We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The size of the room was adequate, although additional space or luggage racks would have been helpful. The bathroom more than met our needs. The furnishings were simple, but the room was clean. The hotel is within a nice walking distance of several restaurants. The breakfast selections offered many options, and the staff took ensured items were replenished quickly.

The hotel is located on a hill above a couple of blocks off the main street, which afforded a quiet night’s stay. Even though our room was steps from the pool, we could not hear the people enjoying it. We enjoyed it ourselves, which provided a great way to end the day after walking around Yosemite Valley.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay outside of Yosemite.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tdel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for recommending Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway for a comfortable place to stay just 45 minutes from Yosemite. Our rooms are clean and quiet, and yet close to downtown shops and restaurants. It’s easy to have fun and relax in the seasonal pool and spa in this quiet, country setting. Guests who stay here enjoy a good, hot breakfast and leave satisfied and ready for a great day in Yosemite National Park. Glad you did too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    175
    136
    49
    34
See reviews for
152
191
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Suited our needs for visiting Yosemite. Even though we were only 30 miles from the park entrance, due to the winding roads and mountains, took us an hour to drive each day. Hotel was ok, but can't expect a lot when you travel to smaller towns in the mountains. It was clean and suited our needs. Pricier than what we paid for other Comfort Inns elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. We are pleased to offer clean, quiet accommodations that suit the needs of Yosemite travelers. Located within the historic gold rush town of Mariposa, California, visitors enjoy real history and beautiful scenery too. Being 30 miles from Yosemite National Park, guests enjoy lower prices than hotels closer to Yosemite - a place of winding mountain roads. Next time you visit, enjoy using public transportation and or book a tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend we slept there for one night during our visit to Yosemite. The hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly. The room are quite small: we stayed in the non-smoking area and the place for opening our two baggages was very very tiny. The restroom was absolutely clean and there is a quite big shower. In the morning there is a good free breakfast where you can have more or less wathever you want to eat and drink. The hotel is in a very good location if you want to visit Yosemite in more days. Finally I highly recomment this hotel and I will stay again here in a future.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olallie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, just 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park. Guests often comment that the hotel is very nice, and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet is a great place to refuel for a day of play. Mariposa is a great place so come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have used this hotel before and would use again. Such a nice place to stay. Good location (close to everything in town). Nice facilities available. Good breakfast range. Why can't more Comfort Inn's be like this? If you need to stay outside Yosemite, this is a great option.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
You are some of our many guests who are very happy they stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, not only for our deluxe hot breakfast buffet and our large, clean rooms, but also because we're only 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park! Thank you so much for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family of 6 was headed to the campground we had reserved on the west side of the park when we were turned back because the area had been evacuated due to the rim fire. We were in a jam...5:00 in the evening at Yosemite with no reservations! I started frantically calling hotels to find "no vacancy" again and again. At last I tried the Comfort Inn in Mariposa and was thrilled to be able to book one of their last rooms. Patti, who answered the phone, was very helpful in getting things in place for us. Given the situation, I would have been happy with just about any place with a bed we could lay down on, but was delighted with these accommodations. We stayed in a suite with two bedrooms, two baths, living room with pull out, and full kitchen. The price was very reasonable and while the decor is nothing fancy or posh, that wasn't why we were there. All was neat and clean, which was the most important part. We had been prepared to camp, so had lots of food with us and were able to use the kitchen to store and prepare it. We had plenty of space for all of us and my kids enjoyed the pool and making their own waffles for breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and traveled both to Yosemite Valley, Glacier Point, and Mariposa Grove of Sequoias. Both are a bit of a drive (1-2 hours) but that is the case wherever you stay outside the park. If we came back to Yosemite, I would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eknier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
So glad you were delighted with your accommodations at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. The rooms are large, clean and quiet and suites are perfect for large families. The deluxe hot breakfast is just what is needed to start the day right. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful and our prices are reasonable. You are quite welcome to come back and stay with us again anytime you visit Yosemite National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My party of 5 made a reservation at another motel and it was a real dump and the comfort inn had an open reservation, thankfully and when we arrived at the comfort inn it was wonderful! The room was great!! It was a suite with 2 rooms and a big living room and kitchen! The pool was very nice and it was just an overall relaxing place, wish we would have booked there for out whole trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzmagicdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We specialize in wonderful, clean, comfortable rooms at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. So glad you enjoyed our quiet mountainside pool and spa and had a relaxing stay. Please do come and stay with us again. You are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room we stayed looked run down. The door of a wall cabinet had mismatched colors. My wife found hair in the bed sheets before we used them. None of the power outlets worked so we couldn't charge any of our mobile electronics. The air conditioner was so as loud as a shop vac. Neither me nor my wife get any decent sleep due to the loud AC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all information we receive from our guests and we take steps to insure problems are resolved. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. Housekeeping has been alerted and we are working to ensure every room is clean and fresh. The standard air conditioning units found in hotel rooms are not quiet, but they do cool the room down nicely and this is important with our warm summer California climate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
17.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing