We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Italian”
Review of Locanda Positano

Locanda Positano
Reserve with OpenTable
Locanda Positano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 136 Restaurants in Marina del Rey
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Venice
Cross street: Washington
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Best of Italian”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Locanda Positano is located on Lincoln Boulevard in the Marina del Rey area. Our party had dinner in the rear dining space, which has large tables, wine racks, art and is great for a famly/friend event. The menu was enticing and every item was hot, delicious and enjoyable. The service was very good. I initially thought the pasta portions might be a little small but after the excellent appetizerss, the portion was exactly right. Well worth the visit. Go with a group for an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sweet Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Delicious! Steamed clams and mussels - the sauce/broth was soooo good. A salad with the artichokes was great, not too sour, just perfect. Pasta with rapini and sausage was done just right - not too much sauce, generous sausage amount, very comforting dish. Will be back asap. The staff was very nice and attentive. Wine recommendation was spot on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livasida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must Have Been an Off Night”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This gem in the heart of Marina del Rey is always a treat, the food is tasty and hot along with a great wine selection. We have eaten there two times before, however this night must have been an off night, slow to no service, food was tough and barely warm, the wine was the best part of the meal. We will go back again, this experience was unusually bad for them.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnluft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good food but waitstaff couldn't find it's tush with both hands. Too small and too loud. Total miscommunication with our order. One person took our order, another brought the wrong food but couldn't understand enough English to explain what was wrong with the order, so the original waiter thought we had sent back what we ordered and he never bothered to come by to ask about it so we just sat there. When I did get his attention, he didn't really understand what was going on either. To their credit, they didn't charge us for the wine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steventish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Like going to Italy for a night. wow. delicious food. mmmm”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have not been in town since last July and the new addition is so beautiful. wow. the owners worked so hard. and the Food is the best Italian Food ever. I never have eaten Real Italian Food I know now. the Menu is in Italian, the Vegetables are fresh daily, the different entrees are Superb, the Service is the best in USA. they are so elegant, and it is all Italian, from the food, to the Wine oh my, it is the best and the deserts, the portions are perfect. you feel so relaxed and satisfied and like you went to Italy for a few hours. ha.
I cannot say enough, you must go and experience it for yourself. all i Can say is they will be known all over the United States one day. Go and find out.
Delicious.

Barb Baker

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bam66ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda Positano also viewed

Marina del Rey, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Marina del Rey, CA
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to Locanda Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing