We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!”
Review of Bear Creek Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear Creek Cabins
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This place is fabulous! The location is hard to find at night though, and the gps will not work that high up in the mountains. It took us awhile to find it, but once we did the owner came out and she was super nice. It was nice she still came out to greet us although it was around midnight. The room was so clean and the bathroom was a normal size. We said we wished we could have stayed in this cabin for the rest of our trip. She gave us directions to where we were going in the morning. Stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megannnnn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with friends (4 people total) for 4 days last summer and it was fantastic. A lot of the reviews talked about the slummy road on the way up to the main cabin but we didn't mind it. There's no drug deals going on outside or anything like that. It's perfectly safe and peaceful. The owner was super friendly, funny, and made us feel really welcome. The room itself was enough space for 4, (we had cabin number 3) and we loed having breakfast outside and meeting our neighbors around. If you want a camp-like experience without staying in a tent, this place is your best bet. We enjoyed it so much that we are coming back again this year.

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Bear Creek cabins at a very reasonable rate ($120/night) in August of 2011. We were in the cabin suite: unit #4 in the main cabin, the end unit. The room was HUGE, with a bedroom upstairs and a queen bed downstairs next to a large living room w/ breakfast area. The bathroom was downstairs - with a tub! It was charming and rustic and the hostess, Lou Ann was very helpful and courteous. There were cooking supplies, dishes & utensils and a full size refrigerator, stove & microwave. The wild blackberries were ripe on the bushes next to our cabin so we had fresh blackberries with our granola on the front porch every morning! We couldn't have loved it more.

We had a new flat-screen TV with, I think, DirecTV although we didn't turn it on while we were there. We also had a fireplace.

Although our unit is called a cabin, it is attached to three other units in one building sharing a deep front porch. Unit #4 is at the far end and we walked past the other three units to get to ours. Having the end unit meant it was the most quiet with only one shared wall and no one walking past our door.

As other people mentioned, you have to drive past some slightly trash places to get here. If that bothers you - DON'T STAY HERE!!!! Also, don't write a bad review because of that - would you want people reviewing your house based on your trashy neighbor down the street?

Anyway, this is not a Hyatt or Comfort Suites/ Ramada so it won't be at that level of cleanliness. If you're expecting that type of room - again, DON'T STAY HERE!!!! The cabins, however, will be infinitely cleaner and cheaper than most of the Yosemite park accommodations. The downside is that the drive is close to 1 hour to get to the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Yosemite National Park and don't want to spend an arm and a leg, this cabin is for you. Situated around 25 miles from the park (45 mins or so depending on traffic), this cabin offers a cheap alternative to the ridiculous amount other cabins charge. The place itself is tucked inside (and very hard to find at night) a compound off the main highway. I agree with the other reviewer about the junk/slum looking cabins on the way to the main cabin itself. But if you get past that, what you'll find is a the main cabin structure, divided into 4 separate cabins (the last one is MUCH bigger than the other 3) sharing a front porch. In front you will see a big grassy area, where the kids can play. The first 2 cabins have 2 beds each and a kitchenette. Each cabin also has a BBQ grill, perfect for grilling your favorite meat while enjoying a bottle of brew. We occupied the first 2, the 3rd one a family from France, and the last cabin is a family from India. Since the cabins share a common front porch, we got to know each other, sampling our different food and enjoying one's company. It was a blast. You can not find this kind of interaction if you would've stayed in a hotel. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to save a ton of $ and meet other interesting people in the process.

Room Tip: Reserve early to get the last cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern NC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I planned on visiting Yosemite National Park, but did not want to pay the prices to stay in the park. I looked on line for a nearby city that had hotels, and found Mariposa, which is about 30 miles from Yosemite, renting rooms at over $100.00 a night. I travel on a tight budget, so keep looking. I found Bear Creek Cabins in Midpines, CA, only 19 miles from Yosemite, that was less expensive than anything in Mariposa. I got a AAA discount, and booked on line. When I arrived and followed the signs for Bear Creek Cabins, I thought I was in the wrong place, as you have to dive through a section of "housing" that is old and run down; however, I followed the signs and found Bear Creek a bit further on. I was pleasantly surprised to find a clean and large room waiting for me. The manager, Lou Ann came right out, knew me by name, and had my paperwork ready. She and her husband are extremely friendly, and knowledgeable about the area, giving helpful hints for sightseeing and travel destinations in the area. The room had a small kitchen with a small dorm size refrigerator. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with soap and towels. The down side was that there was only a swamp cooler for air conditioning, and no central heating system, only a space heater to use. It gets cold in the mountains at night, and the first night was a bit chilly, but I managed. Midpines, while only 19 miles from Yosemite, takes about 45 minutes to drive, as the road is winding, and you need to drive either up or down from Yosemite to go anywhere. There are restaurants in Mariposa, another 10 miles up the road, but if you bring your own food, there are barbeques that are provided to cook on. Please be advised that there are bears and mountain lions in the area, as in Yosemite, so do not leave any food in your cars, and be careful taking a solitary walk after dark. The bed was firm and comfortable, with sheets that you would have on your bed at home, not commercially laundered ones that are stiff and scratchy. There is limited cell service, and the service is provided by Golden State Cellular. There is only one very fuzzy television channel, and if you need to get on the internet, you can take your laptop and sit near the office. There are only four rooms, two of them have double beds, the other two are suites with an upstairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Wa.
Level Contributor
291 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have written several reviews, and often use other reviews to decide on a budget property. So, I am writing this to help others. This is my first truly bad experience and we travel often.
I booked a cabin, as another person said it was okay for a night. We've stayed in cabins before, that were quaint, but clean and decent, which is the least we expect. The Yosemite area is NOT cheap, by any means. So, agreeing to pay $109 for one night, plus tax, I booked here. We got to the cabins about 7:30 pm. We drove past some slum looking cabins to get to where the office was. We parked, walked up the drive to the office. The way was strewn with junk, right up to the office door. Plus there was junk across the drive from the cabin. Very messy area. There was a note to go to cabin #5, which we were parked in front of. The siding looked old, but we went in. It truly smelled! Musty, or whatever, very unpleasant. It looked clean enough, but with the smell and junky area, we just couldn't stay.
We headed to Mariposa, and I called Comfort Inn. They had nothing available, but kindly gave me the # for a place. We paid more than I care to for it, but it was outstanding! Unfortunately, I also got charged for this cabin, as it was on hold with my CC.
This is my opinion, and I'm sorry to write this, but feel others need to be aware.
Okay, I had pics of the exterior and path to the office, but this site isn't allowing them to post. Sorry, it would truly show the junkiness.

Room Tip: The newer cabins looked okay, but the area is junky, regardless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imawandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

These are well maintained and equipped log cabins. 2 double beds, bathroom and cooking facilities. The owner was very friendly and helpful. For a family of four we found this ideal accommodation. It is not a 4 star hotel, but was excellent value and less than an hour from the centre of Yosemite. Mariposa is a short drive and has most things including restaurants and shops. The resort next door had the feel of a youth hostel, but did provide good value evening meals.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_and_Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
7.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
19.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Cabins

Property: Bear Creek Cabins
Address: 6993 Hwy 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bear Creek Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Cabins Hotel Mariposa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing