We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Really Worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Check in was OK but not the friendliest. The hotel has three floors and no elevator but is built into a hill so you only need to walk up one flight of stairs to get to any room. Most of the parking is in the back and it can get prett busy. Our room was a “deluxe” king but I don’t know what was deluxe about it except for the large headboard and a sofa. The sofa was showing its age a little bit and the bathroom and vanity area were also not impressive. The bed was comfortable enough and I slept well and the AC worked fine and wasn’t to noisy. The internet was awful, very slow and non-responsive; there were some Google Street View folks staying in the hotel and it must have driven them absolutely bonkers. The bathtub had new fixtures but the hole in the tub where the faucet went was larger than the faucet and the hole looked like it had been chipped out with a screw driver - pretty nasty looking. The same was also true for the tub overflow. They had an opaque green shower curtain that didn’t let much light through so it made the shower experience dismal. They have a large breakfast area in a room on the side of the property near the pool. They need all the space as there are a lot of people enjoying breakfast (and lots of children running around). The coffee was very weak and not worth drinking but the juices were OK. They had two waffle makers, eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereals and pastries. The cereal choices were great and they had my favorite: Raisin Bran Crunch. The hotel had great recycling as they let me put all my papers in their recycling dumpster. Being close to Yosemite, the hotel is more expensive than it is worth but you have to pay for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Every one was helpful, the staff friendly and rooms very clean and fresh. The breakfast was good and everyone was so friendly. Great place for kids as they have a pool available away from the rooms. Our dog had a good place to walk and the hotel was within walking distance to the town, which made it really nice. I would come back again especially if going to Yosemite as it is so close, I highly reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed (I guess as most visitors do) for one night as part as a trip to Yosemite. Wasn't hopeful of the standard based upon other reviews but the hotel was fine, close to local restaurants and the breakfast was pretty good. No problems would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any specifically better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

An above average Best Western Hotel. The rooms are spacious and have nice decor.
Free parking, nice sized swimming pool/spa and a large free breakfast area. The breakfast provides a good selection and healthy and not so healthy choices.
The hotel is very reasonably priced......so.....a great overall value. Very friendly desk staff.
The only negatives are that the room are entered from the outside and the fitness area is a little sparse.
Another point..........the hotel is actually not a quick drive to the Yosemite Park entrance. Be prepared for a slow and curvy drive to the park sites.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are on the parking level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room wasn't spectacular, but was clean and comfortable. But the staff was GREAT! It was a very popular motel. Internet was a little slow. Stairway to second floor seemed a little narrow. But the grounds were very lovely. Staff had air conditioning running already so the room would be comfortable for our arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My daughter and I attended a family wedding event in Mariposa and stayed at this hotel. The stay exceeded our expectations in meeting all our needs. Air conditioning worked great. The morning breakfast is buffet style, cook your own with ample choices. I really enjoyed making waffle and egg patty stacks, YUM! Kitchen staff were very helpful. We went to Bass Lake in the mornings for some paddle boarding and sight seeing. We used the pool each day which was very refreshing. I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1jandv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The venue and the rooms are quite OK. What we found unacceptable was the breakfast: small venue (at peak time unable to host the guests), all plastic cutlery (maybe to save water, but we were not expecting a picnic approach), very dirty carpet and chairs padding full of spots. No butter available, just margarine. Service was quite weird.
We understand the demand is high due to the position (60 km to just reach Yosemite entry, so expect to travel about 200 km per day if you are based in Mariposa). We were definitely expecting something better for about 200 USD per day for a double room.
To conclude, very slow, free WiFi. If we come back,we will find something else...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFelixxs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
23.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
17.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel

Address: 4999 State Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338-9700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £99 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing