We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good location”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The rooms are very large and have been recently refurbished, so everything is in great condition. The hotel manager and all of the staff are very gracious and welcoming. They have free indoor parking and also have a self serve laundry which was useful in our case because we had just stepped off a cruise ship They also have a small pool in the courtyard which is very nice.
All in all great value and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poirierp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are very pleased you were satisfied with our free parking, friendly staff and on-site guest laundry. We look forward to seeing again in the near future!
Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Visited in June 2013. Had a lovely, relaxing stay in this hotel. Great setting, within easy reach of transport, restaurants and beach. Rooms were lovely, clean, modern. Cleaners scrubbed the rooms everyday! Breakfast was very plentiful and tasty , with great choice to suit all tastes. Cheap and easy to use laundry. Lovely outdoor balcony breakout areas again very modern and arty. Glorious hot tub, with sun loungers and clean towels provided throughout day.
Staff really are amazing, helpful, polite and friendly. They really go the xtra mile to ensure you are looked after, with nothing being too much trouble. Really would recommend to any traveller,and certainly does feel like your on vacation. Thanks to all staff.......we were very sad to leave!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenandLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback. It is great to see you enjoyed our free breakfast, outdoor patio and friendly staff. Please come back and see us again soon!
Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The staff are 5 Star, friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, tidy and excellent value. Close to Santa Monica, V Beach and the freeway.

We (my wife;) left a Coach messenger bag and some designer clothes etc in the room, the Hotel had them in safe keeping the next day when she discovered they were missing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We really appreciate the time you took to prepare this review. I am so happy that you had a great experience with our friendly staff and enjoyed our clean rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights in Sept as part of our California trip. It is a nice hotel with nice large bedrooms. The swimmimg pool is very small but the jacuzzi is good and very hot. The staff were very helpful even though they couldn't find the booking at first. The breakfast was excellent and a great start to the day. The hotel is on a main road which leads down to Venice Beach, takes 15 mins wall or 2 mins on the bus. The free car parking is a real bonus. We would stay at the hotel again no problem. We were not impressed with Venice Beach, a lot of vagrants, dodgy dealings, seedy shops but very bohemian. Some people might like it but not for us. Santa Monica Pier is very nice, lots going on etc. The Marina is over the road about 15mins walk and nice with lots of places to eat. LA we would not go back to. Can't believe all the hype, we walked around Beverley Hills, Sunset Strip, saw the hollywood sign etc but the worse place on our trip by a long way. We did venture in to the Beverley Hills Hotel to use their convience. Warm wet towels in the toilets, and opulence beyond belief. We saw Rodeo Drive etc but no different than Harrods, Mayfair etc. California is great but nothing special about LA. Wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: The rooms have been updated but don't know if any are any better. We had a king bed and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinnyjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our large guest rooms and free breakfast. We greatly appreciate your business. If you do happened to be in the LA area again, please come back and see us.

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just returned from a wonderful two night stay at this hotel. I've been a Travel Agent for 30 years so I'm very picky! We were very happy with the Suite which gave us a bit more privacy. The room was absolutely meticulous and the staff are very friendly. The location is perfect for exploring Venice Beach and Santa Monica.

I would explore restaurant choices in a car before walking to eat. We got in late so walked to a nice Mexican restaurant. The prices were ridiculous for what you got. If we had looked around first, we would have found more affordable choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you were happy with your suite and our friendly staff. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Stacey Martines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great location: 15 min from LAX, 5 min from the Venice Beach pier.
Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating .
Rooms were comfortable and clean (they were recently redone).
Breakfast was very good.
My wife and I come to LA every summer for 4 or 5 days to visit my son. This is the 1st time we have stayed at this hotel, but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeYonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate your time. It’s great to see that you were satisfied with our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We hope to see you and your wife again soon.
Stacey Martines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August for a family wedding in Santa Monica. We had about 10 rooms in the end. We called ahead and weren't able to officially get a group rate but the manager was very accommodating and gave us a discount for a short period of time when we called in May.

Rooms were perfect for what we needed. Beds and linens were very nice and comfortable. There were coffee makers and small fridges in all of our rooms. Bathrooms were nicely appointed.

Breakfast in their lounge was very nice. Hot items varied between eggs, bacon, sausage, and the like. They always had a waffle maker that you could make your own waffles. The staff was always refilling the station and were very helpful. There was cereal, bagels, muffins, etc. each day along with hard-boiled eggs. Some fruit was available

This hotel is about a mile from the beach. Each morning many members of my family had a very nice walk down to the beach and back. It's not close but it's flat and we all wanted some exercise. One day we also walked to a bike shop about 2 blocks from the beach and rented 17 bikes for a fabulous ride up to Santa Monica and back. Very fun. Overcast most of the time which was perfect.

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating to our needs. They were able to let us bring in pizza and use a common area when we got back from our wedding.

The pool is small but very nice. The jacuzzi is very inviting and integrated into the pool area very nicely. There is a very nice outdoor gathering area by the pool as well.

All the rooms are enclosed inside a street front but the hallways, interestingly, are open to the air. It is very secure but at the same time open to the elements.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very similar, updated and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I’m so glad the group discount worked out for you, and I’m thrilled you enjoyed our free breakfast and friendly staff. Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 353 in Los Angeles
791 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,345 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,281 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
759 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: £166 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing