We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Highland house inn was a comfy and great escape on our way back from Yosemite. Situated about 1.5 hours outside the park we arrived here in the evening. It is a lovely big house at the end of a very secluded and quiet street about 15 minutes drive from Mariposa. We got dinner in the town before heading up - I am not sure they cook or provide dinner at the house. lizzie cooked us a great breakfast in the morning. We had a great nights sleep and relaxed in the living room watching the humming birds outside in the evening. I would recommend this to anyone and rate it very highly as a b and b.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
133
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We only stayed one night at this amazing B&B as we explored Yosemite, but wish we could have stayed longer. It is a beautiful and quiet property a short drive from the park and we found that it was a great value for the area. Michael made us feel immediately at home with a tour of the property and were given free reign of the well stocked kitchen and pantry which was awesome after a long day of exploring! We loved the Spring Creek Room which was clean and comfortable with everything we needed for a great night's sleep. We were up and out early in the morning to maximize our day, which was way before the set breakfast time, but were told to help ourselves to anything and everything we could find (he'd even left out a selection of bagels and to go coffee cups) and told us to pack a lunch to take to the park with us as well! We couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at this lovely property- oh and the hummingbirds were very entertaining just outside the living room windows. We could have watched them for hours!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at highland house ,forest retreat room , for three nights and it was the highlight of our trip.Made to feel really welcome by Mike and his team of helpers. Was just told to make ourselves at home and feel free to use anything in the kitchen and fridge. A laundry was also free to use as well as internet. We did find we needed a satnav to find the property but thats what we came for.. the peace and quiet of the area. We enjoyed mixing with the wildlife and speaking to the other guests about our experiences at yosemite. Dont try to do this park in less than three days ,you will miss something . Our room was really comfortable with a window seat to relax and watch the deer and wild turkeys and whatever else decided to use the gardens.Thank you mike for making our trip so special and if we did come back to the area we would stay here again.

Room Tip: if you want space ask for forest retreat room. Nice outlook huge bed and an enormous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 370brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Highland House for 3 nights in July 2013 while visiting Yosemite. The B&B itself is about a 40-minute (in light traffic) drive from Yosemite, and Mariposa is conveniently located about an equal distance from two different park gates. This gives you the option of heading for the valley floor or for the mountains directly. Highland House is actually quite far from the town of Mariposa (about 20 minutes’ drive) and is very difficult to find. I would recommend brining the phone number, address and a printed map with you when trying to find it the first time. The Highland House is incredibly comfortable with large rooms (we stayed in the Forest Retreat room which was incredibly spacious with a very nice bathroom), quiet surroundings and a friendly proprietor and staff. While staying, you are given unfettered access to the house and the owner, Mike, is friendly and well informed about Yosemite and the surrounding areas.

The breakfast included in the room rate was fantastic and is prepared fresh every day and served family style (there are only a few rooms!). Further, the kitchen is stocked with drinks and snacks which guests are encouraged to use at any time. There were numerous other thoughtful accouterments provided at the hotel; a testament to careful and solicitous management.

However, it can be somewhat cumbersome having to make the trip to and from Mariposa for dinner or if you need something from the shop. As a result of this, I would probably not recommend this hotel for families. If you’re looking for a restful and quiet place to relax after a long day of hiking in Yosemite (and you don’t want to or can’t find a campground in Yosemite itself) this is an excellent option.

Room Tip: We only stayed in one of the 3 rooms, but it was very comfortable and we didn't hear any complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youregoingwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Highland House for 2 nights but we wish we had stayed longer! We arrived on the evening to a warm welcome from Mike. He showed us around the beautiful house and said we were to use any of the facilities and help ourselves to anything in the fridge!

Our room was lovely - very clean with a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom.

Breakfast is a treat - served up by the lovely Lizzie. It set us up for the day in the park. It's was nice to chat to the other guest around the breakfast table and swap ideas about which parts of the park to visit.

We didn't mind the drive into Yosemite (about an hour) - the Highland House is definitely worth it.

We hope to return to Yosemite sometime in the future and Highland House will be our fist option for accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at Highland House for 4 days while we visited Yosemite and area. We were in the Spring Creek room. The house and grounds are lovely. They have 3 bedrooms for rent and the owner is on the premises for part of the week and a caretaker the rest of the time.
This property is way off the highway - it took us about an hour to get to the Park entrance. I think if you are going into the park for several days, you might get tired of the long drive.
The house is nicely furnished, each bedroom with its own bath and TV. No cell phone service but the house has a phone you can use and a computer also. The owner, Mike told us to help ourselves to anything in the cupboards and refrigerator. He told us we were welcome to make our dinner there if we wanted. Mariposa is about 22 minutes away for restaurants.
An ample, yummy breakfast is served at 8:30 each day which might be a bit late for some wanting to get an early start to Yosemite. Two different cooks, depending on the day, were very friendly.
While we were there, we enjoyed watching and photographing the wildlife in the yard. There were several hummingbird feeders visited by 3 different kinds of hummers. We also saw wild turkey everyday, deer and some lizards. Mosquitos, too.
Mike said about 50% of his guests came from outside the US. While we were there we enjoyed talking with 2 couples from Spain and a couple from Germany.
Highland House B&B was very nice and we would recommend it if you dont mind the long drive to the park. It would be best to arrive the first time in the daylight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poodletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked here for 3 nights for recent visit to Yosemite. Managed to stay a 4th night as well. I haven't usually stayed at many B&Bs. We had the larger forest room with extra sitting area and fireplace, although we didn't need this at this time of the year! Mike, the owner, is very welcoming and is happy for you to use kitchen as well as anything in fridge or pantry. After 3 weeks of holidays we were really happy to make use of kitchen and cook up some home cooked meals as a change from restaurants or take-aways. There are 3 different living areas inside the house and plenty of books to read, games and pool table - not that we had time for any of that! We shared the house with 2 other couples and Mike each night and enjoyed chatting to all over breakfast each morning. Lizzie cooked a great breakfast as well as other delights, such as cakes and brownie slice. Location is about an hour to Yosemite, however that suited us. We went to the valley floor/village one day, glacier point on another and Wawona and mariposa grove on the 3rd day, so no matter where you stay in Yosemite all these places are about an hours drive. Mariposa town is about 10 miles away if you want supplies or dining out. Would strongly recommend staying here ,especially if you don't mind driving and want to visit different locations of the park or simply want to relax! Great value and I hope we get to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfish623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
8.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,051 reviews
23.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
20.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
421 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
10.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3125 Wild Dove Ln, (outside of Yosemite National Park), Mariposa, CA 95338-9037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover beauty and seclusion in the High Sierra of Mariposa County just minutes from Yosemite National Park and other local highlights. Select one of three luxurious guest rooms for a good night's rest. Enjoy a game of pool or watch a movie from our video collection. When you awake you'll enjoy a bountiful and unforgettable breakfast before setting off for your day of relaxation or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing