We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and clean hotel near Venice Beach”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is close (walking distance) to Venice Beach, and very conveniently located to explore western LA, Santa Monica, Malibu, the canyons, Pacific Coast Highway, and it is only a short ride from LAX.
My (interior) room was very clean and nicely furnished, offered plenty of space and had windows to an atrium, so it was really quiet at night. The hotel's parking garage is a big advantage, and there is ample space. Breakfast offers bagels w/ cream cheese, scrambled eggs and ham, and waffles, and there is 24/7 free coffee in the lobby. Housekeeping and the attendant at the breakfast buffet are very friendly and efficient.

Big kudos to Phil and Brenda - the night team at the front desk -, who not only quickly checked me in but were very helpful in pointing out restaurants/bars and recommended hiking trails. I always enjoyed a chat with them.

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor interior rooms (I had #208) have windows to an internal atrium with no one passing th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Your comments are greatly appreciated. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly staff, our spacious free parking and our delicious free breakfast. When in the area, please come back and see us!

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for The Kinney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We choose The Inn at Marina Del Ray based on price and reviews on this site. To start, it's a bit of a walk to Venice Beach and Marina del Ray. If you're driving, not a problem; plus they have parking. It's a solid 3 star, nothing more; but a decent one. 24 hour front desk, some very friendly and helpful, others, not so much. The rooms are not bad. Spacious, clean and have everything you could need. The beds large an deceptively comfortable. Bathrooms are a European set up: shower and toilet are separate from the sink/vanity. Always plus in my book.
Do your self a favour and try your best not to get one of the front rooms, they face onto Washington blvd. super loud, not a great sleeping experience.
The free breakfast is fantastic and has a great selection. The dining area is small and very busy. It can be a real dog fight to find a table, or you could just grab your Breakfast and head up to the lovely roof top patio and escape the chaos.
We paid $150 for a Tuesday night and $190 for the Wednesday. At $150 we were pretty happy; but as the price goes up towards the end of the week, I believe it's not a good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for the time you spent on your review. We are very pleased you were happy with our free breakfast, our large comfortable rooms and our friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel through hotwire.com's secret hot rates. So I've got the room for US$ 91 + tax per night. We were very pleased with everything. the hotel's location is very good. Many restaurants and Walgreen's within walking distance. the hotel has a very attentive staff, specially the breakfast staff, that was constantly keeping everything clean and replenishing the food. The breakfast room is a little small, but that didn't bother us at all, becaused we found plenty of place to eat at the lobby and on the 2nd floor. The suites are very nice and clean and come with microwave, refrigerator, coffee machine, hair dryer and 2 TVs. Our rooms had very clean queen beds in the rooms and a sleeper couchs in the living room. Ammenities, such as bottled water, nice smelling soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion were also there. The decor of the hotel is very pleasant and I would guess that they have Feng Shui all over it. We enjoyed the small pool and warm jacuzzi, as well as the firepit at night. Plenty of free parking space. This hotel is definitely my favorite 3* hotel in the West Los Angeles-Venice Beach-Sta. Monica area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were located in the 2nd floor, rooms 231 and 219.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatySalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We greatly appreciate your review, and thank you for choosing the Inn at Marina del Rey. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed our free breakfast, our free parking and all the other wonderful amenities that our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights. While the hotel is a great value, do not be misled by the 4.5 star rating. This is a 3.0-3.5 hotel at best. Three times during our stay, the front desk was unattended, once for several minutes. The facilities are fine, nothing exceptional. Breakfast was adequate, although the seating area is too small and crowded. If you're looking for a nice, higher end hotel in the area, I recommend staying elsewhere. If you're looking for a great value, with average facilities, this is it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for your comments. We will be using your review to implement improvements to ensure we offer the best guest experience in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very nice, clean hotel. Always smells nice as you walk in, staff go out of their way to help and are very friendly. Beds comfortable and rooms spacious with a good choice of tv channels. Free parking and free wifi are a big plus. About a 10 minute walk to Venice beach and from there you can easily walk on to Santa Monica beach. Fantastic hot whirlpool and small pool on the second floor. Nice complementary breakfast with good choice. A liquor store is next door if needed. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a beach holiday in the Santa Monica/marina area of LA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0e_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed our free breakfast, our free parking and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spend 2 nights here on a recent 2 night visit to the Los Angeles coast area. Rooms were very large with separate seating area and 2 flat screen TV's,very clean and modern. Nice pool and seating area on the second floor,good adequate breakfast and free underground parking. Its about 15 min walk down the main road to Venice beach then a further 20 min to Santa Monica. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyuk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for the time you spent on your review. It is great to see you enjoyed our free parking, our delicious free breakfast and our heated pool. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Stacey Martines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I travel a lot for work and play. The best way I can describe this Inn is the following:

Better than a Holiday Inn Express and just under a Westin (For the rooms, no joke, suite style, two TV's robe, nice bathrooms with 4 star shower head + free breakfast!) but at a HI Express Price. They have parking, a hottub and fitness center. Okay, so now the dose of reality. Pool is small and fitness center has bare basics but are you there to swim laps or do squats? A 7 minute walk gets you to the marina.
Staff was very friendly and professional. So for $119, if you thik you can do better, sorry, you would be wrong!

Room Tip: they advise all suites so I am presuming 302 is just as nice as the rest.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catair1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for the time you spent on your review. We are very pleased you were happy with our one bedroom suites, free parking and friendly staff.

When business brings you back into our area, please come back and see us!

Stacey Martines

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 352 in Los Angeles
783 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,331 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,272 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
746 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: £169 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing