We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Lois and John, HUGE breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restful Nest Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariposa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Restful Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Loved Lois and John, HUGE breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Me and my boyfriend were on a road trip which of course included Yosemite National Park and decided to try out the Restful Nest based on the reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We were warmly greeted right upon our arrival and shown to our room, which was rather big and very neat. Lois was quick to ask us if we had any special diets or anything we did not like to eat. My boyfriend is rather fuzzy with his food so I almost felt sorry for Lois when we told her about what he doesn't eat. In the morning we woke up to the smell of bacon and wandered upstairs hungry for breakfast and found huge amounts of fruit and berries and freshly baked muffin waiting. And that was just the starter! Clearly Lois had not fund it too difficult to cook stuff that both of us ate more than happily. There was so much food that Lois and John ended up packing heaps of it for us to have as lunch in the park. The friendliest service of all the 20 something hotels we visited on our trip, no doubt about it. I can highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We went to Restfull nest for our 10th Anniversary with our boys, the owners are really accommodative and pleasant with kids.We all enjoyed the place,swimming pool and hot tub.Ms.Louis and Mr.John are very friendly and Breakfast was awesome,lots of dishes,mouth watering desserts which keep you filled ,you could skip your lunch, they also pack you cake and fruits for your picnic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife and I spend three nights to celebrate both our birthdays and my wife's 5 yr anniversary being cancer free. The name says it all, we spent a Restful time Nested in the beautiful foothills just outside Yosemite and the small peaceful town of Mariposa. Our host Jon and Lois made our stay feel like we were home with family. The setting of there B&B is fantastic. It is just 10-15 mins from Mariposa and about an hour from Yosemite but only sounds you could hear were the occasion Wild Turkey talking to his girl friend or the covey of Quail in the bushes on this 10 acres oak tree covered retreat.
Our room was decorated in a western ambiance, very spacious and clean with a private bath and TV. The pool is large and nice with a Jacuzzi hot tub. But the breakfast we had each morning were unbelievable. Jon and Lois do not hold back on the culinary delights. You wake up to the smell of fresh baked breads and pasteries. Fresh cut fruit and a special blend of French Roast coffee and then comes the main breakfast. If you leave the table hungry its you own fault! There is plenty of wild life from the beautiful foxes, and grazing deer that we saw, to the numerous hummingbirds feeding from Jon's bird feeders, all while relaxing and conversing with our hosts and their other guests on their expansive balcony.

Would we go back and stay at the Restful Nest - In a heartbeat

Thank you Jon and Lois for a memorable visit to your home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were looking for a place to stay that was good for visiting Yosemite National Park. The Restful Nest is about an hour's drive from there but it was certainly worth staying there! We booked it based on TripAdvisor reviews and, although the email communication was a little haphazard, we weren't disappointed. (It's probably easier to phone to make a booking, rather than use the website.) It certainly lives up to its name (Nest) as there were many interesting birds around (including hummingbirds).

In terms of access, the Restful Nest is quite remote. Furthermore, some of the local roads have been closed to general traffic relatively recently so your GPS might not direct you accurately. The chances are, you'll be coming from highway 140. Look out for Yaqui Gulch Road and drive along it until the crossroads. Then take Buckeye Road (almost opposite on the crossroads) until you see Buckeye Creek Road on the left (we initially confused the two road names). Take Buckeye Creek road and the Restful nest is just beyond the unpaved area, by which time you can't miss it. It's about a 10-minute drive to Mariposa, the nearest town, which has some restaurants, petrol stations and convenience stores.

Probably the best way to describe the stay was like visiting your grandparents. Lois and Jon were incredibly welcoming and gave plenty of information about the surrounding area (things to do, where to eat, etc.). They event leant us snow chains for the car, which are required in Yosemite Park if the conditions are very snowy. We couldn't have felt more welcome. They also have a cat (worth noting if you're allergic).

We originally booked room 1 but were offered a choice because of a cancellation, so we opted for room 2. Both rooms were very large with en suite facilities. The decoration was a little bit twee but the rooms were clean and comfortable (the double bed was gigantic). There was really fast Wi-Fi, which was excellent as there is no phone signal in the area (we used Skype to make calls).

The grounds have a swimming pool and hot-tub, which is great after hiking in the park all day. It's a good idea to tell Jon and Lois beforehand if you want to use the latter, as the chlorine really builds up if the cover isn't removed far enough in advance.

Finally, the biggest asset was the three-course breakfast. Expect to take an hour to eat it and be prepared to eat a lot! Lois gets up a t 5 a.m. to cook/bake everything fresh. I've never seen such a varied spread! We started with yoghurt, which was followed by ample fresh fruit. Then there were many hot options. If you don't finish everything, they pack it up for you to take for lunch, which was very welcome when hiking through the park. They even offered us dinner, but sadly we'd already booked a restaurant.

Overall, I couldn't recommend this place enough! Whether visiting Yosemite National Park, or not, just stay here!

Room Tip: We viewed rooms 1 and 2. 2 was definitely the nicer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Restful Nest in mid October 2012. We were attracted to the B and B by the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Our accommodation was fine. We stayed in the guest house which was very quiet and comfortable albeit a little dated in decor. But what made our stay a memorable and most enjoyable one was the hospitality and friendliness of our hosts, Lois and Jon. As previous guests have noted, our breakfasts were superb in both quality and quantity but we also greatly enjoyed sitting and eating breakfast with our hosts and the stimulating and informative conversations we had with them and other guests. We also enjoyed the rural location, 5 miles from the town of Mariposa and having deer coming to feed in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I found this amazing place through trip advisor and it was definately the best decision of our trip. It's about 8 mi from Mariposa but absolutely fantastic property including a large pool and a nice and hot jacuzzi which can be used until 10 o'clock - really nice after a day of traveling. We stayed at the guest house which is quite spacious and can probably accomadate kids as well with a neat little balcony in front of it. But the best is definately the hosts: Lois and John really made us feel at home. You can feel that it is their dream come true to run this b&b. Words can never be enough, try it yourself! I can only recommend this place for anyone who really wants a true American experience with amazing people to stay here. Btw: Breakfast is just incredible, words can't do it justice! It was by far the best we had our whole US trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

What a delightful place ,having done a road trip with my friend this place was absolutely the best scenery ,landscape beauty i can not put into words.Lois and Jon-Pierre were absolute stars ,have never met such friendly hosts they are an asset to the place.I loved every minute from getting stuck in the swinging tyre to the deer ,foxes getting fed.Even a packed luch when we went out the next day i recommend staying here and wished we had more time here.I will have memories for life staying here with two lovely people .The Restful Nest is a must stay.

Room Tip: Any room has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorpethEnglandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
17.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
19.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
20.7 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
4.4 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restful Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restful Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Restful Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4274 Buckeye Creek Rd, Mariposa, CA 95338-9458
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing