We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel By Small Marina Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jamaica Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel By Small Marina Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Jamaica Bay is definitely a place worth staying. However, the hotel didn't accept any of my two credit cards when I arrived, even though they both worked everywhere else, so the hotel obviously has a problem. However, I had to call two banks that both told me the hotel was the problem. Two hours later everything was fine. Hmmmmm

Apart from that,Jamaica Bay is a pretty good hotel. My room was really nice, but I found it strange that they only had paper cups in the room, not coffee mugs. Why would you charge over $200 for a room and leave your guest with that motel vibe?

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view. I would avoid the first two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishAccent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    331
    106
    32
    19
See reviews for
429
394
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Fabulous location with large, clean rooms. Comfortable beds with great decor throughout the hotel. Free wi-fi. Friendly staff. Best burger and bacon we've ever had while dining in the bar area. We were also very pleased with breakfast every morning. There is a young, hip and friendly vibe throughout this hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank congmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

One of the most enjoyable hotels I've ever stayed at. The staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms large and very tidy!
Superb!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

grate hotel right on the merina a short ride fron lax
we used this as a stop over coming back fron new zealand
room verry good
a slight problem with the room on arrivall but was sorted out by the manager ritchard taylor
i would defentley use this hotel again
on this trip we stayed in santia monica one night but i prefer merina del ray better more relaxing
thanks verry much ritchard for making our stay a good one

Room Tip: marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We booked in for Christmas (2011) and really enjoyed our stay.
The room was on the ground floor opposite the pool - really nice location. It was more than we would normally pay but the friendly staff and facilities on offer won us around. Lovely view over Mother's Beach.
Happy to also recommend the food/drink - although avoid the bar area if you don't want to overhear the rather tedious complaints from the waiting staff about the failings of other staff members (and other customers). There is a happy hour everyday which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have flat level access to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

After much research I found this gem. Really was not looking forward to a 3 night stop over in LA on the way home from the UK to NZ. How lucky I was to book the Jamaica Bay. It was perfect. Great location only a short taxi ride from the airport and walking distance to Venice and Santa Monica. So much to keep us busy for a few days.
The pool and hot tub were great, the rooms excellent, the staff second to none. Breakfast in the hotel was good and though quiet the evening meal was very nice too. Childrens park along the bay and right next door to a Cheesecake Factory. Big selection of places to eat within a 10 minute walk. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a bay view guarantee. Also get to choose with or without balcony. Good to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here on NYE and had an amazing experience! Upon arrival, we were greeted by a professional, friendly staff. We were surprised upon entering the room how spacious yet cozy it was The best part was that there was a mini-fridge with no overpriced snacks to tease you when you stumble back to your room at night, but actual space to put your own wine, beer and snacks in. We woke up in the morning and had an awesome breakfast overlooking the bay. It wasn't until I got home that I realized I left my flat iron and curling iron in their bathroom, so I called the front desk and left a message with Ramon, head of housekeeping. I got a call back and not only did Ramon locate my items, but he shipped them to my house free of charge. Now that's service! We are going back this weekend and ready to party it up in Jamaica!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizardface27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Property: Jamaica Bay Inn
Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing