We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see all kinds of spiders”
Review of Bear Creek Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Creek Cabins
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Spiders everywhere. Cobwebs on the screens, couldn't open the windows, cobwebs on the ceiling, behind the toilet, under the eves. We even saw two spiders fighting in the kitchen corner. Made the mistake of putting suitcases on floor- yep, spiders got in there too, really quick. Pulled out a pair of shorts and shook them and three (3) spiders ran off! Had to shake everything out before packing up to leave, and some still made it home with us, ick!

The room looked clean on the surface, but when you really started looking it was dirty. Don't open the cubbards under the sinks, ugh! Bedspread looked like it had a urine stain on it, tables on porch still have everyone's spilled whatever on them. Clorox and some raid would go a long way here. If it was cleaned up it would be ok. And as someone else stated, you had to drive thru the slums to get to the room.

Location was good, close to Yosemite parks. Kind of in the center of things.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't like spiders and a little dirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gypsiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

The rooms were clean and roomy. Staff was friendly. The area it was located in was horrible to say the least. As we were riding up to the property, I was ready to have a heart attack. The road to the property was a slum! We had to look at this every time we went to and from the cabin. It was a little far from the park, took us about 35 minutes each day. I guess if it doesn't bother you to look at the area around you it would be ok to stay there. I would stay closer the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommomjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed in suite #3, the loft suite, and very much enjoyed it. The room was clean and the fireplace was very appreciated on chilly mornings. The microwave was dated but it still worked fine. We found deer grazing on the front lawn in the evening and that was a nice surprise. The bed was too hard for our liking but most hotel beds are. LouAnn was a great host and very helpful. It was a good 30-40 minutes away from the park through a twisty canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

we have stayed here over the last two years the rooms have been clean but there has been a drop in the equipment inside the rooms poor lighting bulbs gone not replaced curtains held on by bits of wire, no kettle, old microwave just about working outside the cabins it had a load of junk and no where for the kids to play ball ,. i would not stay there again unless it was updated

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merekatsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The cabin was just what we wanted - peaceful (apart from the crickets), convenient for catching the YART bus to Yosemite and good to have The Cafe at The Bug up the hill for great food and beer! OK, there were still coffee grounds in the coffe pot from the last people, but if that sort of thing upsets you then this isn't the place for you. Lou-Ann was friendly and helpful. After a busy week in San Francisco it was lovely to chill out at Bear Creek and enjoy the amazing scenery of Yosemite Valley. Tip - get your YART tickets at The Bug, they do a 3 for the price of 2 deal. Try the Hornets Nest Swimming Hole trail from The Bug - bliss!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkCiderwithrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We found the place to be clean, and Luann (Mgr.) made us feel very welcome, plus she's a kick!! We also took our three dogs- and they had a blast. Yes it's a rustic setting, but very comfortable, you want luxury stay at the Ahwahnee for 400.00 a night. The suites are upstairs/downstairs with a stone fireplace, great rooms.. We will definitely stay here again, and have already suggested it to friends. Remember, it's a log cabin in the mountains not the Hilton

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaCragRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

June 14, 2007

Traveler from:GA

I found this place by searching the internet. It looked a little dated but nice. All four travelers agreed on booking the place. All four agreed also that it was not what we expected. When you arrive you are first greeted by several broken down cars and about 10 cabins that have been turned into homes that are run down. The cabin suite that we rented was nice from the outside but the inside was anything but. Water damage, smoke damage, old broken appliances, dirty and soiled furniture etc. We stayed the night and cancelled the next two and stayed a little closer to Yosemite for the same price with all the aminites of the cabin.
I can say that management was nice, but beware.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tuffmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
21.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,230 reviews
24 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,130 reviews
5.9 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
863 reviews
19 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Cabins

Address: 6993 Hwy 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Mariposa
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Creek Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Cabins Hotel Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing