We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the way to Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
South San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“on the way to Yosemite”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Nice, but if your a light sleeper, you might ask for a room in the back, due to highway noise. Just used it for somewhere to sleep for the night and for a shower. Ate in town, so I didn't try the breakfast that was offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    401
    238
    63
    41
See reviews for
322
396
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Good location to stop on the way to Yosemite. very convenient to get there during the day and if there's still sunlight to drive to Mariposa Grove, and then in the next morning head into Yosemite National Park.
We had no complaints about the hotel, it was nice, quiet, nice rooms, good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, OH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was a great little hotel very conveniently located in relation to Yosemite. The rooms were VERY nice and didn't look like your typical exterior-corridor rooms at all. The little town of Mariposa is cute and had plenty of restaurants and little shops. If I had one complaint, it would be about the breakfast offerings. The breakfast room was nice and large and well-attended. I just didn't understand why they had cream cheese, but no bagels. Also, either offer packs of oatmeal with stuff (raisins, nuts, etc.) already in them, or offer at least brown sugar and raisins for packs of plain oatmeal. Everything else was great, though. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amishamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose this hotel because we wanted to tour Yosemite and we traveled with our small dogs. The room was nice. We were on the second floor on the end facing the pool. There was a light outside that was quite bright and the curtains were not adequate to block that light. Fortunately for us ... we travel with eye sleep shades. Although the hotel is dog friendly they do not have a designated pet area but, the hotel is adjacent to a walking path that leads into the quaint town. This path is not lit at night ... but was quite nice during the day. Because we were tired and just wanted to have a quick meal ... we made the mistake of eating food from the Chinese/Thai restaurant across the street from the hotel. The included breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw appeared to be OK ... no real difference between the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife had to do some work in Mariposa and we stayed @ the Best Western. The rooms were nice sized and very confortable. My only complaint was not enough outlets for using computers as we travel w/ 2 computers and work on out trips a lot.
The breakfast was very adequate and what we normally get @ most Best Western's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmygolfforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Mariposa is a cute mountain town in Central California. The Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station is a nice base camp for exploring the foothills and Yosemite National Park. The drive coming from north is a little winding but beautiful in the spring with many wildflowers blooming. If you want a sleepy little town this is it. Bring the camera the scenery is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dapost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Not "high class" by any standards but a good, affordable motel for a family to stay at for time at Yosemite. Located in the quaint town of Mariposa, right off Highway 140 on the way to the west entrance to Yosemite National Park, it was an easy 45 min drive to the park. Motel staff very helpful, very friendly, very knowledgable about Yosemite. Great tip from Donna at front desk to stop at Pioneer Market in Mariposa on way into Yosemite to get fresh deli sandwiches for picnic lunch in park! Motel had clean, updated, large rooms. Good free wifi. Free Breakfast in huge room adjacent to motel, plenty of room and variety. Would stay there again if traveling to Yosemite.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
13.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel

Property: Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Address: 4999 State Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing