We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Normally stay at Choice Hotel properties but made a mistake with this one. We had a two bedroom suite that is very dated. It's large and that is good but it needs to be remodeled drastically. It is convenient to Yosemite (about an hours drive). The breakfast was OK but not as good as other properties.

Room Tip: If you have alot of people in your party the two bedroom suite would fill your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnF023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for commenting on your stay with Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Our two bedroom suites are appreciated by larger parties. We are convenient to Yosemite and many of our guests are very happy with our deluxe hot breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, sausages, two kinds of waffles, pastries, muffins, 2 kinds of toast, 3 kinds of cereal, milk, yogurt, fruit and fruit juices, coffee and teas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We are Choice Hotel Gold Members with reservations at this hotel. We arrived early, around noon, and were told no rooms would be clean until 4pm. I explained that we had food we needed to get into the refrigerator in the room. The attendant replied there was nothing she could do. While standing at the desk, two other prospective renters without reservations arrived and inquired about rates. Right in front of me, they were quoted a rate $10. below what we were paying. I left to think of what we should do. I went back in asked if she could inquire with housekeeping if there would possibly be a room available earlier because (again) we had food to get into the refrigerator. This time she replied that they have a big refrigerator in the common room for renters, implying (at least to me) that this was a temporary measure until the room was ready. So we unloaded our cooler into the big refrigerator. I then mentioned something (again) about transferring our food into the room refrigerator. Only then did she tell me there were no refrigerators in the rooms! I've never been to a Choice Hotel without refrigerators in the room, so this was a complete surprise. Since we didn't want to hike to the common room every time we needed some food, I requested a cancellation. The attendant replied (with a rather smug smile) that it was too late to cancel. When I told her (she should have known) that we were Gold Members and that I wrote my reviews for Trip Advisor, she finally called the Manager, who had the good sense to cancel our reservation. We found a much better room (with refrigerator and full hot breakfast, beautiful furnishings and competent, friendly staff) at the Best Western just across the highway. Much better choice!

Room Tip: Remember - no refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SezLuckyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

So sorry you weren't able to have all the amenities you were expecting and you were inconvenienced. Glad you were able to find what you were looking for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Comfort Inn was quiet and comfortable. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, with self-service waffles.
Evenings, a small flock of wild turkeys were regular visitors to the motel grounds.
Good price for seniors and military.
Yosemite NP not far away.
Recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for recommending Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway! We are so close to Yosemite, front desk staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast is great, prices are good and we even have wild turkeys! Many guest are very happy they stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The size of the room was adequate, although additional space or luggage racks would have been helpful. The bathroom more than met our needs. The furnishings were simple, but the room was clean. The hotel is within a nice walking distance of several restaurants. The breakfast selections offered many options, and the staff took ensured items were replenished quickly.

The hotel is located on a hill above a couple of blocks off the main street, which afforded a quiet night’s stay. Even though our room was steps from the pool, we could not hear the people enjoying it. We enjoyed it ourselves, which provided a great way to end the day after walking around Yosemite Valley.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay outside of Yosemite.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank tdel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for recommending Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway for a comfortable place to stay just 45 minutes from Yosemite. Our rooms are clean and quiet, and yet close to downtown shops and restaurants. It’s easy to have fun and relax in the seasonal pool and spa in this quiet, country setting. Guests who stay here enjoy a good, hot breakfast and leave satisfied and ready for a great day in Yosemite National Park. Glad you did too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Suited our needs for visiting Yosemite. Even though we were only 30 miles from the park entrance, due to the winding roads and mountains, took us an hour to drive each day. Hotel was ok, but can't expect a lot when you travel to smaller towns in the mountains. It was clean and suited our needs. Pricier than what we paid for other Comfort Inns elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. We are pleased to offer clean, quiet accommodations that suit the needs of Yosemite travelers. Located within the historic gold rush town of Mariposa, California, visitors enjoy real history and beautiful scenery too. Being 30 miles from Yosemite National Park, guests enjoy lower prices than hotels closer to Yosemite - a place of winding mountain roads. Next time you visit, enjoy using public transportation and or book a tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend we slept there for one night during our visit to Yosemite. The hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly. The room are quite small: we stayed in the non-smoking area and the place for opening our two baggages was very very tiny. The restroom was absolutely clean and there is a quite big shower. In the morning there is a good free breakfast where you can have more or less wathever you want to eat and drink. The hotel is in a very good location if you want to visit Yosemite in more days. Finally I highly recomment this hotel and I will stay again here in a future.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olallie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, just 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park. Guests often comment that the hotel is very nice, and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet is a great place to refuel for a day of play. Mariposa is a great place so come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have used this hotel before and would use again. Such a nice place to stay. Good location (close to everything in town). Nice facilities available. Good breakfast range. Why can't more Comfort Inn's be like this? If you need to stay outside Yosemite, this is a great option.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank newman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

You are some of our many guests who are very happy they stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, not only for our deluxe hot breakfast buffet and our large, clean rooms, but also because we're only 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park! Thank you so much for your glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,188 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing