We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic, but tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariposa Hotel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariposa Hotel Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.Louis, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic, but tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the Mariposa hotel inn. The owners were nice, but left on their own vacation soon after we arrived. Our room was a nice size but furnished in the quasi-Victorian style of the late 1970s. The flowery wall paper was well scrubbed. The shower controls were moldy and old, resulting in a thin and hard to temperature-control stream. During our two day stay we had no maid service: we made our own bed and re-used damp towels. We like to support local businesses, but in this case, we will find other options for a Mariposa stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 3: granny Annie's . It had a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Athena56St_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    41
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
24
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a great place to see the entire town of Mariposa. It sits right in the heart of main street has a wonderful view and great dining within walking distance. Mary Foster the owner is a gracious and friendly innkeeper, everyone is treated like family. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Mariposa Hotel Inn is right in the middle of Mariposa. The town as well as the hotel is full of mining history. The hotel has six rooms and the entire place is beautiful. The innkeepers live on site and treat you like family. At the end of the day, guests can get acquainted on the veranda. Because of the "Bed and Breakfast" feel of this hotel, everyone can meet, not like those large chain hotels that serve only as a bed. Be comfortable and cozy, walk anywhere in town and stay at the Mariposa Hotel Inn.

Room Tip: They are named, but I can't remember the name so ask for the "honeymoon" suite. It ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puder2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Historic Mariposa Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The owner Mary Foster is fantastic. A gracious and friendly person. The rooms are decorated nicely. The bed was very comfortable!! The towels were plush and felt new! There is a set of stairs you have to go up, but they were no problem A nice continental breakfast awaits you in the morning which you can enjoy on the veranda and watch the humming birds. Also, it is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine at sunset.Everything you need is in walking distance. Great restaurants and shops in this charming town. It is only 45 minutes from Yosemite. If you are lucky, you might meet Ted a World War 2 Veteran, who plays guitar and sings a few songs in the lobby when he is not helping Mary. If you go say " Hi from Audrey". I know you will enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The owner Mary Foster is simply wonderful. The rooms are large and the beds are so comfortable. I have stayed in many hotels over the years both when working and now as retired. Everything is close you are in the center of town and can walk to any place you want. One has to check out the humming birds on the veranda.

Room Tip: All the rooms we seen as we arrived early they are all gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here twice. Prefer the room all by itself on the third floor. Very quiet considering there is an awesome watering hole (The Hideout) right down a couple of flights of stairs. Great owners who really care about our comfort. Very nicely furnished and even though this is a very old and historic hotel it's updated well.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Unforgetable stay, it felt we were living the history of the inn everyone couldn't have been more welcoming. The inn is a one off and you would have to search long and hard to find a lodging that come's near to this, do not miss out. In the morning we sat out on the balcony overlooking the mountains and watching the humming birds as they drank water from the dispensers hung from the beams above us. Mariposa must be the most friendly town in the United States we had a drink in the local saloon on our arrival and the server filled us in on the varied dining there was to be had in town, we finally agreed the saloon was the best for us and we sat, eat well, drank well and listened to an open mike session with superb musicians. Perfect location for visiting Yosemeti National Park during daylight hours and sampling the delights of the town in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
0.7 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
5th (Fifth) Street Inn
5th (Fifth) Street Inn
#3 of 21 in Mariposa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Inn

Property: Mariposa Hotel Inn
Address: 5029 Highway 140 & 49, P.O. Box 745, Mariposa, CA 95338
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotel in the heart of downtown Mariposa, California, the home of Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing