We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend we slept there for one night during our visit to Yosemite. The hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly. The room are quite small: we stayed in the non-smoking area and the place for opening our two baggages was very very tiny. The restroom was absolutely clean and there is a quite big shower. In the morning there is a good free breakfast where you can have more or less wathever you want to eat and drink. The hotel is in a very good location if you want to visit Yosemite in more days. Finally I highly recomment this hotel and I will stay again here in a future.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olallie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, just 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park. Guests often comment that the hotel is very nice, and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet is a great place to refuel for a day of play. Mariposa is a great place so come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have used this hotel before and would use again. Such a nice place to stay. Good location (close to everything in town). Nice facilities available. Good breakfast range. Why can't more Comfort Inn's be like this? If you need to stay outside Yosemite, this is a great option.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank newman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

You are some of our many guests who are very happy they stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, not only for our deluxe hot breakfast buffet and our large, clean rooms, but also because we're only 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park! Thank you so much for your glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family of 6 was headed to the campground we had reserved on the west side of the park when we were turned back because the area had been evacuated due to the rim fire. We were in a jam...5:00 in the evening at Yosemite with no reservations! I started frantically calling hotels to find "no vacancy" again and again. At last I tried the Comfort Inn in Mariposa and was thrilled to be able to book one of their last rooms. Patti, who answered the phone, was very helpful in getting things in place for us. Given the situation, I would have been happy with just about any place with a bed we could lay down on, but was delighted with these accommodations. We stayed in a suite with two bedrooms, two baths, living room with pull out, and full kitchen. The price was very reasonable and while the decor is nothing fancy or posh, that wasn't why we were there. All was neat and clean, which was the most important part. We had been prepared to camp, so had lots of food with us and were able to use the kitchen to store and prepare it. We had plenty of space for all of us and my kids enjoyed the pool and making their own waffles for breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and traveled both to Yosemite Valley, Glacier Point, and Mariposa Grove of Sequoias. Both are a bit of a drive (1-2 hours) but that is the case wherever you stay outside the park. If we came back to Yosemite, I would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank eknier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

So glad you were delighted with your accommodations at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. The rooms are large, clean and quiet and suites are perfect for large families. The deluxe hot breakfast is just what is needed to start the day right. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful and our prices are reasonable. You are quite welcome to come back and stay with us again anytime you visit Yosemite National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My party of 5 made a reservation at another motel and it was a real dump and the comfort inn had an open reservation, thankfully and when we arrived at the comfort inn it was wonderful! The room was great!! It was a suite with 2 rooms and a big living room and kitchen! The pool was very nice and it was just an overall relaxing place, wish we would have booked there for out whole trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzmagicdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

We specialize in wonderful, clean, comfortable rooms at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. So glad you enjoyed our quiet mountainside pool and spa and had a relaxing stay. Please do come and stay with us again. You are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room we stayed looked run down. The door of a wall cabinet had mismatched colors. My wife found hair in the bed sheets before we used them. None of the power outlets worked so we couldn't charge any of our mobile electronics. The air conditioner was so as loud as a shop vac. Neither me nor my wife get any decent sleep due to the loud AC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all information we receive from our guests and we take steps to insure problems are resolved. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. Housekeeping has been alerted and we are working to ensure every room is clean and fresh. The standard air conditioning units found in hotel rooms are not quiet, but they do cool the room down nicely and this is important with our warm summer California climate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I had several issues with this hotel. Firstly, they messed up my reservation. My initial reservation was for 2 days through expedia. A couple of weeks before my trip I tried reserving through expedia for an additional night. Was told that I will need to contact the hotel directly, which I did and was assured that I had the room. When I arrived there I was told that they did not have a reservation and was asked as to who I spoke with. They also gave me some [--] explanation of how the system would not allow them to allot me a room. Anyways, they recommended another place "Miners Inn" which was really good. Secondly, this hotel has rooms facing the main parking lot and people can park right up to your room. Had a couple of noisy groups and was disturbed through late hours in the night intermittently. I understand people want to have fun but they should be cognizant of the setting and care about the fact that other people are there too. Thirdly, I had to request the front desk a couple of times for some extra towels. I finally had to go and get them myself, which really wasn't a big deal, just something for the hotel to think of in terms of customer service. In all fairness to the owners, I didn't mention my problems to them because by the time I got to the hotel after dinner it was really late and we were all very tired. Also didn't want any unpleasant situation with other guests. The issue really was with the way the rooms are laid out and there is very little that anyone can do in that situation. At best this was average. Drive to the main yosemite valley is about an hour. Positives: The breakfast was decent and the room itself wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanSamJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 August 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Many guests are very happy they stayed at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Expedia reservations must always be changed through Expedia. Room service is no available but the front desk staff is glad to provide towels when you come to the reception area. Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be a great place. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Best sausage on the trip!! Enjoyed the pool after a long hot day at Yosemite. Went to the historical Jail house that is next to the property. The Volunteer Tour Guide gave us such an interesting tour. Mariposa is a cute town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim38EdenPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 August 2013

Our guests are happy to stay with us and we are pleased to help you enjoy your visit. The pool and spa in our quiet hillside setting makes an evening swim just wonderful! Mariposa is a great place - come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,187 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £60 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing