We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, quite, intimate, staff very helpful. Just got married to my long term partner at the hotel the staff couldn't have been more helpful the public area are pretty and good, some are intimate.Rooms spacious, bed comfortable .loved our stay and would stay again. Free wifi great and fast and very much appreciated
Have left champagne glass with the staff in case anyone wants to take the plunge. I can recommend this place for comfort and good service. Breakfast is included

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed our free breakfast, our free wireless internet and our friendly staff.

The Inn at Marina Del Rey team would like to congratulate you on your wedding. We are looking forward to seeing you both again in the near future!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    540
    131
    34
    11
See reviews for
512
419
53
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Room on inner 1st floor was large with lounge area, table and 2 chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Very comfortable bed. Everything and everywhere spotlessly clean. Small pool and terrace with sun beds. Covered free parking, free wifi in rooms. Couldn't fault it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for the time you spent on your review. We are very pleased you were happy with our comfortable rooms, our free breakfast and our free wireless internet.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I booked this hotel after looking for all the Aussie reviews. We arrived on the 7th of Oct very early in the morning and asked if we could check in. Francisco (Great Guy) who was working the front desk was very helpful and we were able to go directly into our room. All the hotel staff were very helpful and cheerful. We returned to the hotel on Nov 3rd for 3 more days and have no complaints what so ever. They were very kind and looked after our bags for a few hours while we did a bit of last minute shopping before heading to the airport. We booked a Queen suite which we were very surprised by how roomy it was. The other great thing about this hotel is FREE Parking. We use to stay at the Marina International until they renovated and got taken over by Hilton and doubled in price. So if you are looking for a great hotel at a reasonable price range this is it. If I have to note one thing the pool is small, more for soaking not swimming. The outdoor area next to the pool is very pretty and has a fireplace to enjoy a leisurely drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the traffic noise. We stayed in room 314 and 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Your comments are greatly appreciated. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly staff, our free parking and our comfortable double queen rooms.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We are a senior couple who spent five days at the hotel, in October 2013.....we found the hotel to be very well located with plenty of underground parking ....the staff could not have been more pleasant...we found our room clean and well cared for and the entire staff was always friendly and greeted you with a smile.......it is located on a very busy street but that all but disappears once you are inside......the prices were reasonable.......breakfast is better then most....HINT, there is a great little Italian place about a half block from the hotel called Johnnies, great New York style pizza and grinders.....look forward to our next stay.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed our free parking, close proximity to local restaurants and our friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you both again in the future!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at this property recently for its location and reviews. However, it fell far short of my expectations. The included breakfast was great, but not even close enough to offset my experience..

Be aware: the guy that works in morning WILL try to hard sell you on tours. His persistence borders on harassment, maybe I should not have said "I will think about it." This prompted him to follow up with a call shortly after - when I had only MINUTES to think about it. Clearly I had not made a decision that quick after a long flight... He asked me twice more after that..

I also did not receive the room that I had reserved. After reserving a suite with a queen bed, I was checked into a room with a king bed - no suite. My only interaction with the manager, Dustin, was brief. I only remember his name because of his rude and short nature. I come from a customer service background of nearly 20 years. Businesses that rely heavily on a customer base to remain profitable and successful, should truly value their customers and treat them with the importance that they are.

Dustin seemed indifferent to my concerns, and could not even maintain eye contact with me in our short conversation. I wonder how a person like this was ever put in charge of a business.

In summation, I will never return to this place again. I encountered several properties in the area during my visit, next time I WILL stay with one of those.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njo198578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear NJO198578,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very sorry that the experience you encountered with our staff did not meet your expectations. This is surprising as the majority of our guests find our hotel to have exceptional service. We appreciate your business and value the feedback that you have provided in your review. It is only through such honest discourse with our customers that we can improve as a hotel. Please contact me directly, so I may demonstrate my concern.

Sincerely,

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The qualities of this hotel are the excellent staff, and the international flavor of the guest during our visit. We enjoyed our conservations with guest from all over the world in an wonderful environment. The beach is a 2 to 3 minute drive down the street, and parking is free which is a huge plus! The price is excellent given the location, therefore if your looking for a good deal then stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to see you and your family enjoyed our close proximity to Venice Beach and local attractions, our free parking and and our friendly staff.

Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is close (walking distance) to Venice Beach, and very conveniently located to explore western LA, Santa Monica, Malibu, the canyons, Pacific Coast Highway, and it is only a short ride from LAX.
My (interior) room was very clean and nicely furnished, offered plenty of space and had windows to an atrium, so it was really quiet at night. The hotel's parking garage is a big advantage, and there is ample space. Breakfast offers bagels w/ cream cheese, scrambled eggs and ham, and waffles, and there is 24/7 free coffee in the lobby. Housekeeping and the attendant at the breakfast buffet are very friendly and efficient.

Big kudos to Phil and Brenda - the night team at the front desk -, who not only quickly checked me in but were very helpful in pointing out restaurants/bars and recommended hiking trails. I always enjoyed a chat with them.

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor interior rooms (I had #208) have windows to an internal atrium with no one passing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Your comments are greatly appreciated. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly staff, our spacious free parking and our delicious free breakfast. When in the area, please come back and see us!

Stacey Martines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
762 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#12 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,300 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,249 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
701 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Property: The Kinney
Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing