We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to what we expected from a Best western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Stockport
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not up to what we expected from a Best western”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We picked this place in a hurry because of the Best Western association - big mistake. This place is most definitely a motel and not a hotel. Our room was musty smelling, badly in need of a refurb and noisy. The walls are thin meaning that you can hear everything in the adjoining rooms, the AC and the bathroom vent very loud. The chairs at the table are armchairs and not suitable to sit there and do some work. Our bedside lamps were falling apart and the one on the table did not work. There were no electrical sockets in the walls except one, which had a 4 plug extension in it taped to the side of the tv cabinet! The hair dryer was like something from the 1950's and almost useless.
Not the best by a long way

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    386
    231
    61
    35
See reviews for
310
377
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

I read the reviews online and due to availability went with this hotel. Staff were nice on arrival however the room was not.

Our room had no number and was right next to the reception. On entering the door a strong smell hit you along with the age of the room and mismatched furniture. This may be this odd room though. Considering price I would have expected a better.

Breakfast in the morning was worst of our trip and as someone who hates polystyrene, the plates were really bad. I had toast and jam which was OK. Overall I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBunbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mariposa hotels

North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

This hotel looks like it would be satisfactory online, but seeing it in person was quite a different experience.
It claims to be close to the park (32 miles) but it is a LONG 32 miles. The drive is steep, constantly winding through a rock slide area where half of the road is closed and turns into one lane. The drive from the park took almost 2 hours. Once you finally get there it is in a sad desolate town and the property leaves much to be desired.
The parking lot was littered with trash and dumpsters. We tried to keep an open mind when we headed to the room after checking in, but when we opened the door we were very disappointed. The room smelled awful, like a mixture of old filth and bad air freshener. The toilet must have been used after our room was "cleaned" because it had stains in it that I would rather not describe in detail.
We called the desk within 5 minutes of walking in and told them we would like to stay elsewhere (we had seen another Best Western in Oakland not far that looked much better) the agent at the desk did not ask what was wrong with the room and rudely said that we would definitely be charged for the stay. When we asked if we could possibly transfer our reservation to a different Best Western they said NO.
I understand cancellation policies are in place for a reason. If the hotel had been busy and refused reservations because we had booked then I would understand, however, this place had about 3 cars in the lot so refusing service was clearly not an issue.
We brought the keys to the desk where we were told again that we were being charged and I was asked to sign the receipt, which I refused to sign seeing as no services were rendered to us. They argued with me more and even though the charged my card they refused to give me a copy of the receipt.

Stay at the BEST WESTERN IN OAKHURST INSTEAD. Much better rooms, service, cleanliness, and easier to get to the park.

It was also $30 CHEAPER!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank er2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Schweiz
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We received a very friendly welcomd, staff was very nice. The rooms are also looking good are quite big and clean.
The bed's were really awful, don't know how old the matress was, but I could'nt sleep the whole night on it.
The breakfast looks good an a first view, but the quality of food is very poor - don't try the coffee.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stayed here when visiting Yosemite National Park. The hotel is about an 30 miles from Yosemite but it's an easy & very scenic drive. The hotel was clean and functional, and the staff were excellent. We locked our keys in the rental car (on the Saturday of Labour Day weekend) and the staff were great in getting someone out in less than 20 minutes to unlock the car. We would have stayed an extra day because the town of Mariposa was very welcoming but the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The rooms were clean and the bedding comfortable. The bottom sheets were actually fitted which I thought was a real plus.

One of the reasons we booked this motel for our stay is that it is pet friendly and we travel with a dog and a cat. There were a lot of other people checking in with dogs as well; and, as people came in for the night, there was a reasonable amount of barking in the parking lot. However, we did not hear one yip from any critters in any other rooms!

In short the rooms were extremely quiet. We heard no voices, televisions or pet noise from our fellow travelers (Communist or not).

The complimentary breakfast was adequate. I always love to get to make my own Belgian waffle anyway: So I was happy.

The one draw-back was the room lighting. The overhead canister lights were designed with incandescent soft floods in mind. They have been replaced with those @#$!ing money-saving, environmentally-conscious, glaring fluorescent "pigtails". These get into the edges of your vision and leave little yellow spots floating about. Still, this is a minor problem that was solved by only using the bedside and wall lamps.

Oh yes, the pool and spa were well maintained and clean. Since I am responsible for the upkeep on a commercial spa and pool myself, this is something I really appreciate. Good Job, guys!

Well... hope this review helps others seeking a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLK2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

When we booked this hotel, we didn't think it was so far from Yosemite national park.
But ti was not so expensive in relation to the hotel in the park...so I advise this hotel if you don't want to spend too much money.
Breakfast included.
There is also a pool.
Confortable and clean room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaLeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
17.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on "All weather" Hwy 140 in Mariposa, CA., The Best Western - Yosemite Way Station is about 40 miles outside of the west entrance to Yosemite National Park and the valley floor. All of Yosemite is easily accessible from this location. Mariposa is a quaint "1850's gold rush" town that offers excellent dining, shopping and a historical view into the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing