We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms are large and comfy. Great showers. Good location in Marina Del Rey. Avoid this place on a Friday night. It is impossible to get in the driveway the traffic is so bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    289
    97
    45
    28
See reviews for
336
257
45
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our fourth stay in Marina Del Rey in the last year, as my back surgeon's office is nearby. The other three times we stayed at the Jamaica Bay Inn accross the street, which is an excellent hotel. We decided to try this property for a change of pace since it was new. We will not be back and will stay at the Jamaica Bay Inn on future visits. Our experience started badly when we checked in. The accoustics at the front desk are terrible. Loud background music combined with a low ceiling and several people talking made it impossible to hear. After a very frustrating attempt at communication, the lady helping us went over to turn down the backgroud music and voila, we could hear! This marked the first of many lack of common sense issues we grappled with on our one night stay. We were directed where to park in the underground garage to be near the stairway closest to our bungalow room. No bellman and we were expected to carry our luggage up stairs?! (Remember the resaon for our stay was to see my back surgeon!) We told them we would need an elevator and found to our dismay the elevator could not have been further from our room. Then to make matters worse, after parking, coming back up to the lobby to get a luggage cart, going back down to our car, loading our luggage and coming back up to the lobby, the lady at the front desk gave is the most indirect directions to our room. She could not have directed us further out of the way! The next morning we discovered a much shorter, more direct route to our bungalow. Once in our room, we disovered a leak from the water pipe under our toilet. We put towels on the floor to soak up the water. Also, there was only about a half roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, with no spare full roll anywhere. I called the front desk to request more towels and toilet paper and was told they would be brought to our room right away. An hour and a half later when we left for dinner I called again because my first request had been ignored. I was so confident in the inefficency of the staff at this point, we stopped and bought toilet paper on our way back from dinner. I have to say it was the first time I've ever had to supply my own TP in a hotel! Thank heavens we did, as we never got toilet paper or towels. (My husband and I shared a single bath towel as the others were keeping the bathroom floor from being flooded by the waterline leak to the toilet.) The property is newly remodeled, nicely decorated, clean and the breakfast buffet surprisingly good. However the staff, while pleasant, are inept to say the least. The property is also not "handicapped" or elder friendly. Being a Hilton Honors member, this is the second Hilton Garden Inn we have stayed at since May. Both were disappointments.

Room Tip: Stay accross the street at the Jamaica Bay Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Wow, this is truly disappointing that your stay was so sub-par. There is no excuse for not being taken care of, and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy yourselves.
The Housekeeping and Maintenance issues I am looking into, and will find out what happened. It is true that Hilton Garden Inns do not have bell staffs, but we do have staff who are more than happy to assist, especially in an instance like yours.

I hope that you might give us another chance to give you a great stay with us, as we are better than what you experienced. If you would give us another chance, please contact me directly and I will be sure to ensure it is everything you are looking for and then some.

Sincerely,

Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is perfect in every way. It is clean, smells good, and the rooms are so comfortable. What sets this hotel aside from all others is its wonderful staff. From the front desk, the great resturant staff and even the maintenance man who gave up the "down" elevator so we could go "up", we could not have been received more warmly and treated like royalty by an amazingly friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Let me first start by saying the Hilton Garden Inn began their friendly service before we even arrived in California. Richard, the hotel assistant manager, upgraded our room for no extra charge because he learned that I was a police officer and my husband was in the airline industry, which allows us some discounts from time to time. When we arrived our room wasn't quite ready but they immediately made us feel welcome at the hotel bar. The room was everything we hoped it would be, clean, spacious, private, and beautiful! The hotel is situated only 6 miles from LAX and only a few blocks from the Venice Beach. Loads of yummy restaurants and bars very close by. And if you don't want to leave the hotel area, you can eat a wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The wait staff was amazing and very friendly. Across the street from hotel is a cool local restaurant, The Killer Shrimp, which was a neat place to hang out. We didn't eat there, but had a few drinks. The locals make you feel very welcome. It faces the Marina, so there are some lovely views from there. We rented bikes for only $25 for a whole day right from the hotel, and rode around the Venice Beach area and boardwalk. This is a great way to really see what the area has to offer. I could go on and on, but I will finish with this. You will not be disappointed if you stay at The Hilton Garden Inn in Marina Del Rey, they really know their business and how to make you feel right at home!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn did a fabulous job updating the entire property - everything was clean,modern, updated and comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous, and very responsive. Staff at the Front Desk had many restaurant suggestions and were very helpful in answering questions about the property. Service at the restaurant was prompt and I enjoyed the brunch. The location is very convenient to many places (Venice Beach, Santa Monica Pier and Beach) and parking was a breeze.

The room was very nice; great space with a king size bed (super comfy). The bathroom was clean with nice, fluffy towels and a shower stall. Plenty of closet and drawer space, with a safe for your valuables. There is a nice size balcony with table and chairs - the a/c worked great. The pool was also nice (salt water) with fresh towels placed on the lounge chairs daily. There is also a workout room that I did not get a chance to use; it looked quite nice.

Overall, a great experience with nothing negative to add. I will be sure to recommend this hotel to friends, family and co-workers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogaJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Working close to this location, I was anxious to see how Hilton would transform this dilapidated structure. I can honestly say they turned it into one of the best Hilton Garden Inn's I've stayed at. It's close to LAX, Venice Beach, and Santa Monica. Mother's Beach is right across the street. Perfect for a friendly game of volleyball, or you can rent bikes from the front desk and go for a ride down to Venice Pier or Santa Monica Pier. The bike path is one of the safest I've been on. Upon arrival the employees made you feel right at home. Check in was quick, handled professionally, with happy employees. They set the tone for the stay, I walked away extremely pleased. And then I got to my room. Hilton did not disappoint. The room was spacious, clean, and relaxing. Made for a wonderful night's sleep. Being from Southern California, I will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone who is interested in visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My stay at HGI at Marina Del ray CA was very good,as the there are lot of near by restuarants and quality of hotel was very good and staff very excellent in customer service and swimming pool was good and rooms very clean and neat - above expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Siva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Address: 4200 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Marina International)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasantly situated amidst the scenic Marina Del Rey Harbor and Marina Beach, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey hotel is a business and leisure travel haven. Nearby local attractions, eateries and shops populate the surrounding area while the eclectic areas of Venice Beach and Santa Monica are just short drives away. LAX and LMU are also within easy access for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina International Hotel Marina Del Rey
Marina International Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing