We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Yosemite - and knows it!”
Review of Miners Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miners Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We came out of Yosemite and were pleased to find such a decent hotel as we reached Mariposa. It was pricey, but that seems to be true of anywhere within an hour or so's drive of the Park.

Our room was very adequate, and quiet. It was in the far block - but the hotel is in a quiet area, so we imagine there isn't a noise problem. Wifi WAS problematic - worked fine in the lobby and in the area of the car park nearby, but pretty much unusable in our room.

Breakfast was the usual motel offering - a bit of a scrum, as many families were stoking up before setting off for the park.

The hotel is situated at the edge of town. The onsite restaurant is good, but there are other places in the village.

There is very cheap beer in the gas station across the road.

Room Tip: Near the lobby if wifi matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ursosarctos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here on our way to Yosemite. It was a 45 minute ride to the Park, which was a bit more than we had expected. The room was ok, but had a really worn feeling. The wifi didn't work. They said it would work by the pool, but it didn't In the middle of the night we woke up due to a loud dripping sound. Turned out the AC was broken and water was dripping down in buckets on the carpet. So we had to turn the AC off, and when we woke, the room was warm and damp. The breakfast was sort of ok - being a European I don't really like muffins and doughnuts for breakfast. The pool and spa were great!! Loved that!

Room Tip: Maybe rooms closer to the lobby have better wifi?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ylva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I'll follow the prevailing viewpoints.

The good
Close to town and convent to Yosemite who've is a good hour away. Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean room

The not so good
Paper thin walks and I could hear multiple other rooms people talking and kids crying even toilets flushing. Plastic under sheets?! ANSI had to pull the bed away from the wall to plug in my iPhone.

I came in early for a business trip to Sacramento and wanted to hike the weekend in Yosemite the weekend after the July 4th holiday and this was the only room I could find. At 159/nite w tax is overpriced by double true value.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Mariposa is at the gateway to Yosemite, so I imagine that most people who stay here on their way either to or from the national park. We stayed here on our way to the park and found it to be clean and adequate for a night's stay.

There was a pool and hot tub. Both were clean and pretty quiet.

The motel is walking distance from the main part of town where you'll find a few restaurants, bars and shops with knick-knacks or clothes.

They offer a continental breakfast and had a lot of choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on way to Yosemite. Booked it because of reviews and it was as expected. Reasonable price, comfortable bed, hot shower, large room, friendly staff. Breakfast very basic. Pizza Factory great for pizza.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This wasn't a long planned for vacation. Had a teenager with us for a few weeks and gave her the choice of Yosemite or Hollywood and she chose Yosemite!! We had been but she hadn't so we were more than happy to not have to go to Hollywood! That said, we didn't make reservations until about a week before leaving and this is as close as we could get to the park. Motel was great. Staff were friendly. Rooms in a separate building than office but close enough. We had a nice large room with a hot tub that we used everyday! That was the best part after a long day in the park. We wanted to go mid summer so we could make the trip East to Mono Lake and Bodie and there was still enough snow on the ground to have a snowball fight! So our days were very long and our room was a very welcome respite. We stayed 3 nights and had no complaints at all. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent a night in this hotel on our way to Yosemite. We arrived in the evening¨and were promptly checked-in by a very friendly lady, which set the tone for the rest of the stay - all the staff was very helpful.

The rooms are in a separate building from the lobby, next to an outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. We had a double room with two large queen beds that was way bigger then we needed. It was clean, well equipped and with a large bathroom.

The place is quiet, so we got a very good sleep, enjoyed a fairly standard breakfast (waffles, cereals, some pastries, yogurts and fruit) and checked-in quickly on our way to Yosemite.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel and I would gladly recommend it to anyone seeking a good value accomodation near Yosemite.

As a bonus, the city itself has a nice small mining museum (which closes at 4 pm during off-season, unfortunately), a well stocked grocery store and an assortment of nice restaurants, so you won't feel like you're in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CZ_gASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.5 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,204 reviews
20.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
21.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Inn Motel

Address: 5181 Highway 49 North, PO Box 1413, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £62 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miners Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miners Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miners Hotel Mariposa
Miners Motel Mariposa
Mariposa Miners Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing