We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bakery”
Review of Jantz Bakery - CLOSED

Jantz Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Description: The perfect little shop to stop for pastries and boxed lunches on the way to Yosemite!
Restaurant details
Description: The perfect little shop to stop for pastries and boxed lunches on the way to Yosemite!
Castaic, California
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great little bakery”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stopped at this little bakery to get a snack for the road. Right off the main highway, the parking was very easy. They have a very nice selection of pies and treats. There is no seating inside, but there are some tables and chairs outside. The service is quick and the servers are nice. Many people seem to order to take out since they also make some main dishes. I had a lemon bar and my wife a pumpkin bar. Both were really good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harriman, TN
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the bakery items are to die for!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Made fresh and by hand each day, biscuits, crepes, pies, cakes, etc. The smell alone will make you gain 10 pounds but sooooooo worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“nice little bakery”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It was my birthday and I wanted to get a nice little treat. They had a selection of pies, cakes, cupcakes and fruit tarts. It was a little pricey but it tasted great. You get a generous portion of pie or cake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposa, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweeeeet and satisfying”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Jantz Bakery has the best bread and will make a picnic lunch for trips to Yosemite because they open at 7:30am. My favorite bread is the marbled rye. My favorite baked goods are the chocolate brownies, and the monster cookies made of oatmeal, peanut butter with M&Ms. They have biscuits and gravy too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YosemiteTravelTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrific pastries/muffins to go! Nice folks!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great place to take out baked goods! Muffins and turnovers were particularly good! Pecan rolls were also tops!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SAYHEYKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jantz Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing