We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yosemite Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Myersville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yosemite Vacation”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great place to stay when visiting Yosemite. Breakfast was good and easy way to start the day. Nice pool to begin or end your day. Fitness Room was a plus. Walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Very family friendly town. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    415
    246
    66
    44
See reviews for
345
409
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It is about 45' to Yosemite entrance and one hour to Yosemite Valley. Not bad if you can't or do not want to stay inside the park. Mariposa is a very small town but offers few restaurants which are close to this hotel.
The hotel is old and looks it inside and out. The room was dusty and smelled sort of moldy. The air conditioning does not have a thermostat so it is on or off, so you will be the thermostat. It is also very noisy.
Breakfast was okay.
For the price that was charged to us $170.00 plus tax per night, we expected something more, not much, just better cleanness, a thermostat and a more comfortable bed. We stayed in other Best Western motels in Fresno, Carmel, San Diego, etc. and never had a mediocre experience. The fact that this motel is near a major tourist attraction, should not be an excuse.

Room Tip: Room 201, above the office is somewhat sheltered from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabioc795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Oldsmar, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is comfortable, good location near 2 of the entrances to Yosemite Park. Good Breakfast. The rooms is clean, good size with extra amenities like a fridge and microwave. Good service. The hotel is located in Mariposa a little and nice city with restaurants. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cariosservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentleyville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When I booked this hotel, I wanted a reasonable rate at a location near Yosemite. I was looking for a small town feel with restaurants, a church, etc.. Hubster wanted eggs on the breakfast buffet. We got exactly what we expected. I can't give this locale five stars because the internet was horrible. We don't typically use WiFi much on vacation, but, because there was no cell phone tower to support our plan, we needed to Skype with family back home. The poor WiFi turned it into a comedy of errors. Family was never sure if we were checking in after a long day hiking or calling from the belly of bear who'd eaten us. Honestly, they could have hung up the phone and just opened the window and heard us yelling "We're back and fine! Great day!"

The positives - our check-in experience was smooth and easy. We did a special through Olotels and there were no problems or hiccups.The egg patties at the breakfast met hubster's needs and he was happier than happy. Staff were friendly and warm and gave us lots of great advice re hikes, weather, restaurants, etc. We went to church across the street and strolled through Mariposa most evenings. If you plan to spend a lot of time in Yosemite Valley, this is your locale. The drive in is stunning. If you'd prefer to access Yosemite through the South entrance and go to Glacier Point, Oakhurst would be preferable. (We went in that way two days of our trip.)

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor overlooking the Main St. Also, there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFPwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I loved this place! We paid $139 + $15.29 room tax. It was really close to Yosemite National Park, like maybe 20-30 minutes to the entrance. Mariposa is the CUTEST little town. It looks like an old western town. Adorable, quaint shops. I hated leaving this hotel, I was actually sad. The staff was very nice. The pool was tiny but I'm happy that it was outside!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-JoyAyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

In 10 years of motorcycling in the USWest and staying most of those trips at Best Westerns, this hotel is the FIRST one that practiced deceptive business practices at check-in, and lied when we identified - and asked for correction of - the error.

We took 7 rooms on a Thursday night at a negotiated group rate. No problem there. Management convinced us to stay an additional night with the proviso that we could keep our same rooms and at the same rate. At no time did the hotel advise us that the 2nd night rate would increase, let alone by $39/Room. Upon checkout, when we noted the error we were told that no one at the hotel could adjust the mistake, however such a correction would occur the following week.

After 3 weeks of trying to get 4 different hotel employees ( none of which were the manager) to correct the overcharge, this never happened. When I engaged customer service at BW corporate, the hotel's GM belatedly replied to corporate with a misrepresentation of the facts and a denial of the request for an adjustment. This GM earned over $1800 of our business and felt the need to screw us out of an additional $280. He trashed his reputation with us and with BW corporate for 15%.

My group consists of well-compensated IT and Engineering Company execs. The amount of money that was taken from us is really not the issue. This review and warning to other travelers is being written to call out a fraud. No hotel stay is worth having to deal with dishonesty by the hotel staff. Be forewarned.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

They are not charging you for the breakfast, However the breakfast is really not the type of continental full breakfast that you can finds at Embassy Suits. Rooms are not very clean, and the internet access is terrible. Think about twice before making any reservation at Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
20.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel

Property: Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Address: 4999 State Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing