We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property with Potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Property with Potential”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Comfort Inn Yosemite is in as convenient a location to Yosemite as possible - without being in the Park and paying outrageous prices or sleeping in a NPS cabin or tent. Mariposa has retained some old west charm, and is more convenient to the main (west) park entrance than Oakwood (closer to the south entrance and giant redwoods).

While the employees were friendly and helpful, this property is in serious need of refurbishing. Furniture is scratched, worn and generally past its life expectancy. The bed was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was good, but after the 4th day with no variety, it was boring.

July in Mariposa is HOT, so the pool was a refreshing delight. It was probably the best feature of this hotel.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrynew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, Front Desk at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you listed things that were both good and bad. We use everything we come across and try to improve on our faults. We do try and keep up with refurbishing and maintenance with our property, but are at times a little behind. We'll continue to improve our property, so if you do decide to return to Yosemite, we'd be glad to change your opinion of our rooms.

Comfort Inn
209-966-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    183
    138
    52
    34
See reviews for
156
203
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Mariposa remains a cowboy town and the main street has preserved some of the charm of yesteryear. The young men at the frontdesk were alert and friendly. Our rooms were fine, although the interior would be judge to be somewhat old-fashion. The beds were comfortable with both firm and soft pillows, as I recall. The pool area and jacuzzi were excellent, just like the breakfast facility and buffet. The Comfort Inn is an excellent place to stay for excursions into Yosemite National Park, even though the road is steep and curvy.

Room Tip: It is easier to get into the pool area from the upper floor of rooms across from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldEgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, Front Desk at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our town and hotel. We're happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our small town. If you visit Yosemite again, Please keep us in mind, we enjoy seeing familiar faces.

Comfort Inn
209-966-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Normally I would have given this place 3 stars for being simply adequate, but the experience I had after I checked out was horrible! On the day before we checked out the housekeeper removed our dirty towels, but forgot to replace them with fresh towels. There was still a clean bath towel left over so my wife and I shared it because we aren't picky and were too tired from hiking all day to go down to the front desk. We could have complained at that point in time but it just wasn't a big deal. The big surprise came when I checked my credit card statement a week later and found a $50 charge for "missing towels"! The manager refused to refund the money after I filed a complaint.

If you want to stay at a hotel with a seedy, dishonest manager then this is the place for you! Otherwise you're likely better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review on our property. We're glad that you enjoy your visit to Yosemite. We are saddened by the impression you felt about our rooms condition. Each year we do try to renovate as many things as possible before the new season begins. At times there are things that are missed, or simply been used many times since the start of the season. But we'll use this information and continue to try an improve ourselves after each review.


Comfort inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed two nights at Mariposa and we spent a full day in Yosemite National Park which is around 45 to an hours drive from the motel. It is a comfortable and clean motel with reasonable good breakfast, though some amenties are a bit outdated. There are plenty of parking space. The free wifi is stable and strong. The only complaint is that the aircon was noisy which disturbed our sleep much. It is worth to mention that we like the small traditional American restaurant nearby (within walking distance). They had served us the best clam chowder which I had ever have during this trip. Their homemade strawberry muffins and pastries are yummy and at reasonble good price.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and prefer a room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llleung1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, Front Desk at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about our Hotel. We do apologize about your troubles with our A/C unit. We have made a note for our maintenance to look into it, so hopefully this won't happen to another guest. Thanks you again.

Comfort Inn
209-966-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very good location, not far from Yosemite.
CLEAN rooms, and the excellentcomfortable beds. Front desk staff helpful, good breakfast...... We enjoyed the pool as well, definitely recommended.
Plenty of parking, good wi-fi included in the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, Front Desk at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your comment on our Hotel. We glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware that our showers can seem low to some. And it is something we hope to fix in the future. If you visit Yosemite again, please do keep us in mind.

Comfort Inn
209-966-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We chose this hotel for a short-notice trip to Yosemite Valley. It worked out fine, but I would recommend staying closer to the park if possible. The staff was nice and the breakfast was decent. They offered a warm breakfast with eggs and sausage, which was a perk. The room was fine. My only complaints were the showers. The shower head was very low (and I'm a short person) and the pressure was low as well. The temperature was good (I like a hot shower), however, I was scalded a few times. I guess someone flushed the toilet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, Front Desk at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on our breakfast, we do tried to make sure every guest has something they can enjoy from our breakfast options. As for the showers, we are aware that they are lower than we and most others would like. And it is something we hope to correct in the near future. Again, Thank you for comment.

Comfort Inn Mariposa Gateway
209-966-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Am now back home in Western PA dreaming about my stay in this hotel. It was lovely and I wish i were back. The room was nice, TV good, Internet good, no Verizon service if it matters. The staff was GREAT! Breakfast good too. Waffles and sausages, eggs, toast, yogurt, fruit. Good coffee, available at night too. Lots of good shops and restaurants in walking distance. Check out the doughnut shop below. FANTASTIC!!!!! The hot tube and pool were. lovely, and after a day in Yosemite we were able to unwind there and visit with so many nice people and share the stories of our day. I will remember my stay here as a highlight of the vacation.

Room Tip: Lower floor good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal D, Front Desk at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you Sandi S. for your Positive Review. We are very happy when guests enjoy their stay with us. If you ever visit Yosemite again, Please keep us in mind.

Comfort Inn Yosemite Gateway
209-966-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,005 reviews
20.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
377 reviews
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing