We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last room in town.”
Review of Miners Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miners Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 2 September 2014

After a four hour search from Yosemite to Mariposa to find a place to crash at 2 in the morning, with every single hotel/inn/bed & breakfast sold out, the Miners Inn was one of the last choices before giving up and pitching a tent on the side of the road. Luckily, I arrived just in time to get, what the man behind the counter explained as, the absolutely last room in the entire world.(or maybe just the town) The bed was comfy, the pillows were soft, the bathroom was very large and spacious and the fire place and jacuzzi tube weren't bad accommodations either. I very much recommend this inn and their lovely staff as I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ThomasCr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

It's called the Miners Inn Motel, but it's nothing like the images I conjure up when I think of a motel. It's a collection of buildings rather than one building - the lobby/breakfast room/gift shop is attached to some of the rooms, then there's another building with other rooms, and the restaurant/lounge across the car park, so it's set in a sort of rough square shape. It's all very close together though, and set around the car park. The rooms we stayed in were huge, with either one massive bed or two queens (we travelled in a group of 8, 2 to a room) - and three of the four had fireplaces and jacuzzi baths, and two had kitchen facilities to one side of the room, which was handy. The pool/spa is a lovely area to relax after a long drive, and we spent most of the afternoon in it. It's also very close to the centre of Mariposa, well within walking distance. The people were helpful, and there was plenty of variety at breakfast (although it was the continental sort, so maybe not up your street if you're looking for cooked items). Free wifi. Overall, a lovely place that I'd definitely recommend - and if you're planning to travel into Yosemite from here, the YART bus stops right around the corner just next to the Rite Aid pharmacy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MadameGateaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Shared a spacious 2 queen size room with our two kids. Rooms okay and clean, small balcony. Check in easy, service staff pragmatic and a little rough but nice ( as expected in the region).
The small pool is a nice retreat after a trip through the park. Centre of mariposa in walking distance.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Volker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a road trip. One of our stays was at 'miners inn'. We had an exhausting day, some really bad problems with our rental car and we were super tired when we arrived at miners inn. The man at the front desk felt sorry for us bcs of our story and gave us an update for our room. We got a room with fireplace, kitchen, jacuzzi and own patio. The beds were comfortable, the room was cleaned and really nice. The breakfast at the next morning was awesome and a later check out was no problem either. If I'll make a road trip again, I'll definitely come back to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svenja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed one night in June 2014 en route to the Yosemite Park. We were a family of four adults. Check in was a bit long apparently due to the computer system. We were given a room in the main building. This comprised a large bedroom (two beds) with a sitting area, there was direct access to the outside via the sliding door window. There was an adjacent bathroom with a large hot tub and a small kitchenette. The room was very clean but overall a bit worn. The free wifi didn't work in our room (signal was too low) although the receptionist did warn of that and recommended we use our electronic devices in the breakfast room/reception/shop. The reception area next door had a comprehensive shop. The breakfast offering was a bit below average based on our overall experience of a two week vacation in California. In conclusion, ok for a brief stopover but I would not stay for more than a couple of days. Plenty of restaurant available in Mariposa and a supermarket for the cost conscious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The room was clean, with comfortable beds and clean linen but the bath was a bit cramped and fittings dated. It served our purpose as we had little choice since accommodation in the park was full ... it is also a full hours drive to the park. Breakfast options were ok but came with thick crowds (unless you came early - like we did on day 1) and limited seating in an extremely dated dining area.

We asked for a quiet room and got a room in the not so "recently" renovated section which was ok but devoid of Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated / quest section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AbYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here because hotels in the park were fully booked. The room was ok, clean, but in need of modernisation. Wifi was not working, the receptionist sounded like it had broken just on that day but I have now seen reviews from two weeks before reporting the same problem. Breakfast was not an option - we gave up and went somewhere else, as when we arrived there was almost nothing left and the donoughts seemed awful.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoLondon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
21 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
625 reviews
20.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Inn Motel

Address: 5181 Highway 49 North, PO Box 1413, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: £44 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miners Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miners Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miners Hotel Mariposa
Miners Motel Mariposa
Mariposa Miners Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing