We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Jolly Roger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Roger Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Wanganui
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here twice and think it is good value for this area. Only $25 in taxi from airport. Good sized rooms, seemed pretty clean to us. breakfast good start to the day and pleasant area to eat. Night receptionist (guy) was very pleasant and helpful. Bus close which takes you to Venice beach. Only negative was we asked the day receptionist (guy) to ring us a taxi to airport at end of stay, and it turned out to be a shuttle instead and it cost us $45 to go back to airport.

Room Tip: If you dont like noise maybe ask for a room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishermanWanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    83
    72
    16
    19
See reviews for
62
82
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Jolly Roger at the start of our two week trip to the west coast of America in July 2014. The hotel is well located about 7 miles from the airport and a 25 minute drive to Santa Monica. The room was large and spacious, however the place is very tired and looks in need of a good scrub. Having said that the service was good, the location is great and the price represents good value for money. Parking on site is free which is a bonus if you are driving (and you do need a car to get anywhere in LA). A continental breakfast is included in the tariff however we never used it choosing instead to eat at Cafe Buna across the road which provided a great breakfast and a good start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

LA is really big, this hotel is 15 minutes driving from the airport and 5 minutes driving from Venice Beach, clean and razonable big, we had a room with two King beds, good beds.
I has a swiming pool and a jacuzzi, we went to the beach but it looks like people liked it, good vending machine with Starbucks coffe.
Very kind staff, we arrive at 2:30 am, when it was expected for us to be there at 7 and they were really nice, good security and not too much homeless arround, a supermarket in 7 minutes walking and a couple of restaurants and bars in the same road.
I did not like LA very much, but If I have to go back i will be happy to use this hotel.
parking free, and it has a Little roof and a patio rally lovely so at night you can have a snack or a drink there.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with friends, I went with 2 other girls a 2 beds is by far enough. I will up d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The good: 3 minute drive to Venice Beach, 10 Minute drive to Santa Monica Beach, very centered, very close to Abbot Kinney which has a nice night life. Nice rooms, good breakfast, parking is free and has a big parking lot.

The bad: The rooms could be a bit better, the carpets were kinda dirty because they were very old, but overall a very nice place to stay for 120$ a night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the back, otherwise you´ll end up with a room to Washingotn Blvd wich ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsongruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel is near some restaurants and fastfoodrestaurants and a 20 minute walk from Venice beach and the canals. Rooms are okay for the price. Would stay here again. Easy access by car, free parking. Nice welcome at frontdesk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique_en_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have stayed here repeatedly during the past 15 years, when we visit family who live nearby. This hotel has never disappointed us. We usually stay for about a week. There is a comfortable ambiance. We love sounds of the waterfalls and fountains. The breakfast area provides a good start to the day and is in a relaxing atmosphere. Access is easy from the airport. We can walk to the beach. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The price is a bargain for such a great location.

Room Tip: We have never had a "bad" room, but the rooms facing the courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Great price for a hotel in the area. 15-20 minute walk to Venice beach. There are bus stops near by that can take you to Santa Monica Pier or anywhere else. The hotel has a jacuzzi and pool. I didn't go to the pool when I went because it was being cleaned. Free breakfast in the morning and free WiFi. I would definitely go there again next time I come to visit!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,358 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
491 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,237 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Hotel

Property: Jolly Roger Hotel
Address: 2904 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jolly Roger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Jolly Roger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Roger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing