We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We made reservations at the Comfort Inn intending to spend 3 days while sightseeing Yosemite. The hotel is very small and not very clean. The room was tiny without any convenient way to use computer. When we checked in, we told them we would be staying only one nite but they refused to issue credit. We cancelled thru Hotels.com and they billed us anyway for all 3 nites. Not very happy with the situation. Ruined our trip to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mapatogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our stay here was above average - staff were helpful and pleasant, room was clean and spacious but nothing fancy, free wifi, and advice for dinner was reasonable. Breakfast was an extended continental and was adequate, but it was a chore to get what we wanted with a crowd in the area. I would advise to go early or late, not around 8:30 or 9am. We stayed two nights and would stay again, given the choices in the town.
Drive to Yosemite was about 45 minutes with a short detour around a rock slide that must have happened some years ago. The park was beautiful, but crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

So glad you stayed at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway - where guests are happy with our pleasant, clean, spacious, reasonable accommodations and helpful staff to make your vacation more enjoyable. We recommend eating breakfast as early at 6am, and then heading to beautiful Yosemite National Park, just 32 miles away, so you have as much time in the park as possible. Please come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here only for one night on our Yosemite Trip.

We found the entire property very well maintained and our room to be recently remodeled and very clean - in short: in great shape.

The staff was cheerful and helping, which made us feel welcome.

We especially loved that the location is far enough from the main street to be very quiet, so we could even sleep with the window open without hearing any street noise.

The only downside is that this location is about 45min drive (without traffic) from Yosemite. That being said, the closer you stay to Yosemite, the more you pay.

Additionally also please mind that currently (and as it looks like for a few more years), there is a serious hill slide issue, on Hwy140 between Mariposa and Yosemite, which creates a one lane traffic signal regulated bottle neck. We left very early in the morning, so we did not have a long wait, but I believe this could cause some serious wait time during busier hours of the day.


Never the less, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This Comfort Inn near Yosemite Valley offers straight forward rooms, nothing fancy, but cool in the Mariposa summer heat. Complete breakfast is satisfying too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter17mort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Good location to go to the park. Breakfast is simple but good. Rooms a little bit old fashioned and not very big. For staying a couple of nights is a good option. Our room was for 4 persons and didn't have the option for a 5th. (no extra bed possible).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank AlejandroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We really appreciate you posting your comments. Many guests find Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway a great hotel! On a hillside above Mariposa, it's is nice and quiet here, and the front desk staff are friendly and helpful. After a day in Yosemite National Park, our pool and spa are refreshing and welcome. Come again and stay longer to explore Yosemite's 1,200 square miles of deep valleys, grand meadows, ancient giant sequoias, and a vast wilderness area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I thought this was a great hotel, nice and quiet, the lady at the front desk was very helpful and it had a nice pool, perfect after our drive up on a hot day. Breakfast ws good and Mariposa seemed like a great little place - wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westcoast08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel is a 1 hour drive from Yosemite, through the mountains and around a detour due to a rock slide that happened years ago, according to locals. There is not much choice closer to the park. When we checked in one of the men behind the desk just had on a plain white undershirt (and pants of course), the other man had on a polo with the Comfort logo on it. The one is the white shirt helped us, it seemed a little strange to me. Anyway the motel is an older outside corridor type. It has been remodeled inside at some point. The room was marginally clean, the surfaces appeared to be clean, but the corners of the room and bathroom, obviously hadn't been swept of vacuumed in some time. The bathroom door where you would grab it to close it, was very dirty, I tried to clean it with my Lysol wipes and it looked a little better. This was the most expensive motel of our 18 day trip and the least nice. I guess it is all location, location. The breakfast was pretty good, the same stuff you get everywhere and the wifi worked well.
'

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,188 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £61 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing