We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat!”
Review of Sierrascape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariposa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierrascape
oshawa, ontario
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful 4 days at Sierrascape. The weather was perfect -- hot and sunny during the day and cool at night. We made use of the hot tub, the BBQ and the many leveled deck. It was great to sit and watch the many birds surrounding the cottage from larger raptors, to a wild turkey and finches. We were also entertained by lizards on the rocks.
We thoroughly appreciated the private setting with its lovely and unique gardens. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped. The kitchen had everything we needed, the shower was great as you felt you were almost outside, and the bed in the master suite was extremely comfortable.
Our only issue was with the heater which was tempermental and often took several tries to get the fan to work.
Highly recommend as a fine base to explore Gold Rush towns and Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjlOshawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Sierrascape was just the place we needed to de-stress and unwind! The owners have put a lot of time and effort into making it extremely comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the huge fireplace was well stocked with firewood. The best part of the home is the outside deck and spa!! We spent a lot of time out there, listening to nature. The are no other sounds around- it is very secluded!! It was so peaceful to come "home" after a day at Yosemite. Unfortunately, with the drought, there was no water in the creek below the house- we will just have to back again when it is running!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bliz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Spent many hours trawling the web to find such a place, and found we did. Love it. From the remoteness, privacy to the actual lodge itself. Everything you could possibly want, need is here. (Including ice box for days out) Very homely, neat and tidy. Lots of areas to sit and follow the sun and of course the hot tub, again clean and well maintained. Local wildlife includes Wild Turkey, Frogs, Gold Finch and Humming Birds. Would advise to get your bulk of supplies at a major town store. Whilst the local Mariposa market (pioneer market) is great and has everything you need, you do pay top dollar. (or as we say, loads of £'s) Theres a gas station 2 miles down the road so emergency supplies or beer not too far away. Can't fault the place at all (except mozzies at night, but bought joss sticks for that 'little' problem) and heartily recommend.
This lodge was the Sierra Scape, Hirsch Road.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

we stayed with another couple in Sierrascape, a lovely three bedroom home outside of Mariposa set in the woods above a little brook. in april the brook is running (i understand it is dry later in the year) and the rocky hillside down is covered in lupines. there is a multi level deck overlooking it with lots of seating areas, a gas grill and hot tub (which comes in very handy after a day of hiking in Yosemite). the deck is charmingly decorated and a great place to have coffee in the morning and listen to the brook. inside, the kitchen is the best equipped and stocked kitchen we have ever had. Kirsty and Jerry have thought of everything. condiments and spices are all provided as are many of the other little things you forget to pick up at the grocery store. there is a flat screen tv in the living room with movies provided and a beautiful fireplace (very handy for cool nights). the beds are comfortable with plenty of towels provided. it is about an hour along a beautiful ride to the heart of yosemite and a perfect place to come back to at the end of the day. Kirsty and Jerry have stocked the house with many books about the area including hike books of yosemite and they also put together a very helpful and thoughtful binder containing lots of information about the area and things to do. making reservations was very easy and they are great to deal with. the house was very clean. very good internet service and there are house phones as here like many mountain areas cell service is spotty at best. we had a great time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My family of 3 and our dog Otis very much enjoyed our stay at the “Little Lodge” It was a perfect get away from the city. It was a beautiful property with flowers, birds, and wild life roaming around. It was nice to let our dog just run wild on the acres of nature the Little Lodge provided. We loved the cozy feel and fire place. We spent our evenings in the hot tub and drinking wine. We enjoyed cooking in the full kitchen and bbq’n on the grill. We enjoyed that it was a private and a little farther away from the towns. We liked the secluded feeling and privacy. The lodge does only have 2 rooms but they did use some innovate ways to incorporated plenty of sleeping areas if you had a larger family than ours. One thing I will say that really made our trip was the pamphlets of information about the stuff that you can do in the area, directions to the locations and all the little tips about the best places to shop for food and restaurants to try. I also love that everything that was provided for the lodge was eco-friendly and the products were good value. This “Little Lodge” was exactly what we were looking for and we do plan to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Upper room does get a little warm but has a nice breeze when window is open. Down stairs was just ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shannonlatrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

well,
first time I have to write a review on something that I could not even reviewed!!!
not for my choice, of course!
I wrote to them to inquire a 4 days vacation on May. My family: 5 people and unfortunately 3 little, tiny dogs (by the way, on the web, they claim to be pets friendly). They answer me back telling me that Our Group is too large. ???? wait a minute. They announce the cabin to be for 5 people, 3 bedrooms. I check again and here is their web site, "Sleeps up to Five Guests - 3 Bedrooms, 1 & 1/2 Baths". They even charge 20$ extra for the 5th person!!! So I write again telling them that No, we are not a large group. We are just a family!!! But the answer comes promptly. NO. the house is too small for 5 people. ???. Do they want only couples to be in a 3 bedrooms home for 275$ a night? I don't get it. I have a business and this is absolutely NO WAY OF RUNNING A BUSINESS. Do not promote something on line and then change your mind (for don't know what reason still). Definitely I was too honest to announce all my guests, including our little pets. And maybe my pets were the only reason why I have been discriminated. SHAME ON YOU!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mari282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in 'Little Lodge' which is just outside Mariposa. The property was OK but showed signs of needing refurbishment. While it claimed to sleep 8 it really only has two bedrooms so would be very overcrowded with 8. (Luckily we were only 4)

The air conditioning could not cope with the summer temperatures we experienced, which meant our sons found it very difficult to sleep in the very warm upstairs bedroom.

If you went outside you were pestered by the wasps which seemed to have a nest near by.

The main problem was the attitude of the owners/managers (who we never met). They have signs all over the place listing about 30 things they want guests to do on departure, and even though we complied with these, they still complained that the $90 cleaning fee was insufficient to cover the costs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
10.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,097 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
15.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,813 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,602 reviews
12.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierrascape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierrascape

Property: Sierrascape
Address: 5936 Pine Top Dr, Mariposa, CA
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Mariposa
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Sierra Nevada Mountains and very near Yosemite, this custom-built, tri-level, 3 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath home is set on eight secluded acres and has extensive decking and spa overlooking the boulder filled Sierra Mountain Creek and surrounding hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing