We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found The Pot Of Gold At The End Of The Rainbow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Found The Pot Of Gold At The End Of The Rainbow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

With the spring break begins, our adventure continues on with several hours drive from San Francisco to Mariposa, as we arrived in the early afternoon from a far there stood quaintly the Highland House B & B Inn, right smacked in the middle of the woods with the host, Mike & manager/chef, Lizzie welcomed us upon our arrival.

Regretfully we had only booked a night with them, in the Morning Dove room, the queen size bed with hand sewn quilted blanket & pillows greeted us warmly as we open the door to our spotless room, at the far end sat a rocking chair, a chest of drawers, a small goggle-box & a large bathroom attached to the room.

With only 3 rooms available in the whole entire house which makes you feel right at home. There were assorted board games to play, DVDs, videos to watch, even a library if you’re into reading, a pool table or perhaps help yourself with assorted soda, cookie, fresh fruits or any hot beverages. There’s also a laundry room to do your washing & even a computer to check on your emails or browse through the Internet.

Sleeping through the night with much peace & tranquility till morning breaks; you would wish you could sleep in a little longer. Gradually with Lizzie’s wonderfully preparation of breakfast will lure you downstairs with the whiff of freshly brewed coffee, the aroma of fluffy pancakes & eggs of your choice, these were only some of the things mentioned. While you’re enjoying your breakfast & a good conversation with other guests don’t be distracted by greeting of the humming birds just outside the window pane or perhaps a family of wild deer gracing near the garden area & maybe be startled by the gobbling of some wild turkeys.

Understand from Lizzie, Mike only stays in the B & B during the weekends, we were very lucky to have had a good chat with him & found out that he had made a short documentary about the Health & Diets of the Hmongs people for Fresno Health Dept. which we’d enjoyed watching even though it wasn’t in English.

Too much is said, you have to come & experience it for yourself to know why all his previous guests sang phases about this wonderful place nestled in the middle of woods; it is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

Mike & Lizzie thank you so much for everything, you betcha we’ll be back to impost on your hospitality.

Kath & Paul - Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tell_me_all_about_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
129
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stamford, CT
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Everything about our visit ,with friends, was perfect! We were all amazed by the friendly and comfortable house. Our host was exceedingly gracious and even allowed us total access to the kitchen, where we were able to cook our own dinner!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

My Family and I arrived at Highland house after driving from the bay area in a storm that was the tail end of a typhoon where Mariposa recieved 5 inches of rain in one day, So finally pulling up to this oasis which backs onto National forest and appears through the trees after a drive up a dirt driveway was like a picture out of a story book.

Our room was huge with a four poster kingsize bed that was soooo comfortable, their was a rollerway for our son which was positioned in a window alcove and still there was room for a couple of chairs and table next to a fireplace. The bathroom was also really large, well equipted and like the room had central heating. Oh, did I mention the room was spotless!!!

As previous people have said guests have the run of the house so you really feel like you are in your own house. You can grab a coffee or tea whenever you want and help yourself to a piece of cake or cookie which has been kindly left undercover on the kitchen bench. Maybe a game of pool, a DVD or video or grab a book from the extensive library, whatever takes your fancy.

You cannot help but sleep like the dead with hardly a sound to be heard and when you finally surface the next morning you leave your room to be greeted with the wonderful aroma of breakfast being prepared by either Nora or Lizzy. These girls are just the most wonderful people you could ever meet. My son was especially fond of Lizzy who has the patience of a god, especially when teaching my son to play pool.

Nature comes to you at Highland House as we were visted by deer, squirrels and the ever present humming birds while we sat and enjoyed the breakfast feast that had been prepared.

I could go on forever but there is no need to say anything more than...................................
You must stay here!! You will not be dissapointed.

Highland house would be in the top three B & B's that we have ever stayed in and we have probably stayed in about 80 bed and breakfast's to date.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilythreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed at Highland House (HH) for 5 nights in mid-October 2009, after an exhaustive and ultimately frustrating online search of Yosemite region accommodation options. At first blush, our search criteria seemed reasonable - reasonable proximity to the National Park's main gate; to the Park's southern entrance and Mariposa Grove of giant sequoia; and reasonable price and level of comfort - but only HH appeared to meet all of these.

After 5 nights, we felt vindicated in our choice. HH is truly one of the most hospitable places we have ever stayed, and we are frequent travellers. Yes, the furnishings are a little faded in places, and the bathroom isn't the sort of marble extravaganza you might expect from the Four Seasons - this is the high country, after all - but the welcome from Mike, Nora and Lizzy is warm and genuine.

Guests are invited to feel (and by the end of their stays do feel) at home. The kitchen, lounges and games areas are at guests' disposal, with the kitchen being a particular asset for the culinary-minded, given the relatively bleak dining options in the Yosemite region (steak or chicken, anyone?).

With spotlessly clean guest rooms, resident hummingbirds, freshly cooked breakfasts and homemade Halloween-themed cookies for late night eating (during our stay) completing the HH package, discontinue your search now. For all its quirks, HH is the Yosemite accommodation option par excellence.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

A really excellent place to stay, very welcoming and quiet and peaceful. The house is lovely. Only downside is that it's a bit of a trek to Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Lost in the forest, the Highland House Inn is a nice bed and breakfast. Mike welcomes you in a way that you feel directly at home. We took the 2 small rooms, slightly tired but clean. Wonderful hot breakfast: eggs, sausages, pancakes, fresh fruits, sausages, ... A nice pool board makes our son happy. Deers, hummingbirds, wild turkeys, ... in the garden.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We loved this place - the house looks like a fairytale, nestled in the pine trees, and we were made to feel very welcome without feeling hassled or intruded upon. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom. We were told to make ourselves at home and use anything we wanted in the kitched - there were fresh cakes, jars of sweets, pretzels and nuts and tea and coffee. On one evening we were alone at the b&b (even the owners were away!) and we made ourselves at home, cooking our evening meal. The pool table, choice of dvds and internet access all helped to make it very homely. It was a longer drive than we expected to Yosemite but the surrounding area was beautiful and Mariposa was a well equipped and pretty town, so no hardship. Would love to return!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
23.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
10.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
7.1 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3125 Wild Dove Ln, (outside of Yosemite National Park), Mariposa, CA 95338-9037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover beauty and seclusion in the High Sierra of Mariposa County just minutes from Yosemite National Park and other local highlights. Select one of three luxurious guest rooms for a good night's rest. Enjoy a game of pool or watch a movie from our video collection. When you awake you'll enjoy a bountiful and unforgettable breakfast before setting off for your day of relaxation or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing