We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could/should have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Was really looking forward to this hotel on our USA road trip, but unfortunately it didn't deliver:

Pros - good location, excellent breakfast, everything brand new.
Cons - a bit pricey (but that's LA), very noisy rooms if facing one of the 2 main roads, refusal to allow us to utilise a spare room for a shower after checkout for a late flight (which is the first time this request has ever been declined at any hotel I have ever stayed at)

Could quite easily have been a 4 maybe even a 5 star rating if they had accommodated the shower request.

Room Tip: Avoid any room facing the roads!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sr1234Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but it's through all guest' comments we are able to improve our service.
I am surprised you had a noisy room, as we have double pane sliding doors in all rooms and our feedback is generally how quiet the rooms are. I will look into it.
I will also follow up to find out about your shower request as it may be there was not a room available, as we have been sold out quite a bit lately. Our staff is very accommodating and I'm concerned about any request not being granted, unless it was out of their control of course.
In any case, I do hope you will give us another try and we will of course do our absolute best to give you a room that makes your stay a great one!

Thank you very much,

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel. Only the lobby is up to Hilton quality, the rest is average at best. Room exterior view was a dirty construction site. Had difficulty sleeping because thin walls transmitted neighbors conversation throughout the the night. Room was large, but furnishing was generally cheap. Bed was comfortable, but I wished I had brought my earplugs. For the price, you can do better - the premium for the Hilton brand is not worth it in this case.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwoodrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

I'm so disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. I'll definitely check into the "thin walls" as I've not heard that before. "We normally get many nice comments on the rooms and furnishings. Please let us know if you'd like to try us again and hopefully we can give you a different room that will make your stay a more enjoyable one.
Our staff is eager to help out in any situation and they will be more than happy to fix whatever issue may arise.
Please let us know if you are planning another visit to the area and I will make sure you get the room you want!

Safe travels,

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was passing thru Marina Del Rey and needed a place to stay; everything we looked at seemed expensive but this was central and not outrageous. The hotel is gorgeous; a combination of standalone suites (like bungalows) and 'regular' hotel rooms. Very easy to navigate the grounds and everything was close enough. We were able to walk over to the Venice canals for an evening stroll, which was a treat for the kids. A couple of positives: The heated pool and hot tub were quite nice for the kids. Walkable to the Marina and several options for evening and morning meals. The staff was great, including showing me how to use their new print via email service. The outdoor dining patio with firepit was very cozy. A couple negatives: The front door is hard to reach without making an illegal UTurn. Parking for $10 seems cheap on a $300 room. Just charge me $310 and don't tack on extras.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks so much for your review, especially mentioning the Venice Canals, which are wonderful and not many folks mention...
Our staff is so happy to have guests like you, who are discerning and experienced travelers who appreciate all we have to offer!

We all hope to see you here again soon, and let us know how to make your next stay even better!

Safe travels!

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Definitely to the 'Hilton' standard. It was a mom and daughters weekend. The staff greeted us upon entry, with a bright positive attitude- Nice! We had two perfect queen beds in a nice sized room. The fitness center and pool are always enjoyed when travelling. The food was very good. The location is absolutely perfect for seeing Venice, Santa Monica and LA.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

So glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay! Comments like these really make our day and we're so grateful you took the time to write and share them with others...

I'm so fortunate to have such a friendly and upbeat team here, and I'm so proud to come to work alongside them every day.

We hope to see you again soon, and let us know what we can do to make your next stay an even better one.

All the best to you!

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Can't say good things about this hotel! I stayed one night, March 30th at HGI. I checked in smoothly with a great staff, Kenny at the front desk was very friendly and helpful...thank you :) The room I stayed in was spacious, very clean and comfortable. It is located in the great area...., amazing staff..., I loved everything! I highly recommend when you are in Marina del Rey area to stay at this hotel. You won't be disappointed! And I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mViscusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review! I will make sure to share this with Kenny, as he takes great pride in his role here and it shows.
We truly appreciate you sharing this wonderful feedback and we hope to wow each and every guest that comes through our doors...let us know how we can make your experience even better on your next stay...

Thank you again, and safe travels!

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our first visit. Top notch service from Dean (Gen Mng) and every staff member we came in
contact with. Our room with patio was great and very clean. Fabulous brunch everyday. Staff
was outstanding. Many places to walk to from hotel. Swimming pool was great too. Can't
wait to return.

Joanne
Scituate, MA

Room Tip: We stayed in king loft private patio. Loved it but sure all rooms are great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0anne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello! Great to hear from you and thanks for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay! This is why we come to work, is for feedback like this, and we genuinely appreciate your patronage and taking time out of your day to write a review!

We all hope to see you again soon and let us know how to make your next stay even better!

All the best,

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our family of six just completed a four stop trip through San Francisco, LA, and Palm Springs. The Hilton Garden Inn at Marina Del Roy was by far the best hotel experience of the trip. The rooms were well appointed and exceptionally clean. The staff went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. The food both in room and in the restaurant was great as well. The location was great, just across the street from Mother's Marina beach, and a few blocks to Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks so much and how fortunate we are to have guests like you! Traveling with six can't be easy, and we're happy we could make it a nice, comfortable stay for you.
And thank you for mentioning our staff, as they live for feedback like yours!

Please let us know anything we can do for your next stay in order to exceed your expectations!

Safe travels!

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,402 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,272 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 352 in Los Angeles
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,331 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
746 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey

Address: 4200 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5422 (Formerly Marina International)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: £163 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasantly situated amidst the scenic Marina Del Rey Harbor and Marina Beach, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey hotel is a business and leisure travel haven. Nearby local attractions, eateries and shops populate the surrounding area while the eclectic areas of Venice Beach and Santa Monica are just short drives away. LAX and LMU are also within easy access for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina International Hotel Marina Del Rey
Marina International Del Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing