We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for extended stays in LA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for extended stays in LA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staying at the Oakwood for two months for work and have been very happy with both the location, services and the unit itself.

Units range from studios to multi bedroom apartments in a locked and gated community, service center is open 9 to 9 seven days a week, communal pool, bbq, tennis courts, gym etc. In addition there is a convenience store located on the premises as well as laundry facilities (for a fee) in all buildings.

The units themselves are ok, upgraded but showing signs of age here and there. As mentioned by some of the others the hallways in all buildings are on the dreary side of drab. Parking in a locked garage is available.

The staff is fantastic, service minded and happy.

Location vice it is close to perfect, a walk to Venice beach and a plethora of restaurants, shops and bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood2014, Social Media Manager at Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate it.

We’re delighted to hear that you have been enjoying your stay with us so far, and that you are happy with the locations, services and the unit. As you mentioned the location cannot be beat during the summer, as both Marina Del Rey and Venice Beach have so much to offer guests. Thank you as well for the shout out to our staff, they work very hard to ensure that you have the best experience and I will most definitely pass this on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
51
47
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent two months at Oakwood this winter, and found just right for my needs. The location cannot be beat, lots of good places to eat in the neighborhood, excellent security and staff, and just a short walk to the beach. The apartments are a little out of date and there isn't much natural light, but it didn't really make much difference to me. I also find it very quiet and, for this easterner this winter, the weather couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spafan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and so glad it was able to fit your needs. We agree with you that the location cannot be beat. Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We got a suite, bedroom separated from the kitchenette and salon, for a very good price. We stayed 5 nights and it was the best place we stayed in California in all our trip along the pacific coast from LA to SF. There are several buildings, and all of them are well cared for. It is a place to live for a long time, and having the chance to use it for just a few days was great. The kitchen is very well provided, the best one I ever had in many hotels with kitchenette that I have used up to now, it has all the necessary things to make any type of meal. The bedroom is spacious, and the bed very comfortable. It has a balcony, internet is free, parking is free and plenty, enclosed and secure, swimming pool, laundry, gym, cable TV etc. Anything you need. The staff was very kind, all of them, very polite and attentive.

Room Tip: Anyone on the second floor, with nobody on top is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTHA91256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for the great review, and we’re glad you enjoyed your short term stay! We're also happy to hear that you found the kitchen to be one of the best. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit towards the back if the large complex. The feeling here is a little odd with all kinds of people from long term renters to 1 week quick stays. Some of the units are a bit messy with lots of items on the balconies. A few residents seemed to be smoking (not tobacco) on their balconies causing a very strong smell. Slightly uneasy feel if late at night although the complex is "secure" there was talk of bikes being stolen from inside the property. The location is great to get to the beach and to the cycle track which runs right up the beach past Santa Monica. Inside the apartments was clean and functional. The photos are pretty accurate but again a feeling of things just being painted over and perhaps not being cleaned where can't be seen. There is a fair amount of noise in the mornings from the VERY noisy trash collectors who drive right into the complex and also from other residents and barking dogs etc. the maintenance and housekeeping carts make an awful noise on the path and woke me up almost every day. There is only 1 a/c unit in the apartments (living room only) so I was glad I was not staying in the summer when it must be unbearable with no cooling in the bedrooms. Water pressure was ok and hot water seemed to remain hot all day which is sometimes not the case. Lots of storage as well as a comfortable bed but that is objective. Overall I would stay here again - if I had to. It has a bit of a halfway house feeling to it rather than an upscale corporate housing complex in marina del rey. There is a small store on site which closes at 10pm as well as a couple if small markets. Larger stores are a short cab ride or a 30min walk away. The pool and hot tub area are nice but with the 2outdoor BBQ areas it is often a little intimidating with people seeming to have parties etc.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hotel-hopper-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate the feedback. We are also glad to hear that you would consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed for a week which is possibly a bit short for this kind of accommodation.
Staff very friendly but the apartment was quite dated and the kitchen had seen better days.
The overall feel of the place was a bit tired and the communal areas inside the apartment blocks were decidedly worn out, we even managed to wander up an extra floor (we were in the 3rd) and found we could walk out onto the roof!

Location is great but overall I wished I'd been at the Marriott across the way, but you get what you pay for :)

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, dark and gloomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordpercy_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate the feedback. We are also glad to hear that the staff was so friendly and that the location was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wonderful area, close to cafes, great restaurants bike hire for a wonderful ride through Venice beach to Santa Monica. Apartments are great, clean, ATM and a Mini Mart, fantastic laundry facilities, secure parking included in your rate. The staff are very helpful and friendly, will definitely stay there again when next in LA.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just a 10 minute walk down to Venice Beach and a good pool for the kids. The apartment was a little dark (not quite enough natural light) and they only change the towels once a week (I presume you can request them to do this more frequently). The rooms had a spacious layout and good kitchen facilities. We especially enjoyed biking up to Santa Monica Pier on a cruiser bike. All in all a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be a little dark since the apartment blocks are close to each other, good to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#14 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#45 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey

Property: Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey
Address: 4111 South Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5302
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the luxurious waterside resort town of Marina del Rey with easy access to the 405 freeway, these fully furnished apartments are the perfect solution when searching for temporary housing in the Los Angeles area. You'll feel right at home while you stay with us in one of the most desired addresses in Southern California. The community has many wonderful amenities including a fitness center, swimming pool, and spa. As an added convenience, dry cleaning, rental car, and housekeeping services are available. And since you can choose from unfurnished or furnished apartments and work with our flexible leasing options we make moving in easy. Whether it's for business travel, relocation, leisure or any other short or long term corporate housing need you'll feel right at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Apartments Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing