We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1850

1850
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
bonaire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were happy to find this place. It just opened a year ago and the atmosphere is great. We had the 50/50 burger with goatcheese/basil/dry tomatoes on top and garlic fries on the side. And this was one of the best burgers I had ever had! Also the rest of the menu is a bit more special then what other restaurants in town offer. Prices are very reasonable: 2 burgers (big) with fries, 2 beers and 2 wines = 65$. Enjoy your dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake W, Owner at 1850, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Auwe,

Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate the feedback!

The 50/50 burger is one of my favorites also!

Hope to see you again at 1850.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    111
    31
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An exceptional surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This restaurant, while slightly spartan in decor, has some exceptional fare. No cocktails, but a good size beer and wine menu with any varieties you won't see anywhere else. Very nice menu. Be sure to try the shrimp cocktail appetizer and don't expect a shrimp cocktail like you've ever had anywhere else! Served warm with amazing favors. The night we were there they had some interesting specials. I tried the barbecued pork belly and loved it. As part of the regular menu, which I've never seen before, is wild boar pasta. Really good. Saturday night they have prime rib on the menu and the cut could have been a bit better. Be sure to give this place a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A 4.5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

If you like food that represents the cooks imagination, this is a good choice. Variety of foods to chose from and the barbaque was just right. A good choice in a small town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“2nd visit to 1850 - Loved it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is an incredibly good restaurant with a menu that is several cuts above your average restaurant. It has a fine selection of foods and home-made desserts. The host and servers were all wonderful, and answered every request. They were knowledgeable about the menu and helpful in making suggestions. The food was well-prepared, tasty, and nice presentation to each dish. I had salmon and my partner had tri-tip. The portion size for the tri-tip was very large, and a complete dinner is very reasonable. A nice surprise was that they served hot corn bread with honey butter on arrival.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wlntcrkca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midpines, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Slow service, rude waitress, food unacceptable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This was the fourth time we dined at 1850. The first time was just after they opened, it was very good then. Unfortunately it has gone downhill with each additional visit, with the last time uanaceptable. We were seated promptly but waited and waited for service, when we finally were acknowledged the waitress left the feeling we were an inconvenience. I ordered the Cornish game hen and was served not a game hen but ½ of a game with very little meat, when I mentioned it the waitress acted like I was a pain, but was charged full price for less food than an appetizer.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake W, Owner at 1850, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Chuck F,

I would like to sincerely apologize for your poor experience at 1850. Customer service is very important to us, and we would never want any of our guests to feel like an inconvenience.

The serving size (that normally was half of a game hen) was plentiful when we first put it on the menu, weighing in at approximately 10 ounces. Since reading your review, and experiencing a few more issues with this dish, we have chosen to remove the Cornish Game Hen entirely from our menu.

We strive to make sure each guest leaves our establishment satisfied, unfortunately I realize that this did not happen on your last visit. I hope that you decide to give us another chance, and come back in again for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing