We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
216 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Not the usual B&B”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Our 4 night stay at Highland House Inn the last week of May 2011 was great. The GPS led us right to the front door. Highland House Inn is unique in several ways. It is laid back and in the outskirts of Mariposa. The three guest rooms are upstairs and a delight. We stayed in the Spring Creek room. The room and bath were clean and had space for ‘our stuff’. The bed was comfy and had extra pillows.
Every morning breakfast was served at 8:30. Nora is super efficient and a very good cook. Fresh sliced fruit was available every morning along with the full breakfast that was different every day. We were served in the dining room and had the exceptional good fortune to have diversified and interesting people around the table. Mike’s mantra of “Make yourself at home’ was sincere.
The wild turkeys were a delight as were the throng of hummingbirds. The pool table went unused but we did gather at the TV to watch the NBA playoffs. The surrounding grounds are like a postcard.
We’re not B&B people but we’d do this again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
131
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I had only one night to stay in the Yosemite area. How fabulous that Tripadvisor led us to our stay at the Highland House B&B. It is very close to Mariposa and fairly convenient to Yosemite National Park. Our Morning Dove room was so cute and clean. The owner made a point to make us feel at home, even offering for us to wash clothes if we needed to. We did take him up on the brownies and cookies.
It just couldn't have been a nicer experience.

Room Tip: The Forest Room is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHRHDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We very much enjoyed our 3-night stay in the Forest Retreat room. The bed was very comfy and after long days of hiking & sightseeing, a soak in the tub was wonderful. We enjoyed this B&B's off-the-beaten-path location. It was quiet and peaceful, which is what we were looking for! Breakfast was very good each morning -- my husband still talks about the organic, whole wheat pancakes. And while breakfast with strangers isn't typically our preference, we enjoyed meeting the other travelers from around the world. Being in a more rural region, there are fewer options for dinners/meals, so it is necessary to plan a bit -- but this applies regardless of where you stay. It also helps to understand drive times to your destinations and plan realistic days. By reading reviews, we realized we were trying to fit too much into our schedule & planned an extra day. This region of California is beautiful and if we ever make it back, we will definitely look up the Highland House Inn!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtmissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights and I have to say it was such a unique and wonderful experience:) The house is so beautyful and cusy and it has all the facilities that you will need. Nora treated us like member of the family and made us feel at home..Fresh and delicious breakfast every morning, clean and comfirtable room (we stayed at "morning dove" room)!
Cant wait to come back again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LironKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

"Home away from home" is a cliche used too often - in this case, it is true. I'm not a big B&B person, but this one just blew me away. I'm a vegetarian and they went out of their way to accomodate me - and the food was just awesome. In fact, I might go back just for the food :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Traveled through US last July and we booked two nights at Mikes little hideaway.
This just turned out to be so much more than just a place to stay, and the only regret we
have, was that we only booked 2 nights. We were so overwhelmed with the hospitality and service we had here, that we would actually consider flying from Denmark, just to spend a week at this fantastic B&B. Thanks Mike, Lizzie (and little Haley) for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goudron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We decided to stay at this B&B for a family wedding at Yosemite solely based on the price & reviews. My companion & I don't like B&B's for a variety of reasons, but we still need to give a 5 star rating for this place - staff were EXTREMELY nice AND easy going, they were respectful & not intrusive, place was easy to find nestled in a forest, it was quiet & peaceful, the food & rooms were great, the house was huge & seemed to have everything you could need, etc. They are making a trail to hike on the property. We did not mind the drive to Yosemite - HINT: take the Tunnel View entrance the 1st day & the South entrance the 2nd day if it's the 1st time seeing Yosemite. I can't think of any negatives (& I'm way picky). It's the only B&B we would recommend based on the quality of the home & staff. There was no annoying cancellation policy or tons of rules - it was so simple - tell them the dates you want & just show up!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbiedoesUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
23.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
10.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
7.1 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3125 Wild Dove Ln, (outside of Yosemite National Park), Mariposa, CA 95338-9037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover beauty and seclusion in the High Sierra of Mariposa County just minutes from Yosemite National Park and other local highlights. Select one of three luxurious guest rooms for a good night's rest. Enjoy a game of pool or watch a movie from our video collection. When you awake you'll enjoy a bountiful and unforgettable breakfast before setting off for your day of relaxation or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Highland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing