We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Kinney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kinney
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are clean and the location is very quiet. The pool area is also quiet. The hotel is family friendly. It's close to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, and L.A. Lots of shopping and restaurants to choose from. It was a quick getaway anniversary weekend for my husband and I. We will definitely stay there again. Breakfast area is small, so we took our plates to our room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Yesenia M,
Happy anniversary! We are delighted that you found our hotel to be family friendly and enjoyed our clean rooms and swimming pool. Your comments are very important to us. Please come back and see us again!
Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was here for one night for business. The service and check-in process was fast. For the price and location this is a great option.

The Good:
- Room is good size
- Microwave in the room
- Cookie at check-in was good touch

The not so good:
- Hotel dated

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear SGO007,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found our rooms to be spacious and your check-in speedy. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to accommodate you again the next time you are in the Marina del Rey area.
Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Being our first time visiting L.A I did a lot of research for a hotel that would suit our needs. The Inn at Marina Del Ray did just that. The hotel is located about five miles from LAX. It's a twenty minute walk to Venice Beach and there are several restaurants within walking distance. There's also a liquor store right next store with a huge variety or beer, wine and snacks.

Check in was easy and quick. We had a two room suite in the rear of the building. The room was comfy and inviting. Two flat screen TV's, a pull out sofa and fridge and microwave as well. The room also included one robe and a ironing board and iron. Free in-room coffee maker and bottled water at $1.50 per bottle. The bathroom was small and the sink is outside the bathroom. The water pressure was strong and the water was piping hot if needed. The bed was on the soft side and not the most comfortable but the pillows were nice. The rooms were cleaned daily and were always kept spotless.

The hotel has free parking which is awesome. They also have included a daily breakfast which includes cereals, breads, coffee, a waffle maker, juices and a couple hot items like eggs and sausage or bacon daily. The hotel also has a small exercise room and free use of computers in the lobby. There's a small pool and jacuzzi on the second floor and a nice seating area with a gas fire pit lit at night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One of the nicest things the hotel offers is bikes for rent for about $5.00 per hour. These are nice Trek bikes in different sizes. We rented bikes one morning and rode down to Venice Beach in less then five minutes. Once on the bike path we rode down to Santa Monica Pier and were able to enjoy all the beach area.

The only downside to the hotel is they do not have in-room safes. They do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk but that's really a pain in the butt to do every morning if you have lots of items. For the price of a stay here, there should be in-room safes supplied in every room. Also the mattress' seem a bit old and worn out. Overall he had a enjoyable stay. The hotel is in a great, safe location and if ever in the area again we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Aerowing,
Thank you for spending your valuable time on this review. Your comments are important to us. We are thrilled that you found our rooms to be comfortable and inviting. Thank you for your feedback on our beds. Please come back and see us again soon!
Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our last night before heading home after travelling through multiple countries over 7 weeks. We asked for, and were granted a 'special' rate which was cheaper than the advertised price. Further when we arrived we asked for a room that we could all stay in the next day (there were 4 of us - two couples) until 6pm when we would leave for the airport. Francisco was fabulous and is an asset to The Inn. He is both polite and professional. He went out of his way to help us and managed to secure one of our rooms for us to stay in and leave our luggage as well as shower before leaving for the airport. He also arranged for fresh towels for us all. The rate for the extra time was very reasonable at half the night stay at our reduced rate we had already negotiated. A bargain! The breakfast was also thrown in for the cost and quite plentiful. The position also was very handy.

Now for the rooms. They were suites and very large. They had a bedroom, separate lounge room and two-way bathroom. They were spotless and modern. Our room had a small leak coming from the ceiling in the bathroom and when I told Francisco about it he was most apologetic and said he would attend to it immediately.

We loved the place and as we travel to the United States every couple of years I will have no hesitation in staying here again as it is reasonably close to the airport. It was a great place with great staff. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms 218 and 220 faced away from the courtyard which meant we couldn't hear anyone talking from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear flossygirl,
Thank you for spending your valuable time on this review. Your comments are important to us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and great service from Francisco. Please come back and see us again soon!
Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I spent two weeks at the Inn at Marina del Rey. Fantastic time, staff courteous, informative, the apartment was ideal for my circumstances. Location perfect for Venice beach, Santa Monica. Many Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Carl R,
First, thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback. I am thrilled that the Inn at Marina del Rey was a home away from home for you while in the area. Please come back and see us again soon. It would be our pleasure to provide you with excellent service again in the near future.
With hospitality,

Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First off the staff is amazing. Very helpful and very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool even though on small side was perfect and heated and my 9 year old daughter loved it. There is a nice relaxing sitting area across from the pool where my mom and her friend enjoyed reading their books. The staff gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. There is a really calm beach called Mothers Beach within walking distance which is perfect for small children or adults who want a much calmer scene. Venice Beach and Muscle Beach are just down the street as well. The location of this hotel was perfect an the price is perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Precious G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Precious G,
We genuinely appreciate your review and we realize your time is valuable. So glad you found our staff to be helpful and our location was convenient for you. Please come back and see us again soon!
With hospitality,

Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After 13 days of pampering on a Panama Canal cruise originating in New Orleans, we were ready to regain our land legs via a 4 day vacation in Lala Land. Already familiar with Orange County and Eastern L.A. county, it was time to move northwest for a sampling of nicer beach cities, with Marina del Rey as our jumping off point.

Doing the research, it can easily get plenty pricey in these desirable areas. Determined to find a nice price, attractive property with and included buffet breakfast and free parking took a bit of a Web surf, with The Inn at Marina del Rey emerging the clear winner.

A smaller, 3 story stucco establishment with interior elevators, small pool area, this is located on busy Washington Blvd, also close to Lincoln Road with a good assortment of eateries and that all-essential freeway access. The neighborhood isn't fancy, and you'll find a liquor store, several dry cleaners and other small businesses lining this east-west artery.

Our room was larger than most 2 bedrooms, with a comfy club chair, desk and chair area that could double as a dining table, large dresser, single nightstand, small Fridge and microwave, K-type coffee maker, separate sink and bathroom with tub-shower combo.

Our view was onto the busy street, but just high enough up to mitigate some of the noise. The blackout curtains further helped with extra soundproofing and ensured that late nights were okay, no glaring morning sun to disturb sleeping late.

The flat screen TV was well-sized for the 14' by 22' room space, with a plethora of local and network channels, plenty of sports channel and Showtime as the premium offering. The remote worked fine, and we were not bothered by loud noise from our neighbors, the main problem with the open-air hallways and a few hours of door rattling from the wind tunnel effects.

The AC worked well, but there was no provision for adjusting the settings such as low, medium or high for the fan which was powered by a single temperature setting. Because of this, the fan often cycled on for a minute or two, then off; we ended up with a higher than usual set point to help with this minor noise irritant.

One small elevator serviced the 3 floors from the lobby, while a second, small rear elevator went down to the parking area, but we noticed did not come back up. So with groceries, a small hike through the parking area back to the lobby and then up. We were almost at the end of the main wing, so that helped boost pedometer readings, but might be tough for the more mobility impaired.

Check-in went smoothly with a pleasant clerk, and we later used the front desk staff, who were kind and helpful enough to print out location maps for some of our bucket list dining spots. We enjoyed charbroiled burgers from George's nearby, and noticed a Chinese joint and pizza place that both delivered.

The daily buffet breakfast included sausage, waffles, eggs, cereals, sweet rolls, juice, bagels, milk, coffee, tea plus fresh fruit and yogurt. No problem bringing plates back to the room, and if not able to finish, a cup of yogurt or couple pieces of fruit made satisfying snacks later in each day.

The free parking was a definite plus, with the trade-off being limited spaces. First come-first served seemed the motto here, and it was noted that guests back in by 8 p.m. usually found a free spot while late comers tended to double-park with management suggested keys be left at the 24 hour front desk in these cases.

So for comfy bedding, absolutely spic and span plus spacious rooms, great value hot breakfast and a desirable location, with no need for resort or conference level amenities, The Inn at Marina del Rey gets 4.4 out of 5 stars, rounded down to 4 but it comes with a solid 2 thumb's up recommendation: you'll get your vacation dollar's worth at this small South land jewel.

Room Tip: If the occasional ambulance siren is a problem, request either an interior room or one in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnatMDR, General Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Kcfoxy,
Thank you for the time you spent on this review. It is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that you found our beds to be comfortable and rooms to be spacious. I hope to meet you next time you are in our area.
With hospitality,
Stacey Rivera
General Manager
Inn at Marina del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,367 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,295 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
801 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinney

Address: 737 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5542 (Formerly The Inn at Marina del Rey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: £148 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinney 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our playful style and central location, live like a local at The Kinney hotel in Venice Beach. Grab your entourage and truly experience So Cal - from courtyard loungin' to beach cruisin' - our house is your house. Keep the Snaps going with complimentary Wi-Fi, cool off in our dipping pool, and when you're ready to call it a night, refresh in brand-new beds. Now is the time to truly experience Venice (and give your friends a little FOMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kinney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing