We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average accomodation but great location”
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we stayed a couple of nights as we wanted to visit Yosemite and couldn't get any lodges inside the park. For that purpose, the location was great, approx 1 hour drive into Yosemite valley (and its a beautiful drive on a curvy mountain road). Mariposa village was quite a pleasant surprise for us as there are a few restaurants and cafes catering for different budgets, we had some great food in the evening and it was a pretty village.
The lodge itself is basic and nothing special - there was a pool but it was tiny and right by the road so we didn't use it. Our room was extremely spacious, clean, comfortable and functional, we had hair dryer, a little fridge etc. There is planty of parking space as well. There is WiFi but we couldn't get it to work.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NicLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

A very basic lodge, but it has all the amenities one could hope for. Although it was very noisy with all the children enjoying the pool, the air conditioner drowned out all sound. The beds were huge and comfortable, the bathroom clean, and there was a small fridge to cool our drinks for the following day. They do not serve breakfast, but there are numerous diners in the area. Excellent location close to Yosemite. Beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed there for two nights with my girlfriend as a base for Yosemite. The lodge is located in a beautiful setting with mountains standing tall in the distance. The room was well appointed and very spacious. The bathroom was clean and the bed very comfortable. We had two quiet and restful nights sleep. There is a good selection of restaurants, convenience stores etc nearby and the drive to Yosemite was breathtaking.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The rooms were big and confortable, the whole motel is charming, and has a great location in the charming Mariposa when you plan to visit Yosemite. The pool and jacuzzi is a great plus. We got good tips to dine around, and it was a pleasant and quiet stay.

Room Tip: all are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was my second visit here .. 21 years apart. Nothing much has changed.. Rooms have had a lick of paint, bathrooms updraged, but still what I would call a budget motel. However in August rates are high. Great location, you can walk to all local shops and restaurants, close to park, and Marisposa is lovely. Wifi is very hit and miss wifi. ... Overall a decent place but I would not rush back to the lodge..

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dianewarrenpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ok so it was 21 years ago when I last stayed there. Little has changed.

It's a great spot for Mariposa. It's very clean. Shops and bars are nearby. Mariposa is cute. Wifi is spotty and TV worse. But you don't stay here for that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markgroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having stayed at the Best Western in Mariposa last yr., we decided on the Marosa Lodge this time because they offer 2 queens vs. 2 doubles which is much more comfortable for a family of 4. We were so happy with the friendly staff, comfort and cleanliness on Fri that we called back and booked Sun after spending an uncomfortable Sat night in El Portal. All standard rooms were taken on Sun but we were more than satisfied with the AAA price and space they offered us for a 3 BEDROOM APARTMENT. We pretty much collapsed after showers and food but the apartment was a really super set up if traveling with a large group (could sleep 8) or an extended stay. I wish they offered a small discount to one of the nearby breakfast places since so many hotels now include breakfast, but otherwise we have no complaints and would definitely return again to the Mariposa Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.0 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £96 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing