We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I loved this place! We paid $139 + $15.29 room tax. It was really close to Yosemite National Park, like maybe 20-30 minutes to the entrance. Mariposa is the CUTEST little town. It looks like an old western town. Adorable, quaint shops. I hated leaving this hotel, I was actually sad. The staff was very nice. The pool was tiny but I'm happy that it was outside!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-JoyAyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

In 10 years of motorcycling in the USWest and staying most of those trips at Best Westerns, this hotel is the FIRST one that practiced deceptive business practices at check-in, and lied when we identified - and asked for correction of - the error.

We took 7 rooms on a Thursday night at a negotiated group rate. No problem there. Management convinced us to stay an additional night with the proviso that we could keep our same rooms and at the same rate. At no time did the hotel advise us that the 2nd night rate would increase, let alone by $39/Room. Upon checkout, when we noted the error we were told that no one at the hotel could adjust the mistake, however such a correction would occur the following week.

After 3 weeks of trying to get 4 different hotel employees ( none of which were the manager) to correct the overcharge, this never happened. When I engaged customer service at BW corporate, the hotel's GM belatedly replied to corporate with a misrepresentation of the facts and a denial of the request for an adjustment. This GM earned over $1800 of our business and felt the need to screw us out of an additional $280. He trashed his reputation with us and with BW corporate for 15%.

My group consists of well-compensated IT and Engineering Company execs. The amount of money that was taken from us is really not the issue. This review and warning to other travelers is being written to call out a fraud. No hotel stay is worth having to deal with dishonesty by the hotel staff. Be forewarned.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

They are not charging you for the breakfast, However the breakfast is really not the type of continental full breakfast that you can finds at Embassy Suits. Rooms are not very clean, and the internet access is terrible. Think about twice before making any reservation at Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for a few nights, whilst visiting Yosemite Park.
The Motel is conveniently located in Mariposa, just towards the outskirts of the town.
Reception were very friendly, giving detail and information about the local area, as well as being very efficient at checking in.
The room was very spacious, with sofa, chairs, separate area with basin and wardrobes off the main room, and then the bathroom.
There were too many towels given every day! Lol
Breakfast is served in a separate building, next to the small pool, which is self service. It is a canteen style approach, where everything is laid out and you just help yourself.
This works well and did when we were there, as it was extremely busy with a school party also staying. It was mainly dispo plates / cutlery etc, but that was fine. The food was replenished quickly and the team working in the breakfast room very friendly!
Mariposa itself is a great place to look around, lovely to walk up and down the main street and off-shoots, with lots of quirky things to see.
Check-out was quick and without fuss.
All in all, great place to stay!

Room Tip: The room above reception is spacious!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Normally, I do not write reviews of hotels, restaurants, and other services that I use, but this was a very nice place to stay. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The room was large and the beds comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous. One down side was that the computer in the lobby was still using the Microsoft XP operating system. I also couldn't access my email account on it to retrieve my flight information. "Active x" needed to be activated and the hotel staff did not know how to do that. Overall, it was a great place to stay and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This Best Western in Mariposa sponsors the AVA Start Point box for the Yosemite NP walks. It is on your way to the park if you are coming up from the south and can also be reached from the SF Bay area. Good location just inside Mariposa downtown with easy walking to a choice of restaurants. Friendly staff, quiet and clean. Walk box is on the lobby. Most YNP walkers just stop in for the box, says the manager. They were glad we stayed the night there. AVA folks - thank them for hosting!

Room Tip: Stay on the backside, 2d floor, which is at parking lot level on that side so you can park right out...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnmc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Mid point stop between Yosemite Park, 49er Gold Towns, Sierra Mountains, and great scenery. Quiet hotel within walking distance to downtown, shops and restaurants. Very nice and courteous staff and very helpful finding directions, restaurants and shops. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds and everything in great working order.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Yoshiharu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.7 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
611 reviews
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
498 reviews
20.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel

Address: 4999 State Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £105 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing