We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - very basic”
Review of Jolly Roger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Roger Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Value - very basic”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Most hotels in the Marina del Rey/Venice Beach area are very expensive which makes the Jolly Roger good value for money. On our first day we walked down to Venice Beach which took about 20 minutes - there is also a bus you can take to the beach. There are a selection of restaurants at the beach. Free parking at the hotel was appreciated. The hotel was clean but the rooms are very dated and basic. In our room there was only a bedside cabinet on one side of the bed. If you are just looking for somewhere to sleep then this hotel would do fine, however its not the sort of hotel that has the facilities to lounge about during the day. There are 2 parts to the hotel with the annex and the pool being across the road and the jacuzzi beside the main road at the main building. The pool is small and didn't look very appealing and was right beside the car park.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    83
    72
    16
    19
See reviews for
62
82
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Really clean hotel, spacious rooms, microwave and fridge in rooms are really convenient. Free continental breakfast. Free parking. Very close to the famous Venice beach and LAX airport. Overall very pleased with our stay at Jolly Rogers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I reserved my room through Priceline. I had to add an extra night to my reservation, and unfortunately Priceline instead cancelled my first reservation and only kept the extra night. At the hotel, the receptionist Donna, went through every receipt and found my original reservation. Needless to say, my vacation was saved. All of the receptionists there were most helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable, facing a quiet courtyard away from the busy street. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Parking was quite easy with a lot for a few cars in front, and a fairly large garage for the majority of guests. They have a nice Continental breakfast with healthy choices available. They also have laundry services. I felt very safe there, and I look forward to going back. A great spot!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FENMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I reviewed and reviewed and reviewed again dozens of hotels in the LA area and I kept coming back to this one because of the perfect value/positive feedback combo and it worked. The Jolly Roger is exactly as everyone says. It is pleasant, clean, safe and affordable. Of course for the price you sacrafice certain frills and extras, for example, I had to leave a note for housekeeping to vacuum the room as the first 2 days the floor was not cleaned (bathroom either) but, once I left the note, it was done daily. Another example is the hot tub, I dont remember it being advertised so, I wouldnt call it false advertising but they may as well not have one. The hot tub is on the main road (which is very busy) and the jets barely work. Its like sitting in a hot tub of water on a major road.
Other than that though, they did have a great breakfast, more than enough to choose from to get you going (standard stuff but, remember, you are not paying that much!) and the lady that works there is not only super friendly, but almost obsessive about keeping it clean and stocked. When it comes to communal eating areas, that's a good thing!
We got a room that faced a residential street and between that and keeping the AC on to drown out other guests, we slept great. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfy. However, if you get a room on the main road, I imagine it would be quite different, it was a really busy road.
I would absolutely stay again and tell my friends (who don't mind living without frills and resort style lodging). It is close to Venice Beach as well as freeway entrances. There is also a Costco (need cheap food in a hurry? Costco wrap for $4! A whole pizza for $10..you dont have to be a member as it is an outside eating area) an Albertsons and an in and out burger a mile up the road. Pretty much everything you need is right around you.
Another fun thing about it was that it seemed like we were the only ones speaking English. All the other guests seemed to be from other European Countries. While eating breakfast each morning you would hear French, German, Swiss, etc..to me it added to the experience.
A+ to the Jolly Roger!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We spent one night here after a return sailboat trip from Catalina Island to Marina Del Rey. The hotel was very close to the marina. It had underground free parking. The rooms were on a scale of 1-10 about a 7 or 8 but it was nice and quiet and they had a nice breakfast, cereal, toast coffe juice with outdoor seating in a quaint little courtyard (though it was a little too chilly for us to sit outside).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Queensland
Level Contributor
459 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The welcome by Donna was outstanding, the peace and quiet, the lovely room, the good breakfast and fabulous parking facilities.
A little place in heaven on the Los Angeles beaches, near Venice.
Enjoy it as I did!
Mariana Amar

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed at the Jolly Roger for 7 nights during the Thanksgiving Holiday. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Very comfortable. The microwave and fridge really came in handy. The fridge is fairly large and has a very roomy freezer. I was able to buy snacks and frozen dinners from Albertsons to save on the cost of eating out every night. For me it was a long stretch to walk to the beach but if you walk a 1/2 block west, right in front of the gas station you can catch the #1 Culver City Bus which will take you to Venice Beach for $1. The breakfast was continental but sufficient. They dont have Equal or Splenda so take your own artificial sweetner for coffee or tea. Very professional staff. The bed is comfy. Its not a 4 star but the room was more than adequate and the linens, bathroom and counter tops were very clean. Hotel was quiet for the most part. I heard nothing from the neighboring rooms but a few times there were people being kind of loud and maybe running down the hall. Kids maybe? Dont know but it only hapened twice. I guess you can expect to hear some noise when sharing a facility with other guests. They do have a room serivce menu from outside vendors that will deliver to the hotel for a small charge as well a lots of brochures on tours that will pick you up at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you want a comfortable stay close to beach attractions at a good value, I would recommend the Jolly Roger. I am a solo female traveler and felt very safe in the room, grounds and parking garage. Unless I hit the lotto this will be my hotel in the L.A. area from now on!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachyIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,358 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
491 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
754 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,288 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Hotel

Property: Jolly Roger Hotel
Address: 2904 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jolly Roger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Jolly Roger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Roger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing