clock in the room for another example. We were told the hotel was central to many activities, and indeed there were numerous places to eat within walking distance. To get to Venice Beach was a 25 minute walk. There was only one ice machine and that was on the first floor across from the reception desk. The air conditioner worked extremely well as we were there during a heat wave. No complaints as far as the AC was concerned. A continental breakfast was served up until 10AM. Though a pool was advertised, there was only a hot tub available. Wi-Fi connection is available. The lamps over the bed we were in were too low. We constantly kept bumping our heads on them.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor facing a side street for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is always good to hear comments such as yours that can give us input as to what guests needs are during their stay. I have plans to install clock radios, irons ironing boards in all rooms in the near future. As to the pool not be available. It been re-plastered and we were waiting for the final inspection which sometimes can take several days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Recently stated at the Jolly Roger while visiting the area and after reading some reviews was definetly shocked. The location is great, close to gas station/mini mart and dining, and not too far from beach. Its a great price for getting a hotel in that area, but nothing a motel 6 can't give you! The 2 beds were comfortable however there were 3 yellow stains and 1 dead bug on the sheets! Grosss!! The windows and carpet were disgustingly stained. The fridges' freezer had defrost and there was a wet puddle on the carpet behind the door, there were 2 white towels covering the water stainson the floor
(This was first thing we saw when we walked in... Not a pleasant first sight!) It was extremly hot that night and our AC didn't work! Completely disappointed with our stay at the Jolly Roger, housekeeping should take pride in their work and really need to step it up!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyyKaramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for comments and feedback. I have instructed the housekeepers to contact our maintenance personnel when a refrigerator needs defrosting. They had unplugged the unit and left a towel in the unit and then had forgotten to finish the job. I have also have been working with them more closely regarding details on how a room should be presented when finished cleaning. Regarding the bug comment. The room was inspected by professionals and no evidence was found insects in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Hotel

Property: Jolly Roger Hotel
Address: 2904 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jolly Roger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jolly Roger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Roger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing