We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best steak and best service”

Charles Street Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best steak and best service”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The whole eating experience in this restaurant is brilliant. From the welcome by the host, to the waitress who takes the order and the waitress who bring the drinks. Efficient service but we did not feel hurried or harassed. The clam chowder was superb and the steak so tasty. Loved the chilled glasses. We went to Savory's the following night and we were very disappointed, we should have gone back here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    217
    45
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
“Awesome steakhouse”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Charles Street is a very nice, quaint, and charming place with a very romatic setting. It was a Saturday night and we arrived at 7pm (right before the rush of dinner guests arriving) and were seated within 15min.
We had a wonderful meal of calamari, break, full rack of ribs (huge portion), and hanger steak. Steak was tender and came with steamed veggies. My husband loved the rice pilaf that came with the ribs!
The meal comes with a soup or salad - both excellent! Our 7yr. had the children's meal - sliders. She loved it because it comes with drink, dish, and ice cream!
It became very busy and hectic with the rush of guests ALL arriving shortly after we were seated, but the staff remained calm and the pace at which our food came out was great - it kept coming :)

I would totally come back here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raspmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I think it is as good as the #1 Savory”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Smaller place with top notch service and food. We ate at both the Savory and here. I would say they are tied for#1.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for vegetarians and meat-lovers alike”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very warm and personal welcome, the staff was delightful, the place very cosy, the food came quickly and was delicious. The portobello ravioli dish was especially good, and my boyfriend loved the steak. A great place for vegetarians as all dishes can be made vegetarian. Loved it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elenatje_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice suprise - must stop before heading to Yosemite Park”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great place to stop before heading to Yosemite Park! We wanted to go some where else but it was full. We decided to stop and try this restaurant. They service was excellent. The people cared for their customers. Food was fabulous You cannot go wrong!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vikkimc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charles Street Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Charles Street Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing