We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$319
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/10/21
Expedia.com
US$319
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/10/21
Destinia.com
US$286
View deal
PricelineUS$319
Hotels.comUS$319
FindHotelUS$300
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
781
226
77
28
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
781
226
77
28
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt restaurant valet parking beautiful hotel valet staff room service fire pit third floor hotel restaurant pool and hot tub city view los angeles enjoyed my stay venice and santa monica nancy marina concierge boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2019

This was our first stay at the Marina Del Rey Hotel. Most of the reviews I read gave this hotel top marks. Do we agree? Yes and No.

The room itself was very nice. Comfortable beds, a great shower, nice AC. Our view was a "Pool Marina" view. Which meant a view of the pool since they put us on the ground floor (upper floors sold out). We could hear the folks above us walk around and move stuff. Not what I was hoping to hear.

After a day around town, we returned to a birthday party going on next door complete with loud music and a jacuzzi full of people til late in the evening.

The location of the hotel is nice being surrounded by the marina. The drawback is the nothing is within reasonable walking distance. And the only parking, as many reviews mention, is valet parking. ($39/day)

Service definitely was not what I expected. The room was made up but it was just ok. The free coffee pods were not replaced nor were the cups etc. The beds were made but the room was left a bit disheveled. When we asked about the coffee stuff the desk referred it to housekeeping. None ever showed up.

All in all, we were a bit disappointed.

Room tip: Higher floors for a view
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tsy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmdrh, Manager at Marina Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for staying with us at the Marina Del Rey Hotel, and for your recent review. Our entire staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests, and we thank you for this opportunity to improve.

I apologize sincerely for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and assure you that this is not a normal reflection of our service. This will surely be addressed accordingly with the proper department leaders in our Front Desk and Housekeeping Teams in order to prevent any future issues or incidents. Also, if I could have a moment, at a time convenient for you, please reach out to me via email/phone call so that we may further discuss this matter, in hopes that we may reach a positive resolution.

I look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, and if there is anything I may do personally to welcome you back to the Marina Del Rey Hotel, please do stay in touch.

Thank you,
Daniel Vidales
Hotel Manager
dvidales@marinadelreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Marina Del Rey Hotel. Great location 15 minutes from LAX Airport. Great setting but there were quite a few issues were encountered.

1.phones never got picked up when calling the hotel. You would press an option and it would ring out.

2. Tried to eat at 1430 but was told the kitchen was changing shifts and there is nothing you could eat in the hotel until 1630. Not even room service. Found that strange for a 4 star hotel and no one offered a solution so had to leave the hotel to eat.

3. Tried to get my Apple TV to work in the room like in all hotels. An engineer came up and tried to get it to work. He couldn’t sort it out but advised that he would get someone else to fix it.Never heard or saw anyone again and decided not to worry about it as we were leaving the next day.

Rooms were good. And service was good.

Despite all of the issues above , the major plus was the concierge of the hotel Nancy ( her surname escapes me). She was bubbly. Passionate and an absolute pleasure to deal with. . No matter what Was needed, she just said yes. And did it. And with a big smile on her face

From our perspective, she was the difference between us coming back to this property again or not. The hotel was a real find. She had a yes can do attitude and as a result, she turned a number of negatives we experienced into a very positive time spent at the property. We will be returning when next in Los Angeles.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LuckyPhil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmdrh, Manager at Marina Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019


Good Afternoon,

Thank you for staying with us at the Marina Del Rey Hotel, and for your recent review. Our entire staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests, and we thank you for this opportunity to improve.

I apologize sincerely for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and assure you that this is not a normal reflection of our service. This will surely be addressed accordingly with the proper department leader(s) in order to prevent any future issues or incidents. Also, if I could have a moment, at a time convenient for you, please reach out to me via email/phone call so that we may further discuss this matter, in hopes that we may reach a positive resolution.

I am also glad to hear Nancy was able to assist you and be a positive for your trip.

I look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, and if there is anything I may do personally to welcome you back to the Marina Del Rey Hotel, please do stay in touch.

Thank you,
Daniel Vidales
Hotel Manager
dvidales@marinadelreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Went there to see the fireworks July 4th. ( book now for next year) Great location for the festivities at night and a super cool pool party by day. They serve top notch food and spirits. Loved the staff and had a wonderful time.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmdrh, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marina Del Rey Hotel. The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests, so your feedback is welcome and appreciated. We are extremely happy you had a safe and great holiday stay!

Please give us a call whenever you are ready to visit us again!

Daniel Vidales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

We stayed at the property over the 4th of July which was good because of the hotel's proximity to celebratory events. Most notably, we watched fireworks from our patio very easily. We stayed in a marina-view king on the ground floor so it had a step-out patio. We could go out to the pool or down to the marina very easily. The room was nice -- amenities, bed, bathroom (shower) were all well maintained. One nit (and we did not complain about it) was the in-room refrigerator was on but did not cool contents very much. The staff was very pleasant, from the valet to the front desk folks. Questions were answered promptly and the valet wait time was minimal. The hotel also rents bicycles which we used. We biked from the hotel to Venice and to roughly the northern edge of Santa Monica (6.5 mi one way) for a light workout in the morning (tip: head out before 9am to avoid the crowds). We did not eat at the hotel restaurant so no opinion there. All in all, a pleasant stay at a pleasant property.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PA_Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmdrh, Manager at Marina Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Marina Del Rey Hotel. The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests, so your feedback is welcome and appreciated. I will pass on to our Engineering Team regarding the refrigerator so that we can take a look at it. We are extremely happy you had a safe and great holiday stay!

Please give us a call whenever you are ready to visit us again!

Daniel Vidales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019

The location and expectation of this hotel is very high, the location, comfort and style did not disappoint, however, unexpectedly for the USA the customer service was poor for this hotel:
Reception staff unwelcoming and distracted if we had the imposition to ask a question.
This was also true with the front of house and restaurant staff.
On the subject of the restaurant the menu, it was no more than that of a snack bar, this combined with the lackluster on site valet service did not improve our impression of this hotel.
At least there was a friendly Raccoon to greet us at the valet.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmdrh, Manager at Marina Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Good Morning,

Thank you for staying with us at the Marina Del Rey Hotel, and for your recent review. Our entire staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests, and we thank you for this opportunity to improve.

I apologize sincerely for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and assure you that this is not a normal reflection of our service. This will surely be addressed accordingly with the proper department leader(s) in order to prevent any future issues or incidents. Also, if I could have a moment, at a time convenient for you, please reach out to me via email/phone call so that we may further discuss this matter, in hopes that we may reach a positive resolution.

I look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, and if there is anything I may do personally to welcome you back to the Marina Del Rey Hotel, please do stay in touch.

Thank you,
Daniel Vidales
Hotel Manager
dvidales@marinadelreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews