We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was extremely friendly and smiling. This hotel looks really good from the outside, and even better inside ! The rooms are fancy, the beds are comfy as a cloud, the bathroom was modern and clean, there was a huge flat screen TV and the area was rather quiet. Moreover, the breakfast was delicious, and the breakfast attendant kept running around in order for everyone to have everything they wanted. I loved it !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    381
    226
    61
    34
See reviews for
303
371
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here coming from Monterey to visit Yosemite. I was pleasantly surprised how nice and clean the room was. It's about an hour away to the Yosemite Valley where we spent 2 days visiting. The drive is a lot of curves so you need to be careful. The town where the hotel is located is very small with some nice restaurants, souvenirs but not much else. If I were to do again I would try to stay within Yosemite to avoid the hour drive which I didn't look forward to after being tired from long hikes. But overall a nice stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed there in our way to Yosemite. This hotel is conveniently located in Rte. 140, which takes you to the southwest entrance to Yosemite Valley. The hotel is about an hour drive to the valley which, considering the distance is pretty close. The hotel seems to be in very good shape. the staff was very friendly and helpful.... and the complimentary breakfast was awesome. no complaints here. I would definitely recommend for staying there a day or two.

Room Tip: Make reservations a few weeks in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Great Western is probably one of the nicer hotel in Mariposa and the rooms, beds and breakfast were all great quality considering the hotel. The A/C works amazingly well in the rooms too. The reception staff let us check in early and put us on the ground floor for easy access, great thinking on their part given we had young kids. They were very polite and courteous to the girls. Their internet was not working properly for a large part of our stay but they did get someone to fix it. The family enjoyed their stay here. We would stay here again if Mariposa was the destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Manish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were looking for a good value outside of Yosemite since staying inside the park is so expensive. Mariposa is about 30 miles from the park. The town has lots of good restaurants and shops. The property was an oustanding value for the price. It is a short walk to everything in town. The couple working the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was large, modern, nicely decorated and equipt with everything you need for your stay. Wireless reception was very good. There is a complimentary breakfast eith a nice assortment of hot and cold food. The outdoor pool was clean and the property was in great shape. I highly recommend this property. After a 6 hour flight and a 3 hour drive, we were not dissapointed and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the property (upper level) are very quiet. Note there is no elavator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsurferguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san lorenzo,ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We asked for early check in and got it, would stay again. A bit pricey but that is because it is one of the only NICE places close to Yosemite. Saw some of the other hotels in town, would not risk it as they looked sub par.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starke49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin? Upon checking in I was asked for 3 forms of ID, grumbled at when I said I wanted to use a different credit card than the one I used to make the reservation with, asked for my phone number (really?! This is a BW in the middle of nowhere! ) and grumbled at some more when I gave my home number instead of my cell number.

The room was basic enough although old and outdated, towels paper thin, a/c old and difficult to regulate. We could have dealt with all of this BUT...after returning from dinner we couldn't get back into our room. The keys wouldn't work. The lady at the front desk implied that we didn't know how to properly use the keys and grumbled some more because she had to give us new ones. These didn't work either so she decided she would come up and show us how it's done. Well she couldn't get them to work either so along comes Bob (the manager? ) with some wire and gadgets to try to force the lock and basically break into the room. After about 20 min he finally got the door to open but when it was closed again the same thing happened. The only way to get the door opened was to have someone open it from within or to have Bob come back with his wire and open it McGiver style. We asked if the hotel was full because we hoped we could move to another room but were told it was sold out and that they were "walking" people to another property (lucky for those guys!) Bob continued to work unsuccessfully on the lock and didn't seem to think this was any kind of inconvenience for us because as long as one of us remained in the room we could easily open the door for the other. Of course if we both wanted to go out together (strange concept, I know) we would have to locate Bob and wait 20 minutes for him to break into the room again. At this point we asked Bob if BW might consider offering some type of compensation for this inconvenience and were told it was not intentional and sometimes "things happen. " We know this is true, but in the hospitality industry it's always been my understanding that the guests should be the first priority and any gesture of goodwill in their direction usually goes a long way. Bob then remarked that "there will always be people like us trying to get something for nothing. " What nerve.

This place is a dump run by an unprofessional staff who seem to know little about the hospitality industry and even less about common courtesy.

Eventually another employee (the evening engineer/technician? and only sensible staff member we met) came by and offered us another room. This was surprising because we were told there were none available and even witnessed someone being sent to a different BW. We moved to the new (musty ) room and checked out first thing in the morning.

I know it's difficult to find a decent place near Yosemite but this place and its staff do not deserve your business. It's an hour from the park - keep looking you'll find something else. BW Corporate will certainly be getting a complaint about this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JackA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
20.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
17.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing